BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Something Like Fate

Average Rating 4
( 658 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(385)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

This is a must read

So my grand daughter had to have this book so i bought it for her and she read it within 3 days. she absolute loved it and sometimes in life this can happen especially with best friends. It is an amazing book and its really cute and very interesting and it never gets br...
So my grand daughter had to have this book so i bought it for her and she read it within 3 days. she absolute loved it and sometimes in life this can happen especially with best friends. It is an amazing book and its really cute and very interesting and it never gets broing. You just want to keep reading it until you know what happens. this book has drama, happyness, and some sadness. this is a must read for teenagers.

posted by 3741949 on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Fate versus friendship

SOMETHING LIKE FATE, by Susan Colasanti, was a beautiful and passionate story of fate and betrayal. Lani owes Erin everything, but she believes there are stronger forces in the universe that connects her to Jason.

I am a believer in fate, karma, and the pull of the U...
SOMETHING LIKE FATE, by Susan Colasanti, was a beautiful and passionate story of fate and betrayal. Lani owes Erin everything, but she believes there are stronger forces in the universe that connects her to Jason.

I am a believer in fate, karma, and the pull of the Unknown. This book strengthened my faith in the universe and its cosmic process. Lani was an incredible character. She never tried to be something she wasn't even when others looked down on her unique beliefs and practices.

I was immediately drawn to Lani and Jason's relationship versus Erin and Jason's. Erin was very superficial and did not have much depth as a person. Lani and Jason started out their relationship on the same psychological level with each other which I thought was enchanting. Jason was absolutely swoon-worthy. He was so sweet and kind to Lani and Erin alike, it was difficult to see who he would end up with.

Colasanti depicted considerable emotion in this story. The secret that Lani and Jason held back from Erin and their peers caused much pain to everyone involved. The betrayal against her best friend kept Lani on edge at all times which created tension in her and Jason's relationship. Also, since teenagers can be so hurtful, my heart went out to Lani when her secret was revealed.

I liked the cover of this book. It portrayed the deceit accurately, and made me want to find out more about these relationships and how they would turn out.

Overall, this was a great book. I appreciated the passion that all the characters portrayed and also the magical element of the Unknown.

posted by kittydanza on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Epic

    I LOVED this book! My only regret is that its not a series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    AMAZING

    this book is full of excitement, anxiety and pressure. All the feeling and emotions together make the book exciting and very interesting. BOYS SUCK. This book states that.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    A must read

    Great book! A must read, I couldn't put it down

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sillimilli

    LOVE the book great !!!! the book is all about trust and romance, friendship, finding who you are to make the better choice, making desisions that you wish were more easy! This book get you hooked like the other book that GREAT endless summer!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    AMAZING!

    I could not put this book down. I am completely in love with it! I would definitely recommend it to every one of my girl friends. Great romance novel for teenage girls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    ?

    Is it worth it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    :)

    Very good, i loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Dancer456

    Awesome book great cute sweet love story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Omg

    Im on page 21 and its hilarious :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    It was the sweetest book ever<3

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Good

    I really liked this book! Great read for all ages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    It was good, perfect for a summer read, and a lazy day.  I would

    It was good, perfect for a summer read, and a lazy day.  I wouldn't say it was one of the best books of the year so far, but I still enjoyed it.  It kept me occupied, and I finished it in one day because it was just that amazing!  Yes, it can be the stereotypical backstabbing best friend book, but it's so much more than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    :)

    This was a very good book . I started reading and could not put it down. After this book I was in love with Susane Colasanti.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Okkkk book one day read!

    Sooo this book was very predictable. Although I think when Lani ignored Jason for Erin, even though they weren't friends.. that was the most perplexing thing in the world. Why would she do that, even though Erin hurt her so bad? I'm glad they became friends, but honestly I forgot what happend because it was so predictable. There were no twist, or thrills. What so ever... Susane it one of my favorite authors, but this books was not her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Loved it !

    This book was really good and very enjoyable :)


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Yes

    I have not read it yet butt i read the firs 2 chapter it wuz chips

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    This book was really good! I recommend this to teens!

    This book was really good! I recommend this to teens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!!

    It is a amazing story of how life can take u anywhere and it amazing!U learn that many things can happenn and friendship is important, a must read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Yolo!

    I loved this book i dont know about anybody else but it kinda gave me a message that said would you realy want to lose ur bff that saved ur life over a boy? Dont know bout u guys but i wouldnt like they say boys are whatevr but friends are forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Lani and Erin have been best friends and have had an amazing fri

    Lani and Erin have been best friends and have had an amazing friendship together. They always thought that nothing would ever break them apart, until Lani met Erins boyfriend Jason. At first, she gets to know him because Erin wants them to be friends. Soon however, she realizes that they have a chemistry like no other. She doesn't know if Jason feels the same way, but she really tries to ignore her feelings. She tried to avoid him and ignore her feelings and she tries to be just friends. She didn't want to accept the fact that she fell for her best friend's boyfriend but she can't keep pretending she doesn't. She wonders how they will ever overcome this and she feels like such a horrible friend.
    Overall, I think it was a good book. It was a little un-original but I enjoyed it anyways. It's a very quick read and it keeps you wanting to read on. I read the novel within 3 days just because it was so good. I certainly recomend the book to any teen who enjoys romance or fate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7