Customer Reviews for

Something Wicked This Way Comes

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

lovers of mystery.....Something Wicked This Way Comes!!!!

If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It tak...
If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It takes place in Greentown, Illinois 'a smallish town', somewhere in the present around October, the time of Halloween! The author describes the setting really good that it actually makes you believe you are experiencing the same thing all of the characters are at the same time, which sometimes can be a little bit confusing¿..he also uses a lot of metaphors in the whole book!!! The book it¿s mainly about the issues Jim and Will, the main characters, have, and yes everything has to do with ¿freak shows¿ and its ¿freaks¿ they are called ¿Mr. Dark and Mr. Crooger¿ a freak show parade that comes into town and its Will¿s and Jim¿s problem resource. This book it¿s also about saving a precious friendship and the lives these two boys love the most and really care about. Even the verse in Proverbs 4:16-17 describes the plot pretty good¿..it says ¿They sleep not, except they have done mischief, and their sleep is taken away, unless they cause some to fall. For they eat the bread of wickedness. And drink the wine of violence.¿ I know this is kind of confusing but if you don¿t understand this then please don¿t, please don¿t read this book because this is the kind of complicated Im talking about. Now if you do like this kind of books then I totally recommend it to you!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Wow.........

Wow.... I thought this was supposed to be good but it stunk. From the beginning i could barely tell what was going on and i was just clueless the whole way through.

posted by 128487 on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Something Wicked This Way Comes Book Review

    Donovan Berry
    Per: 5/ Sautner
    9/15/09
    Book review
    Something Wicked This Way Comes
    Ray Bradbury is an amazing author and his book Something Wicked This Way Comes is one of his most impressive books. The story is about a carnival that comes to Green Town, Illinois. Two boys whom live there, Jim Nightshade and William Halloway have a bad feeling about the carnival and its owners, Mr. Dark and Mr. Cooger, however they can't prove it to anyone and no one is listening to them. They eventually tell Will's dad, a janitor at the local library, and he believes them. The three of them fearing that if they don't do something soon the carnival will take over Green Town and its inhabitants, must fight the carnival and its owners. Ray Bradbury does an amazing job of keeping the suspense in this book and making you want to read more. On the other hand the book can get confusing at parts and is sometimes difficult to read. I liked the book for its suspense and for the fact that it makes people look inside themselves to discover if they could in essence be like Mr. Dark and Mr. Cooger. I believe the message to take from this book is that life is full of obstacles and it's just a matter of overcoming them. I also believe that the author is trying to tell us that there is a way to overcome any challenge and that you can never give up or you won't succeed. I will take away from this book the message that just because you don't think you can do something doesn't mean you can't and it is important to keep on going. "By the pricking of my thumbs, Something wicked this way comes." I believe ray Bradbury did an amazing job writing this book and I encourage all people to read it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    The plot of Something Wicked This Way Comes is about two boys that know about a haunted carnival. The carnival kills anyone who rides any of the rides. It turns them younger and they eventually die. The two boys which are Will and Jim have to stop Mr. Dark, the evil carnival owner, from causing chaos around the town. The setting of the book seems to be a while back because in this book carnivals are very popular and there isn¿t as much technology as we have today. The three main characters of Something Wicked This Way Comes are Jim, Will, and Mr. Dark. Jim and Will get involved with Mr. Darks¿ carnival because they wanted to get on a ride. There was a man that went up first and when he did Jim and Will started to see him turn younger and younger. At first Jim and Will were too afraid to face Mr. Dark and his freak show, but after the fear went away they tried as hard as they could to stop Mr. Darks plan. I enjoyed this book because I¿m the type of person that really likes mystery books that have a lot of fiction. I don¿t really know what the message was in the book but since I had to read a book for the summer then I had to get something that I liked reading. When I first read this book I thought to myself ¿wow, it¿s just another book¿ but when I got further into the reading I couldn¿t stop. It was a really good book and I would recommend this book to people that like reading fictional stories about ghosts. I liked the book a lot but it was kind of difficult for me to comprehend. It was difficult because the characters were very different then I am so I couldn¿t really find any connections. I connected my friends to some of the characters which really helped me out with the book. In conclusion this book was really fun to read. The mood throughout the story was whimsical. It made the book a lot more enjoyable to read and I didn¿t get bored of the book. It was a really good book for me since I had to read it I chose this because I thought I might enjoy it and I did.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read!

