Customer Reviews for

Something Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 2194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1149)

4 Star

(648)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Something Blue-wonderful

I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized t...
I picked this book up, without even looking at the flap, because I so loved Something Borrowed. I had no clue what it was about. When I began the book and realized that the same characters were in this one, I got excited. Then I promptly got un-excited when I realized that the central first-person character of this book was Darcy -- the lying, cheating, spoiled brat "best friend" from Something Borrowed. I was immediately concerned that this book, being told from Darcy's perspective, would taint my fondness toward the Rachel and Dex characters from the first book, and I did not want that. It's always nice to look back fondly on characters you really like and/or identify with from a book you truly enjoy. I thought that Giffin might use this book to make you feel sympathy for spoiled Darcy and shed light on why she did the things she did. But to my surprise and delight, she did not. What's more, Darcy is still the annoying, shallow character that she was in the first book. You would think that would make for an annoying read, but it does not. Giffin pulls it off somehow and keeps it intriguing. And if ever there was a story of positive character evolution, this is it. Darcy does change over time, for the better, but not at the expense of the characters you may have grown to love. The ending of this book, too, is worth noting. Few really good books have really good endings in my opinion, but this one does. The final pages of the book are poignant, poetic ... perfect. And without being fairy tale saccharinized.
Something Blue is a fabulous story of friendship, romance, and self-discovery. It was easy for me to give it 5 stars.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Rip off

Why is the paperback $9.07 and the nookbook $9.99!???!!! its just a file for pete's sake.

posted by tarabean on May 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 58
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Hiccup

    Res 3 baby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Liam

    /:. Well, i dont know what to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Jade

    Fine! If u are so set to say that the world hates u go right ahead! Its not true though! I woulnt force u to belive anything i say!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Pokemon diaries: Chapter 1

    "Hey, Moon!" I jumped. Then I saw it was only Sun. "You startled me! What were you thinking?" I demanded. "Sorry. Forgot you were always lost in thought. What are you thinking about now, Miss Thoughts?" Sun teased. "Shut up, Sun." I said. My name was Moon, and Sun was my friend. Sun was always the cheerful, outgoing, talkative person, while I'm shy, quiet, and moody. "I have an idea. You know how we, I mean I, have always wanted a Pokemon? Lets go see if Proffessor Maple will give us, I mean I, one." Sun suggested. "Fine, but don't expect me to battle you." I mumbled. When we got to Proff. Maple's lab, she greeted us warmly. "How's my neice and her friend doing?" "I'm fine, Aunt Maple." I replied. "Now, what can I do for you?" The proffessor asked. "I was wondering if we, I mean I, could have a Pokemon." Sun blurted out. "Of course you can. Moon, you can have one two. Now, which one? The only three we have available are from the Unova region." My aunt held out three Pokeballs. I chose an Oshawott, because it looked cold, like me, and Sun chose Tepig, because it was warm, like him. I smiled with satisfaction. The one I had chosen was good against Sun's Tepig. "Now, I'd like you both travel to Beech Town. I'll be waiting for you there. With that, my aunt left the lab. "I can't believe it. My very first Pokemon! Let's go show our moms. I mean, wait here while I go show my mom." Sun dashed to his house. He knew how my mother had drowned, and knew I didn't like to talk about it. My Aunt Maple had adopted me. "Okay. Back." Sun said. "Now, which way is Beech Town?" "That way." I replied, pointing east. That's the way Proff. Maple went. So we set off. We encoutered wild Pokemon here and there, but deafeated them. Our Pokemon grew to level six. After we left a patch of tall grass, a town appeared before us. "Beech Town!" Sun exclaimed. "Yes. One of my favorite getaways when I'm not caught up in my gym." A man said, approaching us. "I'm Baren, the first gym leader. I specalize in ground types. And who are you? Two trainers? Well, soon I will have two challengers. I shall be waiting." With that, Baren turned and headed towards the south side of the town. "Well, I see you've made it." Proff. Maple said, coming up to them. "Throughout the region, there are eight gyms. You can challenge them, and get stronger. Oh, I forgot to give you each this. Here's your Pokedex! You can record all the Pokemon you've seen in this. Now, i want you to train and go to Syinberg city, Baren's city. Challenge him, and if you beat him, wait for me back here. Good luck!" Then, Aunt Maple left. "I can't wait! Let's go!" Sun exclaimed.
    (Hope you like it! Next chapter will be out tonight or tommorrow afternoon).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Really loved it

    I enjoyed darcys transformation. I hated her sooo much in the last book! Great sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Great sequal

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Wedding at married now result 1

    C ya there!!;-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Darkstar

    Bluepaw! I am here to resuce you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    I really didn't think I would enjoy this book because Darcy drov

    I really didn't think I would enjoy this book because Darcy drove me crazy in Something Borrowed, however this book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Touching.

    The change that goes through Darcy is heart touching. She finds herself once everyone else has abandon her. As she goes through this journey she finds friendship & love were she least expects it.
    Tremendously moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Hahna

    U on sam

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Another Emily Giffin Winner!

    I have become a huge fan of this author. I believe ever reader will be able to relate to one of the characters or some of the life experiences they go through in the story. I would highly recommend that you read Something Borrowed first as it segues into Something Blue. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Loved, Loved, Loved!!!

    Fantastic story, relatable characters, & a happy ending! Couldn't ask for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Eric

    Hmmm swimming huh? Alright then. Theres a pool downstairs. Ill get changed and meet u there? 5th result? Of this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Loved this book...

    I wasn't sure if I would like reading from the view point of Darcy but was pleasantly surprised. I hope they make a movie out of this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I really loved this book a little better then something borrowed

    I really loved this book a little better then something borrowed. Such a great read hope they make a movie out if this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Nursery

    Gingertail the deputy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I was a little skeptical reading about Darcy,  but this book tur

    I was a little skeptical reading about Darcy,  but this book turned out to be fantastic, loved how the book turned out to be. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    You should also read this

    I really enjoyed Something Borrowed and wasn't sure if I would like this story because it is from Darcy's point of view, but I was pleasantly suprised!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Will to ceila

    Hey wats up i havent seen u in forever ur good at the stories wher u been and there is another hg rp go to hyy all results go down to the third page and go to tracer blues

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 58