Customer Reviews for

Something Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 2190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1147)

4 Star

(646)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Something Blue-wonderful

I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized t...
I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized that the central first-person character of this book was Darcy -- the lying, cheating, spoiled brat "best friend" from Something Borrowed. I was immediately concerned that this book, being told from Darcy's perspective, would taint my fondness toward the Rachel and Dex characters from the first book, and I did not want that. It's always nice to look back fondly on characters you really like and/or identify with from a book you truly enjoy. I thought that Giffin might use this book to make you feel sympathy for spoiled Darcy and shed light on why she did the things she did. But to my surprise and delight, she did not. What's more, Darcy is still the annoying, shallow character that she was in the first book. You would think that would make for an annoying read, but it does not. Giffin pulls it off somehow and keeps it intriguing. And if ever there was a story of positive character evolution, this is it. Darcy does change over time, for the better, but not at the expense of the characters you may have grown to love. The ending of this book, too, is worth noting. Few really good books have really good endings in my opinion, but this one does. The final pages of the book are poignant, poetic ... perfect. And without being fairy tale saccharinized.
Something Blue is a fabulous story of friendship, romance, and self-discovery. It was easy for me to give it 5 stars.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Rip off

Why is the paperback $9.07 and the nookbook $9.99!???!!! its just a file for pete's sake.

posted by tarabean on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read with Midol

    So after reading "Something Borrowed" (and LOVING it in spite of myself), I figured, well now I have to read "Something Blue". The freakishly obnoxious b*tch from the first book is obviously going to get what's coming to her in the sequel and frankly, the devil in me is just in the mood to read about it. Unfortunately this is not how "Blue" plays out. To be fair, any book that is published with the chick lit logo is going to have an impossibly perfect, Bridget Jones becomes the princes bride ending so I should've managed my expectations accordingly. But Giffin does such a perfect job of creating the quintessential character everyone loves to hate (Darcy) in the first book, that my cup of loathing runneth over upon starting the second book and no matter how much Darcy grew up, I still wanted her to end up deformed and talking with a keyboard a la Stephen Hawking. But like I said, this is chick lit so obviously this does not happen. Rather, in "Something Blue" we get the rest of the story from Darcy's perspective, which ends up being one of the more irritating and whiney narratives I have ever read. For 200+ pages the reader is treated to a diatribe of "poor me poor me, I'm Malibu Barbie" only to be followed up with 100+ pages of incredulous poppycock that quite honestly had my eyes rolling into my head so often I've memorized the pattern of veins in my lids.
    Ugh.honestly.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable

    I was excited to read this sequel but slightly disappointed in the end result. I hated hearing the viewpoint from the main character as she was the antagonist in the previous book. I do applaud the author for writing from two different view points and doing it well. My complaint was that the character was so unlikeable and it was unrealistic that she would change as much as she did in the course of the book. I kept looking to hear more from Rachel from the first book and was left wanting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Pretty good chick lit

    This would be a great read for someone who likes chick flicks. Quick read- be great for a beach day. I felt the guilt part of the story was under developed. The book was better than the movie, although I liked the movie's ending much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    ???

    Yeah, well, we moved like two weeks ago. I don't wanna move again. Good luck convincing Horseclan to move.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Love this book

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Starkid

    Im here. Good morning everyone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Cloud and bros

    We are

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Highly reccommend

    If you read something borrowed you will love this seqeual. It ties it all up. You see what happens to Darcy after she ends her relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this only because I saw the movie Something Borrowed. Whi

    I read this only because I saw the movie Something Borrowed. Which I only watched because Ginnifer Goodwin from ABC's Once Upon a Time was in it (SnowWhite). OUAT is the only show I watch....ever besides Sprout Channel and ESPN. You can tell who controls the TV in my house. So anyway, at the end of the movie, Darcy (Kate Hudson) goes to England. Then I heard that the movie was based on a book and it had a sequel. Something Borrowed was checked out so I read this book. It is Very chick-lit and had a neat bow on top happy ending for everyone. And I mean Everyone. Darcy is not likable even when she "changes". It pretty much rehashes the first book from Darcy's point of view for the first couple of chapters before she actually leaves for England. Predictable ending, But easy to read.
    Reviewed by Cherese Vines

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Good & Sad

    Wow, the girl you love to hate she finally gets what is coming to her and then you find you feel sorry for Darcy. Nice to see her grow and learn to be a better person. Would love to have more snippets of Rachel and Dex though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nice conclusion to story

    This was a good conclusion to the "Darcy left hanging" feeling of Something Borrowed. Griffin does a nice job brining Darcy's character full circle. It takes a bit to open her eyes but once they are open, she begins to see herself how others saw her when she lived in NY. Darcy ends up being one of my favorite characters because of how she evolves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good book.

    I wouldnt rate this as one of my favorite books but it was definitely a good read. I dont rate it as well simply because the main characters personality drove me crazy in the begining of the book. The ending is what makes the book great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed this book. Darcy tells a great story, and the book also gives you details about the charactars that we got to know in "Something Borrowed". Sequels aren't usually as good at the first book, but i think i enjoyed this one more than the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Its a ok read.

    It was a ok book not the best but not the worse either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Liked it.

    I enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. The reason for 3 stars: the book seems to reach a point where the storyline and character development are rushed and too Pollyanna-ish for my liking.

    Would still recommend for an quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    ???

    I read Something Borrowed and hated all the characters, but couldn't put it down. I hated this story too, it seemed so unplausable and predictable, but again I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Easy read.

    Goo "beach" book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Cute love story

    This was a cute love story but became predictable at moments. The narrative in character of Darcy was great. It was ihteresting being driven through her thoughts and emotions. I would recommend this to others to read. Its a story line to 'chick flick'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable

    "Something Borrowed" was definitely better than "Something Blue" but both very predictable. I don't know if I'll read anymore of her books but i will say they are in a way hard to put down because you want to know what happens next. Quick summer reads for sure and if you like love stories i would recommend..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Funny book

    Not as good as Something Borrowed but still very funny. Love story didn't really work for me but I've come to expect that Giffin's characters (with the exception of her first book) tend to end up with the wrong partner at the end of the story. Still a fun read and I'll read any future books she puts out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14