BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Something Secret This Way Comes

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hard to put down

I fell in love with the story. It has ass kicking, a love triangle and was just amazing. It should be read by people 18+ since it has sex and violence in it. I couldn't pick just one character that was my favorite since they all have something I enjoyed about them. I do...
I fell in love with the story. It has ass kicking, a love triangle and was just amazing. It should be read by people 18+ since it has sex and violence in it. I couldn't pick just one character that was my favorite since they all have something I enjoyed about them. I don't think you'd be disappointed if you read it. It took me less than a day to finish it from beginning to end.

posted by Frostbacksgirl on February 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

only three stars

now i love me a good were and or vamp story or any mythical story and this was a great story full of all the myths and stock full of action and great sex, but this is why i give it only three stars. secret is bonded to the alpha and his second in charge, please the alph...
now i love me a good were and or vamp story or any mythical story and this was a great story full of all the myths and stock full of action and great sex, but this is why i give it only three stars. secret is bonded to the alpha and his second in charge, please the alpha would never be so calm as to not only share but allow his bomd mate to screw his second even before he did. if not for this i would have given it five stars because i just love the vamps and i pretty much like the weres ans secret but i'm not sold on all the sharing .

posted by pepper-ann on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Good Book.

    I cant believe this is free now. I paid $5.00 for it. Really good otherwise. Good characters, and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great book

    I throughly enjoyed this first book in the series. Its so good I will actually pay for the next book, which I hardly ever do. Cant wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I just found a great new series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Is this book very adult

    Is this book ok for teens to read

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Fabulous Read

    Living between two cultures, while not really a part of either, is difficult. This is the life of Secret McQueen, half werewolf, half vampire and all sass.

    She works as a bounty hunter for the vampire council and has, so far, managed to keep her lupine heritage secret from them. Very few know of her true origins, but one is her vampire liaison Holden Chancery. Things get a bit.complicated on her latest assignment when she meets Lucas Rain, King of the East Coast werewolves and Desmond Alvarez, his second in command, and discovers they are her soul mates.

    Things get bad when another alpha wolf wants to overthrow the hierarchy and dethrone the current king, especially when he kidnaps Secret and tries to kill her. Seems his mate is Secret's long lost mother, who abandoned her at birth, and would love to see Secret dead too. Then there's Alexandre Peyton, the rogue vampire that tried to kill Secret before, and is murdering young women that resemble her. When Secret is told to bring him in-alive-things get a lot more dangerous for everyone. Can Secret come to terms with having two mates, after being alone so long? Will she be able to stop the rogue from creating the vampire army he wants? Can she keep everyone safe and bring Peyton in?

    This is Sierra Dean's first book, and what a marvelous debut it is. I found the world she created to be an intriguing place, and alternate New York filled with paranormal beings and happenings. The characters are rich and complex, and the action is fast paced and entertaining.

    Secret McQueen is strong and independent. A rarity in the paranormal world, she was born half werewolf and half vampire. She has a strong sense of duty and fulfills her contracts to the best of her abilities. She is also very sarcastic and sassy, and takes advantage of her deceptive appearance to get her job done. Tiny and blond, she seems like no threat to the rogues she hunts, until it is too late for them.

    Lucas Rain is King of the East Coast werewolves, and he is handsome and sexy, and he recognizes Secret instantly as his mate. Although he is the ultimate alpha wolf, he is gentle and kind when possible, and would rather not have to fight. But he is not weak, and he will defend what is his, even to the death. I like Lucas, for his patience in trying to teach Secret about her wolf heritage, and not rushing her into anything.

    Desmond Alvarez is gorgeous as well, and light to Lucas' dark. At first, it seems as though he hates Secret, and she doesn't understand what she has done to cause this reaction. The truth is much different-it would appear that Desmond can sense that he is also meant to be mated to Secret and can't figure out how to broach the subject. I loved that, once they got over the initial difficulty, Desmond was willing to protect Secret at all costs.

    There are several story lines here, and I enjoyed watching as Ms. Dean was able to weave these into one marvelous tapestry of romance, betrayal and intrigue. There are several wonderful surprise twists here, and the hint of much more to come in the future.

    Read the full review at Whipped Cream Reviews

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Really good

    I look forward to more by this author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Super Amazing! kicks ass!

    I want to be just like Secret McQueen when I grow up!!! LOL. This book was absolutely amazing. I was captivated from word go. What first drew me to this novel was the cover. A girl with a gun and a smart ass "don't mess with me look" on her face. How could I pass it up!
    The first night I started reading, I only stopped because my kindle died. Otherwise I would have read straight through. The characters are extremely likable and you so want Secret to kick ass! She is just one of those characters you can relate too. Her life hasn't been a piece of cake, but she's tried to create a bit of normalcy for herself.
    As for Lucas & Desmond??? Can we say ssssseeeeexxxxy!!! Super Hot. Secret McQueen needs to pick one so I can have the other. =D
    I usually don't read a lot of books with sex scenes in them, but those in this book were done very well.
    And to top it all off during the last few chapters I was gasping out loud. I really never saw it coming.
    Great Book. I can't wait for "A Bloody Good Secret."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Good read!

    Really enjoyed this book! Just the right mix of action and drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Enjoyable

    The story kept me reading all day. I hope the next book picks up the story. I can not wait to find out how she fits all the men in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4