Customer Reviews for

Something Borrowed (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Not for Ipad

    I bought this book only to find out is not not downloadable to iPad. Do not understand.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Don't bother reading

    Kind of weak character development and not much of a story. It surprises me they would even make a movie out of this when so many really good stories are out there. But, someone must like it. I probably won't buy any Nook items by this author in the future. I do like a good romance but it has to have a good story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Boooooring

    I am 200 pages into this book and so far there is absolutely nothing unique or anything interesting. It reads like a high school book of adults acting like mean girls and being back stabbers. SPOILER ALERT how many times does the author need to mention that the key character thinks her "best friend" is a diva and Dex, Dex, Dex, obnoxiously repetitive page after page. It's like there is no actual story line or plot so the author has to keep saying the same think over and over and filling it up with non essential flashbacks for no reason. I can not believe they made this into a movie. I can only imagine the snoring that must have filled the theater. I get so ticked off when I waist my money on books like this that for some reason people go nuts about. I wish my life were this boring. Yeah, I think I will write a book about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    Is not formatted to read on all devices.

    I was disappointed that I could not read this book on any device other than my nook. I have the Nook app for my pc and my mobile phone. If "enhanced" means one device only then that should be stated in the description before a customer purchases it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!

    WATCH THE MOVIE!!!!! MADE ME CRY!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Loved this book......I never even wanted to read until I picked

    Loved this book......I never even wanted to read until I picked this book up and now I LOVE it.
    Couldn't put it down! Movie is definitely NOT as good as the book itself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    great

    nothing like movie and a good thing because this book was so much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Liked the writing but not the story This is a story about a woma

    Liked the writing but not the story
    This is a story about a woman, Rachael who has long standing resentment and jealousy for her best friend Darcy. She is also lonely and scared about turning thirty without a husband and family so she cheats on her best friend. Did not like Rachael throughout the story since she used her own relationship failures and childhood jealousy to get back at her best friend. While Darcy's character is flawed and she cheated on Dexter with his best friend also, I feel that Rachael was very much disloyal to her and downright mean at
    times.
    I feel that Dexter is spineless since he not only replaced Darcy's lost engagement ring seven days before the wedding but watched all the planning and preparation instead of being forthcoming with Darcy. Why did stay with Darcy for seven years? Since he cheated first on Darcy and allowed things to progress as far as they did, I feel he went to Rachael on the rebound because Darcy became much distant toward him after she began her relationship with Marcus.
    All in all, Rachel and Dexter do not have true love and truly deserve each other. I also read Something Blue and love the fact that Darcy has some redeeming qualities and found true happiness in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    One of my all time favorites

    I picked up the book after hearing that the author had gone to Wake Forest (my school) and decided to give it a read. And it was AMAZING! I couldnt put it down and I was completely obsessed. I love the story and highly recommend it to everyone who loves a good chick flick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Love it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended - a different kind of love tale.

    Something Borrowed is a smooth read. I was almost tempted to skip a few chapters due to the extensive complaints and jealousy from one character to the other. It has a different twist to its romance tale. It is not an amazing tale, but good enough to pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Entertaining

    I liked the characters and it was written well enough but it was a book I could put down and pick up days later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Emily G

    Love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Jen

    This book was a great read cant wait to watch the movie .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    A good story about friendships, relationships, life and change. While the story focuses on 2 women and their friendship from childhood to adulthood, Giffen weaves in all the behind the scene stuff that goes on with one of the women - Rachel. She clearly shows how we all secretly at times envy a good friend and how things work out for them while missing our own strenghts and only see our weaknesses. Movie was pretty close to the book to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Adorable

    The movie was great and the soundtrack terrific but the book gives it so much More !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    An Amazing Book!!!

    I bought this book on impulse and I breezed through it in no time it was an amazing story the character of Rachel is so likable and you find yourself drawn to her story. It will make you laugh and maybe even cry a little but it's an amazing read and one I keep coming back to and reccomending to my friends. If you have ever loved someone despite the circumstance this book is for you!!! You won't be disappionted and the movie is great but the book has more to it and I know you will love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Saw the movie first, and was told I had to read the book..

    I absolutely loved the movie, and loved the characters, so much so that I rewatched it, then went out and bought the dvd. I never even knew there was a book until a friend told me, who said the book was better. Maybe I have a different perspective about the movie because I saw it first, but I loved them both. I had already fallen in love with the characters, and the book let me hang on to them a bit longer. (I always hate the ending of a story with characters that I love!) Plus, it helped to have the visual of Colin Egglesfield as Dex as i read each page! Now that was an added bonus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    I wish there are more

    Avsolutely love this book and all the other ones she wrote

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Yes! Cant wait to read the next!

    I loved this book! So grasping and realistic! Definately a entertaining read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9