Customer Reviews for

Something Wicked This Way Comes

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

lovers of mystery.....Something Wicked This Way Comes!!!!

If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It tak...
If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It takes place in Greentown, Illinois 'a smallish town', somewhere in the present around October, the time of Halloween! The author describes the setting really good that it actually makes you believe you are experiencing the same thing all of the characters are at the same time, which sometimes can be a little bit confusing¿..he also uses a lot of metaphors in the whole book!!! The book it¿s mainly about the issues Jim and Will, the main characters, have, and yes everything has to do with ¿freak shows¿ and its ¿freaks¿ they are called ¿Mr. Dark and Mr. Crooger¿ a freak show parade that comes into town and its Will¿s and Jim¿s problem resource. This book it¿s also about saving a precious friendship and the lives these two boys love the most and really care about. Even the verse in Proverbs 4:16-17 describes the plot pretty good¿..it says ¿They sleep not, except they have done mischief, and their sleep is taken away, unless they cause some to fall. For they eat the bread of wickedness. And drink the wine of violence.¿ I know this is kind of confusing but if you don¿t understand this then please don¿t, please don¿t read this book because this is the kind of complicated Im talking about. Now if you do like this kind of books then I totally recommend it to you!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Wow.........

Wow.... I thought this was supposed to be good but it stunk. From the beginning i could barely tell what was going on and i was just clueless the whole way through.

posted by 128487 on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Wow.........

    Wow.... I thought this was supposed to be good but it stunk. From the beginning i could barely tell what was going on and i was just clueless the whole way through.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    This was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo dumb

    i haye this book. I never want to even look at it again. Im in Honors language at my high shcool, and i was forced to read it. i couldnt get through it so to write my report, i went to sparknotes.com to get the info i needed. i will never recommend this book to no one!~!~!~!~!~!~!

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    I did not like this book

    Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury is a book about two boys trying to stop an evil carnival from taking over their small town of Green town Illinois. The carnival has been traveling around the United States for two hundred years. Will and Jim, the main characters, go to the carnival thinking they will have a lot of fun, but instead they find all kinds of weird things. One strange thing they find is a woman, Miss Foley, saying strange things about how she lost her nephew in the mirror maze, but later she leaves like he never even exist. However, they find something that is a lot more interesting. They find a carousel that is out of order. Jim and Will didn't listen to the sign and still tried to get on the ride. Right when they are about to get on, two men named Mr. Dark and Mr. Cooger show up. Mr. Dark is tall and has tattoos all over his body, he is also known as the Illustrated Man. When Mr. Dark tells them to leave, they wait until he isn't looking and then hide in a tree to see what's so special about the merry-go-round. They soon find out that the carousel isn't really broken, but for some reason it goes in reverse, and plays "The Funeral March" backwards. They see Mr. Cooger, on the ride, but for some reason he looks as if he is melting every turn he goes around. It takes them a while to realize that Mr. Cooger was actually getting one year younger for each turn he went around. Soon they realize that he is her nephew and they quickly run to warn her that she is in danger. This book is an okay book that has a few twists and turns. I would only recommend it to someone that has absolutely nothing else to do.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    ...

    After reading Ray Bradbury's other novel Farehenheit 451 I heard that this book was good as well. I loved Fahrenheit 451 but was very surprised that this book was definitely no where near as good as Farenheit 451. I was so shocked that this book was to be honest terrible compared to the wonderful writing of Fahrenheit 451.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Big waste of time

    this book was the biggest fatest waste of my time. i could not get through it. Unfortunately, school made me read it. I highly do not recommend it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    NYREADER

    I had to read tjos book for my advanxed english class, tje first book of tje yr. I hated it. It was slow and boring. The plot was nvrending and the charscters were bland. Most ppl on my class, or everyone in ,y class, would agree woth me, that this was the wordt book we read all year. Although ppl say it was hainting and creepy, i didnt gst that effect at all, i thought it was quite bland and tasteless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    its a dull book

    The story is about the book Something Wicked this Way Comes is about two boys living in a town when suddenly a carnival comes to town. The boys started to wonder and investigated the carnival when they realize this was no ordinary carnival. After that many strange things started to happen to them by the owner of the carnival. When I read the book I didn¿t felt a connection with the book and the characters and author. At first the language and the use of words was hard for me to understand. I had a hard time trying to figure out what was going on through their heads. So as the book continued on I still wasn¿t attracted to it because I was lost and confused. Until almost at the end of the book I understood what had happen but I really was shocked about the ending. I would recommend this book t someone who reads at a high level and who likes to research new words and likes books about fantasy and magic and also mystery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    This books a snoozer

    This book is incredibly boring , it talked about things coming to life and fighting the evil its just not interesting. I suggest you read the Scythe its a short story by Ray Bradbury(its way more interesting)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1