Customer Reviews for

Something Borrowed

Average Rating 4
( 3891 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1986)

4 Star

(1116)

3 Star

(464)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(171)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Something Borrowed

This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best fri...
This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.

posted by 9855354 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Nothing special

    I thought she should have hooked up with Ethan instead of a cheater

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    *SPOILER ALERT* Disappointed.  This is the first book I've read

    *SPOILER ALERT*

    Disappointed.  This is the first book I've read by Emily Giffin.  I felt the characters' personalities never really developed.  I've read books where you get attached to the characters and almost go through the same emotions that they are feeling throughout the book-- this book-- not the case at all.  I was so annoyed with Darcy's character- she was so shallow and then Rachel was a ridiculous desperate excuse of a woman.  I never got attached to any of the characters and felt the ending was dull. 

    Never really "felt" the power of love between Rachel and Dex-- so at the end of the book when they were together, I wasn't particularly moved or happy.  All in all, it was an easy read, semi entertaining, but certainly no depth.  Basically condoning adults and infidelity. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    It was just ok. I really liked the move and hoped the book would

    It was just ok. I really liked the move and hoped the book would fill in some of the blanks that movies-from-books often have. But, the move barely resembles the book which was a huge disappointment. When the narrative got long and a bit uninteresting, I found myself skipping over sections and not missing a thing. I don't read a lot of "chick lit" so this most likely influences my attitude, but the "chick lit" I have read previously I enjoyed immensely (see my recommendations). I really wanted to like this book, but just couldn't. Not every book is for every person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In the last few weeks I had a weird habit of reading nothing but

    In the last few weeks I had a weird habit of reading nothing but classics and short novels and plays and it really started to get beyond boring (a person can handle just that much of Kafka and Hemingway). So I glanced at my giant pile of books borrowed from our local library, and my eyes stopped at this one. An easy breezy chick-lit book was exactly what I needed after all that thought-provoking books. I expected Something Borrowed to be a typical modern romance - the girl meets the guy, the girl falls for the guy, they have some fights, some steamy kisses, they break up and then magically wind back together. Yet, I didn't get that. I got much more. I got much much better.

    Chick-lit always makes me feel a little bit tingly and usually I laugh like crazy and cry a river, use a whole box of tissues and then continue fantasizing about the male lead. So now I shall continue the story from before (how I started reading this book, etc.). Ok, I pick up the book and start reading - for some reason I hated Darcy from the first page on. Darcy is this tall, skinny, model-like best friend, who is also quite selfish, competitive, somewhat annoying and you want to punch her right in her perfect nose on several occasions. She is Rachel's best friend. Who is Rachel? She is basically me in 12 years, only that I won't be a lawyer and I will stay as far away as I can from people like Darcy. Rachel works her ass off in her lame job and is constantly annoyed by her boss. She's made of honor at Darcy's wedding - who would have though that the sexy perfect girl is getting married right? So far, I still had in mind that this book will be as ordinary as it gets. But then... oh then. Dexter happened.

    Meet Dexter. Darcy's fiancée. Rachel's friend. Handsome, very handsome. And the main reason for the book to get a nice twist - a twist I never read about before in this sort of books. Rachel and Dexter sleep together under the influence (more or less) of alcohol. The strange thing is that I'm not a person who would support cheating, but in this case, reader somewhat steps right on their side. Maybe due to the fact that Darcy really is a back-stabbing b****... you just want to see Rachel and Dex together. At that moment - when I realized that Rachel will actually step up to Darcy and fight for Dex - I loved the book. I would easily give it more than 3 stars if perhaps there was more R&D steamy scenes and if Rachel would just punch that so-called-friend in the face. But as it often occurs, in the end everything ends up happily. For ever and for after.

    The writing was nice, very fluent. We see the story through Rachel's eyes and we constantly get glimpses into the past - how her and Darcy met and why they started hanging out, how their friendship has been growing through years and at the same time we realize how different this two girls are and yet they became friends. Darcy is not all negative, she's just slightly shallow and it's not her fault if she won the genetic lottery. However, I would describe this book as a book about friendship and its obstacles in the first place and secondly, as a book that shows us that love may come in different forms. And sometimes you don't know how to fight it, so you simply give in the temptation and have to decide between a friend and a lover. You might even loose both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Somthing borrowed

    Pretty good book but goes on forever and gets kinda boring but good overall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    These women need professional help

    Granted this is not my usual genre but this is a total chick book. And chicks behaving badly at that. The only reason I kept reading it was to find out if the main characters had any morals or redeeming qualities. They did not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Awful

