Customer Reviews for

Something Like Fate

Average Rating 4
( 660 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(387)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

This is a must read

So my grand daughter had to have this book so i bought it for her and she read it within 3 days. she absolute loved it and sometimes in life this can happen especially with best friends. It is an amazing book and its really cute and very interesting and it never gets br...
So my grand daughter had to have this book so i bought it for her and she read it within 3 days. she absolute loved it and sometimes in life this can happen especially with best friends. It is an amazing book and its really cute and very interesting and it never gets broing. You just want to keep reading it until you know what happens. this book has drama, happyness, and some sadness. this is a must read for teenagers.

posted by 3741949 on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Fate versus friendship

SOMETHING LIKE FATE, by Susan Colasanti, was a beautiful and passionate story of fate and betrayal. Lani owes Erin everything, but she believes there are stronger forces in the universe that connects her to Jason.

I am a believer in fate, karma, and the pull of the U...
SOMETHING LIKE FATE, by Susan Colasanti, was a beautiful and passionate story of fate and betrayal. Lani owes Erin everything, but she believes there are stronger forces in the universe that connects her to Jason.

I am a believer in fate, karma, and the pull of the Unknown. This book strengthened my faith in the universe and its cosmic process. Lani was an incredible character. She never tried to be something she wasn't even when others looked down on her unique beliefs and practices.

I was immediately drawn to Lani and Jason's relationship versus Erin and Jason's. Erin was very superficial and did not have much depth as a person. Lani and Jason started out their relationship on the same psychological level with each other which I thought was enchanting. Jason was absolutely swoon-worthy. He was so sweet and kind to Lani and Erin alike, it was difficult to see who he would end up with.

Colasanti depicted considerable emotion in this story. The secret that Lani and Jason held back from Erin and their peers caused much pain to everyone involved. The betrayal against her best friend kept Lani on edge at all times which created tension in her and Jason's relationship. Also, since teenagers can be so hurtful, my heart went out to Lani when her secret was revealed.

I liked the cover of this book. It portrayed the deceit accurately, and made me want to find out more about these relationships and how they would turn out.

Overall, this was a great book. I appreciated the passion that all the characters portrayed and also the magical element of the Unknown.

posted by kittydanza on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    This is a must read

    So my grand daughter had to have this book so i bought it for her and she read it within 3 days. she absolute loved it and sometimes in life this can happen especially with best friends. It is an amazing book and its really cute and very interesting and it never gets broing. You just want to keep reading it until you know what happens. this book has drama, happyness, and some sadness. this is a must read for teenagers.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    LOVED it. This was a great book

    30 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Awesome

    This is a great book. It's not a waste of 8 dollars. It's interesting because the author uses good word choice.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Omg

    Omg i thought this book was amazing i recommed it to all teens ull all love it imm going to read this book again and i will one day pass it down to my kids to read it was this great!!!!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Awsome book

    Luv it read it 6 times already Best for teens 12 - 18

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't judge a book by its cover!

    I thought it would possibly be a skanky girl and a player of a guy, but boy was I wrong? This book was a real page turner, an instant classicc and really enjoyable to read!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Somethin like fate

    What a good book its about 2 friends and one is dating someone and the other friend likes him

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Lani and Erin have a long history. As best friends, they have an amazing history together, but they also have a dark past that strengthened their bond. Lani thinks nothing will ever tear them apart, until she meets Jason - Erin 's boyfriend.

    At first, she gets to know Jason because Erin wants them to be friends. Before long, she discovers the two of them have an undeniable chemistry. She has no idea if Jason feels the same way, but she's determined to ignore her feelings.

    She tries avoiding him. She tries ignoring her feelings. She tries being just friends. She doesn't want to acknowledge that she's fallen for her best friend's boyfriend, but she can't keep hiding the truth. What kind of friend does this? How can their friendship possibly survive?

    SOMETHING LIKE FATE is an amazing read of two people drawn together by fate, but kept apart by friendship. I loved watching this story unfold and the intense bonds of both friendship and love. Susane Colasanti is a new author to watch on my personal list. I look forward to reading her next books.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    Both sweet and thought-provoking

    Susane Colasanti's Something Like Fate has a plotline that is a clear departure from her first three books, but her familiar present tense tone that keeps readers in the moment is still intact, along with her fast-paced, lighthearted style. Readers may not all relate to the same character this time around, because while Lani, Jason, and Erin - the stars of the love triangle - are all basically good people, their flaws are exposed and their choices become difficult. The conflict does not have an easy, black-and-white solution, and the novel would be great for book club discussions for this reason.

    The overriding theme of fate is an excellent one, because both Lani and Erin believe in fate, but it doesn't lead them to the same conclusion. The dialogue, especially between Lani and Jason, is very believable, and it is the primary device used to demonstrate how the two of them grow closer over the course of time.

    The secondary arc involves Blake, Lani's friend, who is gay but not out to anyone else. As his situation unfolds, it is both powerful and realistic. Lani's love triangle intersects with Blake's secret in an unexpected way. This is a fun YA summer read that deals with challenging topics without being heavy-handed.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good read!

    This story is amazingly well written and captures a small town high school exceptionally well! I love this book and suggest that you read it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Best book i ever read

    This is the best book i ever read! I sit down andnread it for hours cant put it down. Just a great plot and everything i even told my friend about it and i started reading it outloud and we finished it on the phone that same night at 2 am. You have to read it no dought

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    Got 2love this book

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    It's a good book !

    I really like it and i would recommend this book to people who love romance and loves to read a good book. Go ahead and buy, it trust me it'llbe worth it !!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    So good!!!!!!

    This book was awesome!!! I finished in 1day.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    OMG!!!

    Dont even read these reviews. THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER. GET IT NOW!!!!(:

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    its was perfect

    this book is like real life have you ever liked your bestfriend boyfriend than this is the book for or if that never happened read it and you will love it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    LOVE IT <3

    I love absolutly love it I read it FIVE times :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!!
    If you didn't read it your missing out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    A sliver of heaven

    This book is amazing.
    It is unbelievable at how awesome it is.
    That's why i think it is a sliver of heaven!!!!!


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    The cover sums it up

    Amazing book i loved it so sweet totally recommend for a girl who needs some inspiration to go with fate

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20