Customer Reviews for

Something Borrowed

Average Rating 4
( 4053 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2053)

4 Star

(1153)

3 Star

(500)

2 Star

(163)

1 Star

(184)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Something Borrowed

This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best fri...
This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.

posted by 9855354 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4094 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 205
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    LOVED IT !!!!!!!!!!

    This was one of the best books I have read in awhile. I couldnt put it down. Would highly recommend this book!!!!! Cant wait to read her other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Don't bother reading

    Kind of weak character development and not much of a story. It surprises me they would even make a movie out of this when so many really good stories are out there. But, someone must like it. I probably won't buy any Nook items by this author in the future. I do like a good romance but it has to have a good story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Boooooring

    I am 200 pages into this book and so far there is absolutely nothing unique or anything interesting. It reads like a high school book of adults acting like mean girls and being back stabbers. SPOILER ALERT how many times does the author need to mention that the key character thinks her "best friend" is a diva and Dex, Dex, Dex, obnoxiously repetitive page after page. It's like there is no actual story line or plot so the author has to keep saying the same think over and over and filling it up with non essential flashbacks for no reason. I can not believe they made this into a movie. I can only imagine the snoring that must have filled the theater. I get so ticked off when I waist my money on books like this that for some reason people go nuts about. I wish my life were this boring. Yeah, I think I will write a book about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I've had this book on my shelf for at least a year now and must'

    I've had this book on my shelf for at least a year now and must've tried to read it about 5 times but could never get past the first 6 pages. I finally did and, ugh.
    Well it wasn't a boring read. I didn't appreciate all of the drama the author had in the book. Thank goodness they are all fictional characters because the one, "Darcy" deserved a real kick in the pants and some. That character made me roll my eyes so many times with all of her whining, moaning, and tantrums! Ugh! And how dumb, having a friend for that long just so you can compete with her? And the weak best friend, Rachel?? Man! You'd think she'd have permanent foot prints on her body with how much everyone walks all over her.
    I saw and didn't like how the author tried to make Rachel and Dex's affair acceptable just because Darcy was such a pain in the neck. I think the drama was TOO much that it was unrealistic and just ridiculous to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Not my cup of tea

    I cannot say that I enjoyed this book. I just didn't enjoy the characters and their views on life and how to live. Most of them were self centered spoiled people who in spite of the fact that they were pushing 30, hadn't yet grown up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Amazingggg!

    I stumbled upon this book and fell in love. Soon thereafter I watched the movie and loved the plot even more. Darcy and Rachel remind me so much of my best friend and me although we would never let this happen. Something Blue is just as good if not better, although the movie of Something Borrowed doesnt really match up with the characters and how they're described it still is so fantastic. My favorite characters have to be Rachel and Ethan and maybe even Dex. Its definitely not a childrens novel so id recommend it for ages 16 and up. It has to be my favorite book and movie along with the sequel Something Blue which is in production of the movie now (they better use the same characters- it just wouldnt be the same) and id tell anyone who loves a cute, little, romantic, best friends, mature novel about friendship and love. ~Crl <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Could barely finish this one

    After all the praise this book has received, I was so disappointed after reading it. In fact, I could barely get through it. I found myself skimming through most sections and just wanted it to end. A film version is coming out this year, I hope its better.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    LOVED THE BOOK

    I loved the characters, the storyline, the book sucked me in and I couldn't wait to finish and read the 2nd book, Something Blue. I was really annoyed with the character, Darcy, but then after reading the 2nd book, you felt a little compassion for her and why she behaved the way that she did.

    Read the books, they're good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    So much fun!

    This book won't make you smarter, but it will keep you wonderfully entertained. Great for a total escape. The type of book you can read in just a few days and really get lost in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book! Buy it while it's bargain price!

    Emily Giffin is now on my list of favorite authors. This book is fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    Good read, but not so sure about the message!

    I did enjoy reading this book and found myself rooting for Rachel. It was one of those books I couldn't put down. The only thing I didn't like was that it kind of came across as ok to pursue someone who is not available to you because you're probably better for them. I don't support that. this story (I know it's fictional...) is the exception, not the rule.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great beach read

    Great beach read. A great read a real page turned I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen to Rachel next

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    Amazing I loved it ...

    Something borrowed is soooo amazing I ejoyed every second of the book it never gets boring or just ok at any time. The characters are relable and I was really able to feel what rachael was feeling.. I couldn't put the book down. This is the first I have read of Emily Giffin but it will not be the last. I look forward to her next release.. perhaps a follow up on Rachael and Dex and of course darcy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    Hard to put down

    A wonderful book about the love, bond, animosity and competition between friends as they age. The affair with a fiance takes a backseat to the portrayal of the girls' relationship. I had a hard time putting this book down, and I really enjoyed the flashbacks to the 80s and 90s. It really made me think about the friendships I have and those I had while in school. Wonderful read from a first time novelist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Awesome Book!!!

    This book was so great! It was very well written and such a quick, easy read. The whole time reading it, I didn't want to put it down! I read it in two sittings. It was such a great story and it truly touched me. There were parts in the book that I could actually relate to and I loved that. It was one of the best books I've ever read! Make sure you read it and I hope Emily Giffin comes out with many more novels, I will read them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Best Book of the Summer

    This book is amazing! Could not put it down! Very engrossing tale of friendship and love! One of the best books I have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Nothing special

    I thought she should have hooked up with Ethan instead of a cheater

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    You'll find yourself rooting for the person you wouldnt expect...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    great book

    Emily Giffin really did a great job with Something Borrowed, i seriously couldn't put the book down. I have to admit I did watch the movie first and i loved it which made me want to read the book, but the book just went into so much more detail and depth which I wish the movie would have showed. How can you not root for Rachel in this book? Great read and I highly recommend Something Borrowed! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Perfectly Readable; Characters that make you feel like a good person

    Emily Giffin is great at writing stories that are readable and compelling enough to keep you interested. I've read this and "Where we Belong" and find her writing style easy to follow. These are great books for commuting on the train. Something Borrowed is about some people that I would never hope to be friends with, that's for sure! Even though I hated the characters as people, I kept reading = good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4094 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 205