Customer Reviews for

Something Borrowed

Average Rating 4
( 3891 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1987)

4 Star

(1115)

3 Star

(464)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(171)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Something Borrowed

This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best fri...
This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.

posted by 9855354 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3931 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 197
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Fab Read...from start to finish!

    I loved this book! It was my first read by this author, and I found it to be a enjoyable read. The humor was on point and the characters were so relateable. I was that girl reading on the train, smiling like a goofball, who people stared at like I was certifiably nuts. Trust me, you'll LOL or at least crack a smile to this one. I must admit I felt really guilty secretly cheering for "the other woman," but hey...each page was a guilty pleasure. I've since read Something Blue, which I liked as well. Haven't gotten to Baby Proof though. I'm still waiting to find a good lighthearted "chick lit" book that compares to this one. Suggestions?

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Like reading a chick flick... loved it!

    I loved this book -- it was an addictive indulgence and read really easily. The characters came alive for me right away and the plot kept me turning the pages quickly, anxious to find out what would happen next. Maybe it rang too true for experience I've had in my own life... or maybe that's what made it. It's a great read, very light, very entertaining. Good dialog, good insight into a woman's mind... just loved it!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    This was the first book that I read from Emily Giffin and I really enjoyed it. I bought the book on the suggestion from the bookstore. I thought the characters were good and I like that Emily got straight to the point in the beginning of the book instead on using the first 5 chapters to build up to it. I was sucked into the book and actually finished it in 2 1/2 days. This is a great read on a rainy day or a cold winter night.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    I love this book and the characters in it.

    I love this book and the characters in it. Also loved the sequel "Something blue". It tells Darcy's story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Something Borrowed

    This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You haven't lived until you've read this book

    This was such a great read. Purchased on a whim as a bargain book, I finished it in just a few days, as it was terribly hard to put down. I have been raving about it for awhile now, and have since convinced all the girls I work with to now read it! The day after I finished this book, I went to Barnes & Noble and bought its sequel, Something Blue. I was SO happy that there was a sequel, as I wasn't ready to be done with the characters yet!! Please read this book, you will NOT be disappointed!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Dull plot & waste of time

    Characters were shallow and under developed. In the end I walked away with the sense that I wasted my time hoping the characters would redeem themselves!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Anti-Woman, Anti-Friendship

    This is hands down the worst book i have ever read: It is everything that is wrong about chick-literature today. Jealousy and competition as governing factors among "best friends" is a horrible premise for a book about a bride and her maid of honor. This is a book i recommend to no one, and i'm astounded the author ever found a publisher. Kudos to the good editors out there who turned this one down. I regret having been exposed to this toxic read.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    This is one of my all time favorites! Its not a cheesy romance but a love story with a bit of suspense! I cannot wait until the movie is out!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Not my cup of tea

    I cannot say that I enjoyed this book. I just didn't enjoy the characters and their views on life and how to live. Most of them were self centered spoiled people who in spite of the fact that they were pushing 30, hadn't yet grown up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Just a hype

    Predictable, filled with pointless descriptions, under developed characters and under developed relationships, just a crappy byproduct of the sex in the city hype. I don't recommend this unless you miss the formulated, immature books you read when you were 12. (No offense to anyone that liked it. It just wasn't for me.)

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    terrible!

    waaaaay to predictable.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Could barely finish this one

    After all the praise this book has received, I was so disappointed after reading it. In fact, I could barely get through it. I found myself skimming through most sections and just wanted it to end. A film version is coming out this year, I hope its better.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not typiccaly what i read

    This isn't typically the type of book that I read, but this was given to me as a recommendation from a good friend. As soon as I finished the first one, i went out and got the rest of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Someone is borrowed for a night, but their heart might be stolen forever

    I have read "Something Blue" which is part two of this story, first about two years ago...and even though I loved it, I was pretty sure I had a pretty good grip on "Something Borrowed" and it's story line, but I'm super happy that I decided to go back and read the first novel, it gave me new insight into the whole story, and made it even more intense and entertaining in my eyes. Most readers I'm sure take Rachel's side, after all she's the humble, sweet friend who realizes that her best friend's love isn't as real as her own, and trouble is that they are both after the same guy. Darcy has always been Rachel's best friend, even though she was considered prettier, had a batter tan, hair or what not, all those superficial things that in the end make you sick and miserable because they take space away from real substance which is followed by heartache no matter how beautiful the girl. Few months before the wedding, Rachel and Dex ( the groom to be) end up hanging out at Rachel's birthday party, taking things further than either has expected that end with then sleeping together. First shock follows then new possibilities of what if...what if they were together, what if what they feel is real, more real than Darcy and her perfect life which suddenly doesn't seem satisfying enough to Dex. His feeling for Rachel have been humming under the surface for years, their friendship at law school was strong but Rachel never felt pretty or special enough to even consider a guy of Dexter's caliber to be a match for her. Pretty soon a decision has to be made, Rachel or Darcy, as time ticks away and tension builds Dex is unable to handle the situation until things get really messy, but at least fun for the reader.

    I was siding with Rachel, because I felt like their emotions were pure, they didn't do something bad to hurt Darcy, and she really didn't seem to be as in love with Dex as a bride to be would. Which is something totally opposite to what I felt when I read "Something Blue" where I couldn't stand Rachael and I felt sorry for Darcy the whole time. In this book I felt bad for Darcy, her shallowness and all the things she did in the past to make herself feel better in comparison to Rachel ended up hurting her in the end, but people have to go though ordeals in order to come out on top, and hopefully as a triumphant and better person. I thought that Dex perhaps was the bad guy at times, I mean come on, make up your mind, you cant have both girls and waiting till the last minute is not something a responsible grown up would do, a fool in love perhaps but still, that part annoyed the heck out of me! I highly enjoyed the book, and can't wait to re-read "Something Blue" again, in fact reading this book make me want to read all of Giffin's works, she's not only smart but also really perceptive and gives a lot of her own thoughts and soul into these little gems. The books have a lot of truth to them about people and relationships and they are really well told, the story flows off the pages and never loses momentum.

    - Kasia S.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Read

    This was such a good book that I had to finish it the day I started reading it. I think it hits a sensitive topic but it was just so real and really touched on people's true feelings that I just can't say anything bad about this book. I can absolutely relate to Rachel's personality and it's refreshing to read something that is so tangible. I loved the dynamics and all the twists and turns Emily Giffin provided. I would definitely recommend this book to others. Next on my list is Something Blue!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who is a true friend Darcy or Rachel?

    This book was so fun to read. There was suspense and romance through out the book. The lies and back stabling of Darcy and Rachel is unbelievable. It makes you wonder who really deserved it the most. The books takes you from their childhood to present time experience with one another. I really liked this book and especially the ending. It does end with a twist so make sure you have 'Something Blue' ready to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE OF THE ABSOLUTE BEST BOOKS THAT I HAVE EVER READ.

    this book is simply amazing. emily giffin connects with the readers and you start to feel like you are in the book as one of the characters. it is intense funny thrilling and loving story. it is a very easy read. i finished it in about 3 days. this was the best book that i have ever read. it was so good that i drove to barnes and noble the same night that i finished it and went to get something blue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The best book ever!

    This book is an absolute read. If you read this, you must read Something Blue which is the follow up book to this one. These two books are the best books I have ever read. You are definitely missing out if you don't read them. I could not put them down and can't tell you enough how great they are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3931 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 197