Customer Reviews for

Something Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 2195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1149)

4 Star

(648)

3 Star

(262)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Something Blue-wonderful

I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized t...
I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized that the central first-person character of this book was Darcy -- the lying, cheating, spoiled brat "best friend" from Something Borrowed. I was immediately concerned that this book, being told from Darcy's perspective, would taint my fondness toward the Rachel and Dex characters from the first book, and I did not want that. It's always nice to look back fondly on characters you really like and/or identify with from a book you truly enjoy. I thought that Giffin might use this book to make you feel sympathy for spoiled Darcy and shed light on why she did the things she did. But to my surprise and delight, she did not. What's more, Darcy is still the annoying, shallow character that she was in the first book. You would think that would make for an annoying read, but it does not. Giffin pulls it off somehow and keeps it intriguing. And if ever there was a story of positive character evolution, this is it. Darcy does change over time, for the better, but not at the expense of the characters you may have grown to love. The ending of this book, too, is worth noting. Few really good books have really good endings in my opinion, but this one does. The final pages of the book are poignant, poetic ... perfect. And without being fairy tale saccharinized.
Something Blue is a fabulous story of friendship, romance, and self-discovery. It was easy for me to give it 5 stars.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Rip off

Why is the paperback $9.07 and the nookbook $9.99!???!!! its just a file for pete's sake.

posted by tarabean on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 648 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great summer read!

    Spoliers! I really enjoyed this book. At first, Darcy is really annoying but then you find yourself rooting for her. Loved the Darcy and Ethan relationship. The only things I didn't like were: 1) enough with the ginger bashing - it is getting really old 2) when Ethan and Darcy get together- it felt rushed and no love scene. We had to read about sex with Marcus, Geoffrey but not with her soulmate, Ethan. 3)the lack of a focus on Darcy and Rachael' s friendship

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Something Old, Something New.

    Darcy Rhone has a rough life. She's with a guy who doesn't adore and worship her like the ex-fiance that she cheated on. He's also not as "presentable" as her former fiance, Dex, and she's pregnant as a result of the illicit affair. Boo hoo. Furthermore, Darcy refuses to have anything to do with her best and childhood friend, Rachel, who fell in love with said ex-fiance. I must admit that I never really had any desire to read Emily Giffin's books until I saw the "Something Borrowed" movie and loved it. I enjoyed the characters in the movie so much that I wanted to see what happened next. Thankfully, I discovered that Giffin had written a sequel. The first few chapters of SOMETHING BLUE covered the end of the movie (and probably the related book), so it served as a rehash, lest the reader forget what happened. Unlike SOMETHING BORROWED which was told from sweet Rachel's point of view, SOMETHING BLUE was told from Darcy's point of view. At first, I found it difficult to read a book from the point of view of a very unsympathetic character. Darcy is not likable and hasn't matured/grown any since the events of SOMETHING BORROWED. Her personality is like nails on a chalkboard. She thinks world revolves around her. In fact, she's upset that neither Rachel or Dex call to wish her a happy birthday after she told them she never wanted anything to do with either one of them again. She also feels like she's one of the "chosen." In one passage, Darcy ponders, "I suddenly wondered what color eyes my baby would have. I hoped for blue, or at least green like mine. Everyone knows blue eyes are prettier, at least on a girl, which is why there are so many songs about brown-eyed girls, to make them feel better." While I was pleased with the novel overall by the finale (I won't give anything more away), I was disappointed that neither Rachel nor Dex -- prominently featured in SOMETHING BORROWED -- barely made appearances in SOMETHING BLUE. However, I appreciate that Giffin took a chance and wrote the novel from a different perspective than the original. Kudos to her for that and for dispelling my belief that her novels were cheesy chick lit. The characters are well-defined and not stereotypical. By the end of SOMETHING BLUE, my eyes were watering.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved!

    I loved this book! Read it immediately after I read Something Borrowed! Emily Giffin is a great author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Athena

    Geez. He really makes you happy huh. *laughs* your only like this around boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Good rainy day read

    This was a good rainy day read. Enjoy the book but it had a plotline that was typical of this type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great book!

    This book is definitely worth it. I recommend that you read "Something Borrowed" first. You will not want to put these books down. I am sad that there aren't anymore books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    This was a great story and easy reading. I enjoyed it much better than Something Borrowed, the book previous to this one with some of the same charters. Darcy was annoying and immature in the prior book and also at the beginning of this book so at first I was dreading the storyline, but it changes for the better. Darcy learns about herself and becomes a better person. Overall a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Welcome clan cats

    From ~ Oakpaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Love

    Perfect sequel to something borrowed! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Sonic

    ASS.HOLE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Mace

    "Flying ham... what?" She says sleepily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    JE

    OPPA GANGNAM STYLE!!!!! XD XDD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Camp Moved

    CSMP MOVED TO SCARLET LETTER ALL RESULTS! -REAL BATU!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This sequel to "Something Borrowed" was not at all wha

    This sequel to "Something Borrowed" was not at all what I expected. I couldn't imagine how a story about Darcy could be enjoyable. She's a self centered, self absorbed witch! But I was so wrong. I loved Rachel from "Something Blue" and even justified it when she started seeing Dex. But Darcy became a character with substance and depth. Great Book. I finished this book in a weekend, something I never seem to be able to do anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    This book will make you laugh out loud and bring you to tears.

    This book will make you laugh out loud and bring you to tears. You
    become emotionally invested in these characters lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Redfern

    *yelps and leaps back*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Good Book!

    Good book, i was happy to see that this book was to follow Something Borrowed. However i was a lil sad to see that it was to continue Darcy story. Darcy wad not my favorite character in Something Borrowed, but she did grow on me in this book. And after i could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Pretty good follow up!

    I have to say that E. Giffin did a good job of making me actually start liking a character I previously loathed. Though "Something Borrowed" is still my favorite of the two, she managed to make a very good sequel with this novel. I really enjoyed this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Good sequel

    Good sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Tell the World what you think

    Tell the World what you think

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 648 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33