    Seriously not worth your time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Just Okay

    I saw the movie first and it was a lot different from that. I didn't really care for the movie, but I had heard so much about the book that I decided it was worth buying. I couldn't really relate to any of the the characters, however the book was well written. I think she is a good author, I just didn't really like the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Maybe movie is better

    Found Rachel to be a whiner and blamer. Would have been more charming if she was as naive as she wanted to be. Don't get me wrong, Darcy isn't the kind of friend you need but Rachel knew what she was doing too (which is obvious in her poor me characteristic and looking for approval of her actions from Ethan and Hillary)and don't even get me started about Dex. All the characters were back stabbers with the exception of Annalise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Not great

    Just way to many pages spent on what Rachel was thinking instead of what was really going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, what a disappointment.

    I got this book on my Nook after seeing a few previews for the upcoming movie. It looked funny and in my experience the book is almost always better than the movie. So I figured I'd get the book and see the movie when it comes out. I know my opinion is in the minority but man...

    While the book itself was well written I simply didn't enjoy the story. What is it really in the end? A woman engages in an affair with her best friend's fiancée and spends the entire book justifying the behavior or in a jealous, self pitying funk. That's some good times there!

    Rachel (the POV character) spends the entire book b**ching about her best friend Darcy and whining about the things she didn't get because of her Darcy's behavior. She caps off this stellar example of her personality by having sex with said best friend's fiancée. In another example of maturity and great moral character she explains that she knew Dex (the fiancée) first and never thought herself worthy of his attention.

    I don't know. Maybe Rachel is supposed to exemplify 'every girl' - working a job she doesn't like, being abused and taken advantage of by her horrible boss, lonely, single and newly 30. Frankly I didn't relate. And I didn't care for her or any of the other characters in the book.

    I finished it because I paid for it. If I had borrowed it or gotten it from the library this would have been a big fat did not finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining but morally disturbing

    This book was entertaining, but I agree with the other bad reviews in that the characters' justification of their morally disturbing actions makes it all the more upsetting to read. The point of this book seems to be to root for Rachel and Dex's relationship, which you find yourself doing in spite of the fact that you know it's wrong. I'd rather root for characters because they are truly right. This is a bent story. It makes what is right wrong and what is wrong right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Disappointed

    The story is well written but the main characters are not likeable. Rachel is unhappy and suddenly blames her lifelong best friend, Darcy, for all of the disappointments in her life. It was hard to imagine they were ever close friends. The best part of this book was Darcy's reaction to the whole deception because it was close to real life. Many other reviews go on about Rachel's deceit because it is the primary story line, but Darcy was deceitful too. In truth, neither one behaved as a true friend to the other. This story is based on manipulation, lies and adulterous behavior - all the makings of a popular book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    movies better

    i dont say this often but the movie was a whole lot better. The book was hard to picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Very predictable story line

    Did not like the book keeps repeating what one character did before and after (darcy wanting to out do rachel evertime) it got boring ....you can guess that it was coming . Everytime something happened you knew that a' I remember when we were in school or when we were kids ' etc boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    It's alright.

    At some point I believe my higher education has impeded my ability to like cliches or stereotypes. It was hard to read about such a weak protagonist. This is more like a guilty pleasure book, and not anything you'll really get any intellectual points for reading. I found it predictable, and unapologetic for things that are quite frankly wrong. I don't regret reading it, but I could very well not have read it and my life would be exactly the same. If you like stereotypical women's writing go for it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Desperate much?

    Was I the only one annoyed at how desperate she sounded throughout the book? She really didnt do anything to become more independent and just came off as a bit pathetic. The ending was a bit unexpected. Overall an okkkkkkk book, just sets women back a couple of yrs and brain cells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    not as good as i thought it would be

    I got the book because the movie previews looked good. Books are usually better than a movie this book makes me not want to spend the money to see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I wonder if I was reading the same book as most of the other reviewers. I wanted a Chick Lit book and I knew this movie was coming out so I downloaded it. I seriously don't see how this warrants a movie. First of all, the main character is made out to be a heroine in the book yet she is having an affair with her best friend's fiance. Then she obsesses over the guy throughout the book. It is so pathetic. Besides the fact that this guy is a slime for cheating on his fiance and juggling 2 women. I think this book is geared towards the audience who likes shows like "The Bachelor" or reads the Twilight series. I like a strong female leading role who would not compromise her values for a dishonest man. Since the book is usually better than the movie, I think I will be be passing on this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    mediocre at best

    good idea but it just drags on and theres lots of whinning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8