Customer Reviews for

Something Happened

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    It does have meaning!

    Joseph Heller is and incredible writer and describes the main character's(bob slocum)emotions with outstanding detail. Many have said that this novel was nothing more than a woe is me story of a man in depression, but i think it may have a strong underlying theme. Such as, if you want to change something, you have to change it, you just can't sit around and wait. I loved this novel by one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    Something happened to me.

    This novel reads like a kick to the groin. Every facet of life-simple pleasures, fidelity, success are called into question. Every corner of his imagination has a light shined on it and something, some unnamed thing scampers into and out of the light before we get a hold of it. Until the final page of the book you don't really know what happened. But you won't forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Sluggish

    I've loved Heller's other books but this one just wallowed. I had to put it down. Maybe I'll come back to it some day. There's humor but I feel as if it were trying too hard to be comical. I highly recommend Catch-22, though. One of my all time favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Exactly

    The American propaganda machine that tells you if you don't like something, change it, is a cruel tool that allows people to perpetuate atrocity after atrocity and if you don't like it is up to you to change it AND that is not healthy. You can't change circumstances and never will. All you drones that continue to reinforce people controlling you by telling you you have control are just tools. Sad, but this book finally and brilliantly illuminates that fact and puts the lie to rest. There is no self initiating force in the brain and nobody ever changes the system. We must take what we are given and adapt. This wonderful book gives us reality with detailed literary character studies and all you conditioned drones that can't handle the truth are the bad guys. This book is a wonderful examination of life, experiences in this culture and how our interactions with our environments shape our brain and behavior. Some people are sad and there are reasons. That is awesome. Everybody that is offended that the main character is depressed and has the nerve to give reasons for their lack of satisfaction, which you clones call excuses, are a cancer. In order to avoid manipulation we must understand manipulation and this book finally gives reasons and finally allows understanding and is a brilliant exhortation that Something Happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    I did not like this book becuase...

    I recently read ¿Something Happened¿ by Joseph Miller. Overall, the book was well written, with great literary techniques, including some which I hadn¿t seen used as well before. However, the book was slow moving. I did not like the book because the plot was tedious and the main character was difficult to sympathize with.<BR/>The main character, Bob Slocum, is very dislikeable. He cheats on his wife often with multiple women. He frequently gets in arguments with his teenage daughter, who he tries to demean. He has a mentally handicapped son, ¿Derek¿, whom he wishes would either go away or die. He feels like he is destroying his younger son, although that son is the only family member he loves. I thought it was strange that the author never gave names to any of his family member expect for his handicapped son. At work, where he despises most of his coworkers, he spends his time flirting with a younger woman from the Art Department.<BR/>The book starts out with the narrator telling awkward and at times slightly disturbing stories of his childhood and young adulthood. Some of these were interesting to read, and some were repetitive and did not seem necessary. For example, he tells the story of the first and maybe only woman he loved several times. This woman was older than him and committed suicide after he went to look for her after a few years of not seeing her. Some of the first chapters are named after the problems in his life. The content of the book gets darker and more abstract, until something finally happens.<BR/>The only likeable character, his son, dies at the end of the book. The son sadly dies because Bob holds him to tight after he got in a car accident. I thought this was ironic for a character, who had been so unaffectionate and cold throughout the book. The last, short, chapter of the book wraps up various concerns the narrator has had throughout the book.<BR/>To conclude, I did not like the book because it was slow moving. I would, however, consider reading other books by the same author because I liked the way it was written. I also have heard that ¿Catch-22¿ is very good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    Satire is used to reveal the lack of interest in the daily grind

    ¿Something Happened¿, by Joseph Heller, describes the life of an ordinary man working in corporate America. The main character, Bob Slocum, relates to many of the people in the business world, because he¿s not perfect. Mr. Slocum¿s problems with his family and his workplace are problems that many Americans deal with every day. He desires sex, he is in some ways a bigot, and he does not make all of his own decisions. Slocum goes through everyday life fearing someone or something. The reason is that something happened. Not too far into the novel, the reader learns that Bob Slocum is on the extreme end of not being perfect, and that¿s what makes the story so great. Many Americans are guilty of living a life of boredom that bears very little responsibility; in this case an average guy is depicted as living in fear, and only doing something when he absolutely has to. Heller uses satire in order to create not only comedy, but also to show how business in America really is. For example, ¿It¿s a real problem to decide whether it¿s more boring to do something boring than to pass along everything boring that comes in to somebody else and then have nothing to do at all.¿ Heller is writing about the paper pushing that is a part of any large corporation and is reflected in how there is really not much important work that has to be done. He also mentions how everyone is afraid of at least a certain amount of people, who are also afraid of a certain amount of people. The only motivation for the employees to do anything is just to prevent getting hassled or for fear of losing their jobs. Essentially he is alluding to the fact that people are getting paid to waste time for most of their workdays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1