BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Something More: Excavating Your Authentic Self

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Food For Your Soul - What Every Woman Needs to Hear

I can't tell you everything this book did for me - I can only gush about it and say that after reading it I bought copies for three of my best friends. At a low point in my marriage, my husband bought this for me 'because (I) seem(ed) so sad.' I ignored it for months,...
I can't tell you everything this book did for me - I can only gush about it and say that after reading it I bought copies for three of my best friends. At a low point in my marriage, my husband bought this for me 'because (I) seem(ed) so sad.' I ignored it for months, and when I finally started reading it I couldn't put it down. I usually don't abuse books by turning down corners, but this book 'spoke to me!' It is now battle scarred with all the turned down pages and notations I made. Skip the part about making collections of your past and jump right into the short and sweet chapters that reaffirm our often fragile self-esteem and convince us of our self worth. This book covers all the stupid things we do to ourselves, all the lies we tell ourselves, the ways we put our needs last... Not exactly a book on feminism, but it certainly made me a little more assertive in letting my husband know I was no longer willing to just settle for what he dished out. 'Something More' is my new battle cry, and I'm working every day toward becoming the new me, the 'Queen of Sheba' in THIS household (for now anyhow!) I'm sure my husband had no clue that this book would change my perspective on my life (and what I want from it) so completely!

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed feelings about this book.

I loved Simple Abundance, and began really loving this book. However she lost me when she went on about encouraging a man to walk away from a 30+ year marriage just because he was no longer enraptured with passion. How many of us married people feel that passion all t...
I loved Simple Abundance, and began really loving this book. However she lost me when she went on about encouraging a man to walk away from a 30+ year marriage just because he was no longer enraptured with passion. How many of us married people feel that passion all the time? I was really dissappointed with the marriage 'advice' in this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Excellent Work!

    This book is much more 'meaty' in an intellectual/emotional sense than Simple Abundance -- I think her personal catharsis helped launch her best work yet! -- (Although I have yet to read 'Moving On')

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    Mixed feelings about this book.

    I loved Simple Abundance, and began really loving this book. However she lost me when she went on about encouraging a man to walk away from a 30+ year marriage just because he was no longer enraptured with passion. How many of us married people feel that passion all the time? I was really dissappointed with the marriage 'advice' in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2000

    Food For Your Soul - What Every Woman Needs to Hear

    I can't tell you everything this book did for me - I can only gush about it and say that after reading it I bought copies for three of my best friends. At a low point in my marriage, my husband bought this for me 'because (I) seem(ed) so sad.' I ignored it for months, and when I finally started reading it I couldn't put it down. I usually don't abuse books by turning down corners, but this book 'spoke to me!' It is now battle scarred with all the turned down pages and notations I made. Skip the part about making collections of your past and jump right into the short and sweet chapters that reaffirm our often fragile self-esteem and convince us of our self worth. This book covers all the stupid things we do to ourselves, all the lies we tell ourselves, the ways we put our needs last... Not exactly a book on feminism, but it certainly made me a little more assertive in letting my husband know I was no longer willing to just settle for what he dished out. 'Something More' is my new battle cry, and I'm working every day toward becoming the new me, the 'Queen of Sheba' in THIS household (for now anyhow!) I'm sure my husband had no clue that this book would change my perspective on my life (and what I want from it) so completely!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Something More ~ An Exquisite Read

    Simply a treasure.
    Exquisite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Provoking readings

    This book has a lot of good reading and makes several good points. However, it also suggests that people are going to change by making collages and staring at them routinely. This to me was not helpful. A worthwhile book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    Something More Gave Me...SOmething More

    I too thought it was a wonderful book.....it simply rang true. I needed a jolt in a couple of areas, and this book was gentle but firm in filling that task. I plan on keeping it readily within reach for boosters as needed. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    A BOOK EVERYONE SHOULD READ!!!!!!

    This book is one that everyone should read. So many of us 'settle' for want we have or want we believe we are worthy of. This book has taught me that rather than settling for what comes your way- to go out and get it. Don't wait for the right thing to come your way, it may never come along. If you haven't read this book, you should. I couldn't put the book down. I read it in 3 settings and I am not much of a reader. You will not be dissappionted by this book. I have realized that I am not going to settle for anything just for comfort. I am going to go out there in the world and GET WHAT I WANT AND DESERVE. Life is to precious to settle. You may not argree with everything thing she says, but it will give you the courage to think about everything. I wish you all a very learning experience from this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    This book spoke to my Spirit

    A few months ago,I began trying to find out why my 42nd Birthyear was such a difficult one.I had lost a dear friend to liver cancer,my favorite cat,Charlie to undiagnosed FeLV,& my husband's father to a heart attack. I also had a health scare of my own. I had ignored my Soul & Spirit's voice for a long time.I placed more emphasis on everyone else's needs before my own.I felt lost & needed to rediscover my 'Authentic Self'. This book made me rethink my current life. In this book,I found many stories of courage, love,trust,and honesty. We women wear so many hats & sometimes our 'Authentic Selves'get lost in the process. It was nice to find ways in which I could reconnect to my SOul & Spirit. Thanks,Sarah

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    Opened my eyes

    This inspirational book will be on my night table for a long time. I am a new widow of 63. I was married for forty years and it is now time to look into myself. This terrific book is helping me do it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Inspiration and Wrds of Wisdom

    This is a wonderful book. I read it daily and gain strength to make it through the day. Sara's writings are easy to read and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Wonderfull book people who are ready for change.Sarah is a great writer.Sarah inspires women

    This book and all the rest of Sarahs books are great...Sarah writes from the Heart.looking for some fresh ways to think feel and prosper..Her books have always made me stop and think sarah makes sense.Sarah has helped me learn fun waysto enjoy my life children and holidays more makeing my home a Happier place taking what we have and turning it in to something beautifull .Her ideas inspire as women we sometimes dont alow are body to rest take time for ourselves.I hope you all enjoy her books as much as i have .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2001

    This woman is so inspirational!

    Someone had given me Simple Abundance quite a few years ago and I did not start reading it until last year. That is a wonderful book,but this work is truly the greatest. It is so inspiring, not only to women but for all of us that are living this life. She really touches home on so many daily happenings in just a regular persons existance. I would truly like to meet her and listen to her speak. I want to know her background and would like to know who inspired her. She is truly well read and insightful and quotes many writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    The light at the end of the tunnel grows brighter from this candle....

    Searching for a way to fill the emptiness from something missing in your life? Read 'SOMETHING MORE'. This is one of the best books I've read in years. Great for a gift to someone struggling with their life, what it has been, is, and what it can be in the future. I'm on my third time reading this and still find it amazing. Sarah touches the readers' soul with her perspective and reaches out with tenderness and hope. Grasping the concept of our lives, (especially as women) and living from being a girl in our childhood to a woman in adulthood in this book she shares with us the trial of the same journey we are all on....life. A well rounded book filled with suggestions,guidance and support. Don't miss the opportunity to experience the revelation of your journey , the sharing of your heart with another in her words, and in the end when you are finished reading it- the beginning of your search for 'Something More'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1