Customer Reviews for

Something Borrowed

Average Rating 4
( 3891 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1987)

4 Star

(1115)

3 Star

(464)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(171)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Something Borrowed

This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best fri...
This is a talented author and the story is well written. However, I really disliked the 'heroine'. Just because she considers herself a plain jane and felt like everything came too easily in life for her vapid best friend DID NOT make it okay to go behind that best friend's back and start an affair with her fiancee. Yes, Darcy was flawed but she was who she was. Rachel was a snake in the grass and I wanted nothing but bad things for her. The sequel (Something Blue) is fantastic. You get to get outside of that outrageously narcissistic Rachel's head and instead watch Darcy grow from an immature child to a woman.

posted by 9855354 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1987 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 100
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    Hard to put down

    A wonderful book about the love, bond, animosity and competition between friends as they age. The affair with a fiance takes a backseat to the portrayal of the girls' relationship. I had a hard time putting this book down, and I really enjoyed the flashbacks to the 80s and 90s. It really made me think about the friendships I have and those I had while in school. Wonderful read from a first time novelist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Awesome Book!!!

    This book was so great! It was very well written and such a quick, easy read. The whole time reading it, I didn't want to put it down! I read it in two sittings. It was such a great story and it truly touched me. There were parts in the book that I could actually relate to and I loved that. It was one of the best books I've ever read! Make sure you read it and I hope Emily Giffin comes out with many more novels, I will read them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Best Book of the Summer

    This book is amazing! Could not put it down! Very engrossing tale of friendship and love! One of the best books I have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Here?

    Maria? Is this where u said?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    You'll find yourself rooting for the person you wouldnt expect...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    great book

    Emily Giffin really did a great job with Something Borrowed, i seriously couldn't put the book down. I have to admit I did watch the movie first and i loved it which made me want to read the book, but the book just went into so much more detail and depth which I wish the movie would have showed. How can you not root for Rachel in this book? Great read and I highly recommend Something Borrowed! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    I Loved this book! I never put it down- it had me laughing, cryi

    I Loved this book! I never put it down- it had me laughing, crying and wanting more. You can't compare the movie and the book- there are diffrent characters and events that take place. But In the book I feel like you are more connected to the character's emotions. In the movie I felt that ya she should feel guilty but in the book-she has a lot more to feel guilty about! he sences in the book will make your mouth drop to the floor. Loved every minute of it <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I highly recommend this book. It's a fun read.

    I loved all the books this author wrote and have purchased all of them, in book form and e-book form. They are good light reading, with events and characters we can all relate to. I can't wait to see how they handle the follow-up movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Good read

    This is a good book once, if,you can get past the scandal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Awsome book. Can't wait to read something blue.

    Awsome book. Can't wait to read something blue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Loved it

    Read the book, watched the movie. The book is even better, highly recommed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Yes, you should read this

    I really did not think I would like this book when it was recommended to me, but I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Love it

    Wacth the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    great beach book!

    If you like to read a book that is fun & funny I reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    If you haven't read this....

    READ IT!!!! And be sure to read Something Blue after. Amazing. I got emotionally attached to these books. Emily Giffin is an amzing writer. And if you want to watch the movie instead....please don't bother.... The movie was terrible compared to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Snoeleaf

    AAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH THRUSHKIT CAME BAVK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Redfern

    I saw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Better than movie

    Unfortunately i saw the movie first then found out about the book from a friend. Happy that im reading this book its so much better than the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    LOVED IT!!

    I lovedthis book so much. Could not put it down. Im so excited to see that there are two othetbooks with the same characters. I really fell for Rachel an Daxs relationship...and iam looking forward to seeing where the story took them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1987 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 100