Customer Reviews for

Something Borrowed

Average Rating 4
( 3907 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1993)

4 Star

(1121)

3 Star

(466)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(173)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Something Borrowed

This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best fri...
This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.

posted by 9855354 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Dull plot & waste of time

    Characters were shallow and under developed. In the end I walked away with the sense that I wasted my time hoping the characters would redeem themselves!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Anti-Woman, Anti-Friendship

    This is hands down the worst book i have ever read: It is everything that is wrong about chick-literature today. Jealousy and competition as governing factors among "best friends" is a horrible premise for a book about a bride and her maid of honor. This is a book i recommend to no one, and i'm astounded the author ever found a publisher. Kudos to the good editors out there who turned this one down. I regret having been exposed to this toxic read.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Not my cup of tea

    I cannot say that I enjoyed this book. I just didn't enjoy the characters and their views on life and how to live. Most of them were self centered spoiled people who in spite of the fact that they were pushing 30, hadn't yet grown up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Just a hype

    Predictable, filled with pointless descriptions, under developed characters and under developed relationships, just a crappy byproduct of the sex in the city hype. I don't recommend this unless you miss the formulated, immature books you read when you were 12. (No offense to anyone that liked it. It just wasn't for me.)

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    terrible!

    waaaaay to predictable.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Could barely finish this one

    After all the praise this book has received, I was so disappointed after reading it. In fact, I could barely get through it. I found myself skimming through most sections and just wanted it to end. A film version is coming out this year, I hope its better.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I've had this book on my shelf for at least a year now and must'

    I've had this book on my shelf for at least a year now and must've tried to read it about 5 times but could never get past the first 6 pages. I finally did and, ugh.
    Well it wasn't a boring read. I didn't appreciate all of the drama the author had in the book. Thank goodness they are all fictional characters because the one, "Darcy" deserved a real kick in the pants and some. That character made me roll my eyes so many times with all of her whining, moaning, and tantrums! Ugh! And how dumb, having a friend for that long just so you can compete with her? And the weak best friend, Rachel?? Man! You'd think she'd have permanent foot prints on her body with how much everyone walks all over her.
    I saw and didn't like how the author tried to make Rachel and Dex's affair acceptable just because Darcy was such a pain in the neck. I think the drama was TOO much that it was unrealistic and just ridiculous to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    HORRIBLE!!! One of the worst stories ever.

    I bought this book based on its good reviews and now I wish I hadn't wasted my moms money. The story plot was something you would find on day time TV. Main character isn't happy with her life gets drunk and sleeps with her best friends fiancee. Throughout the book the friends fight and grow more distant and in the end they aren't friends anymore, and the other two are dating. I really don't see how anyone could enjoy reading such trash. There are enough real people in the world that stab their best friend in the back, its not something I want to read about. If you want a good love story read Twilight, if you want one of the best books ever read Down River by John Hart! I am however looking forward to the movie because it actually looks a lot better...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Where,s the meat.?

    The question, does he or dosen,t he
    The answer is read the next series
    A waste of time. Very weak ending
    Peg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    ANNOYING!

    I only got through a few chapters as well as another book by this author. Her writing style is beyond annoying. She cannot go a page without using parentheses! The main character of the story is awful with jealousy towards her best friend which is not pleasant to read. Will never choose another book from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Left me empty

    Never gave a book 1 star and I enjoy this author but this one left me cold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Njanjnj

    Fu njn cunvnah u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    SOOOO boring!!

    i actually liked the movie better than the book ?!?!?! THAT is never a good thing.. i found this book to be so boring
    & i almost couldn't finish.. i am not even going to attempt to read the next book in series, i didn't mind the story line its the non useful information about the main character i could not stand.. i don't reccomend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Huh..

    Shud i get it or not m confused

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Just an average read; nothing I'd recommend.

    Easy read on the brink of boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    None of these characters were likeable

    In my opinion all of these characters were pretty self-absorbed and despicable. I didn't pity anyone but myself for forcing my way through to the end of this book. We're supposed to feel sorry for the "shy girl" who never stood up for what she wanted, but whose fault was that? Her lack of confidence and the fact that she chose to focus on education & career don't make it OK for her to attempt to steal her best friend's fiance. What does that say for friendship? What does that say for the fiance? He'd marry the "wrong" woman as long as the one he wants more doesn't make him an offer. The author wants us to see that the friend is overbearing...um, too bad? If the man in the story didn't like her personality, maybe he shouldn't have proposed.

    If I watched the Lifetime network (is that still a thing?) I would expect to see this and many stories like it featured there. If you value character and personality at all, skip this book. Go steal your best friend's book, she'll appreciate that more than if you try to steal her man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Did not enjoy

    I was engrossed in the book but now that I have completed reading it I have I really did not enjoy it. I felt the author went into so such detail about things that had no bearing on the story while she could have spent more time developing more about Darcy and Rachel's friendship after the news about the affair was out. Instead it just ended. It was very anti- climatic to say the least. Very disappointed I wasted my time reading this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Disappointing

    Wished that the main characters could have had a bit more backbone. I really wished they'd surprise me at the end - but they just didn't. Too bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    NOT GOOD

    So bad dont read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Download sample before purchase

    Terrible! The first chapter was great then it all went down hill. I wish i would have downloaded the sample first. I dont think it was very expensive but it was quite a waste of money. Rachel is whiney and thinks too much. I was bored the page after page of her thoughts and memories from school and her past in general. The movie looked good but now that i read the book I see that its not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9