Customer Reviews for

Something Borrowed

Average Rating 4
( 3909 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1994)

4 Star

(1121)

3 Star

(466)

2 Star

(155)

1 Star

(173)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Something Borrowed

This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best fri...
This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.

posted by 9855354 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 3949 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 198
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Cronlach

    Result 2;bios <p> result 3 tavern. <p> result 4: inn <p> 5 stables <p> 6 bakery <p> 7 lilys house.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Nothing special

    I thought she should have hooked up with Ethan instead of a cheater

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    You'll find yourself rooting for the person you wouldnt expect...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    great book

    Emily Giffin really did a great job with Something Borrowed, i seriously couldn't put the book down. I have to admit I did watch the movie first and i loved it which made me want to read the book, but the book just went into so much more detail and depth which I wish the movie would have showed. How can you not root for Rachel in this book? Great read and I highly recommend Something Borrowed! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Perfectly Readable; Characters that make you feel like a good person

    Emily Giffin is great at writing stories that are readable and compelling enough to keep you interested. I've read this and "Where we Belong" and find her writing style easy to follow. These are great books for commuting on the train. Something Borrowed is about some people that I would never hope to be friends with, that's for sure! Even though I hated the characters as people, I kept reading = good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Left me empty

    Never gave a book 1 star and I enjoy this author but this one left me cold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    In Something Borrowed, Rachel has an affair with her "best

    In Something Borrowed, Rachel has an affair with her &quot;best friend's&quot; fiance.

    Overall, the story is long winded and extremely detailed.

    The characters are true to life and often annoying at times.

    Negatives aside, the author has a clear and descriptive writing style. Plus, the book ends with hope which is nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    I Loved this book! I never put it down- it had me laughing, cryi

    I Loved this book! I never put it down- it had me laughing, crying and wanting more. You can't compare the movie and the book- there are diffrent characters and events that take place. But In the book I feel like you are more connected to the character's emotions. In the movie I felt that ya she should feel guilty but in the book-she has a lot more to feel guilty about! he sences in the book will make your mouth drop to the floor. Loved every minute of it &lt;3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Fun and light; Can't really say why I liked it, I just needed t

    Fun and light; Can't really say why I liked it, I just needed to know what happened in the end! Character morals pretty low. I am more of a romantic, and dislike modern romance, which isn't romance at all to me. So this book was barely passable in my view. Now to watch the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Entertaining read! It's hard to put down.

    Entertaining read! It's hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I highly recommend this book. It's a fun read.

    I loved all the books this author wrote and have purchased all of them, in book form and e-book form. They are good light reading, with events and characters we can all relate to. I can't wait to see how they handle the follow-up movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    *SPOILER ALERT* Disappointed.  This is the first book I've read

    *SPOILER ALERT*

    Disappointed.  This is the first book I've read by Emily Giffin.  I felt the characters' personalities never really developed.  I've read books where you get attached to the characters and almost go through the same emotions that they are feeling throughout the book-- this book-- not the case at all.  I was so annoyed with Darcy's character- she was so shallow and then Rachel was a ridiculous desperate excuse of a woman.  I never got attached to any of the characters and felt the ending was dull. 

    Never really &quot;felt&quot; the power of love between Rachel and Dex-- so at the end of the book when they were together, I wasn't particularly moved or happy.  All in all, it was an easy read, semi entertaining, but certainly no depth.  Basically condoning adults and infidelity. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Good read

    This is a good book once, if,you can get past the scandal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Awsome book. Can't wait to read something blue.

    Awsome book. Can't wait to read something blue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Loved it

    Read the book, watched the movie. The book is even better, highly recommed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Yes, you should read this

    I really did not think I would like this book when it was recommended to me, but I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Love it

    Wacth the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    great beach book!

    If you like to read a book that is fun & funny I reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Fluffly Read

    This book was written in the 90's, fuuny to go back in time....dont expect a great read, just ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 3949 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 198