    My favorite chapter in Something Wicked This Way Comes is chapter 54. I liked this chapter because it is sad, shocking, suspenseful, and a little scary.

    The author uses a lot of imagery throughout the entire book. I liked this because it gave you a real feel for everything going on. It helped you feel what the characters were feeling in the book.

    The author, Ray Bradbury, didn't do a lot that I didn't like in this book. It wasn't my favorite book, but it was a good read.

    I liked this book. It has a very unique style, and it made me want to keep reading.

    I think this book is appropriate for ages 14 and up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    This book is O.K

    Peer Book Review Will, James, and Charles are the stars in this fiction and mystery packed tall. James and Will are best friends and have been for ever. Charles Halloway (Will¿s dad) joins them in their action packed adventure and helps defeat the evil Mr. Dark. Ray Bradbury really made Something Wicked This Way Comes a very excellent fantasy book. He emphasized Will and James friendship. They acted like twin brothers and could never leave each others sight. I can relate to that because I have a twin sister that I could never let out of my sight, but now that she is gone to a boarding school in Dallas, I have gotten used to it. I like this book and would give it and 4 out of 5. If you like reading about historical facts and biographies or journals, this book is not for you. This is more of an adventure book. This text is not that difficult at the end but I was a little confused at the beginning. This is a great book and I give it a TWO THUMBS UP!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Great read!

    Introduction- My book was about two boys that live in the country. Things get suspicious when the evil carnival comes to town. This is a great book and if you like mysterious story about ghouls and ghost, well get another book because this book is one of a kind that will rock your world!

    Description and summary of main points- When the two boys go investigate, they get caught up in a bunch of creepy madness. With the help of their dad, they all take down the evil man that runs the carnival.

    Evaluation- I thought this was a interesting, mysterious thriller. Ray Bradbury is a great author, but uses way to many details and metaphors. He knows how to keep the reader interested in finding out what's going to happen next.

    Conclusion- I think that this book is a good read. It is filled with creepy, mysterious parts that will get your heart pumping. There may be times that you will be frightened. So if you like scary book I would by this book.

    Your final review- I think that if you are a teen that likes to read mysterious, thrilling book, then you should go right now to the book store and get your own copy so you can get the excitement that Ray Bradbury put into this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    A great find!

    Something Wicked This Way Comes is a journey filled with morals and adventure. Each page will have you in complete wonder for what the next will hold. This was a great book, but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone below eighth grade due to its complexity and vocabulary.

    Jim Nightshade and Will Halloway's lives are turned from ordinary to extraordinary when Cooger and Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show comes to the small Green Town. As they watch the train pull in during the night, they both feel the dark magic hiding behind all of the smoke and mirrors. The boys and Will's father, Charles, must work together to unveil the carnival for what it truly is-before it's too late!

    Ray Bradbury writes with a style that I've read nothing like before. Each paragraph is filled with poetry and metaphors that really make the story come alive. You really get a good taste for the personalities of the three main characters, Jim, Will, and Charles. Along with the characters themselves, you watch the relationship between the characters really change and strengthen. Although the first few chapters moved very slowly, one you get into this book, you won't want to put it down.

    I really enjoyed reading this book; it was a bit hard to comprehend, but very worth it. All of the characters are well developed. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good fiction book with lots of suspense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Visit Cooger & Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show at your own risk

    When Cooger & Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show comes to town, Will Halloway and Jim Nightshade are drawn into a battle for their souls. Ray Bradbury's writing style sprinkled with half mad similes and metaphors turns a carnival into a place that breathes out wickedness and despair. There are a couple rambling philosophical sections that detract from the pace of the book, but this is one creepy page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    Ray Bradbury's book is a look into the mind of two teenage boys as they fight an evil that has lingered for centuries. His imaginative way of using a circus as the source of the evil gives this book a bit of whimsy. To grab your attention Bradbury first starts off just telling you about the main characters Will and Jim. Later in the story the excitement kicks up as the boys are thrown into the crazy mix. Along their adventure they realize that friendship can trump over any obstacle. As Will's dad is brought into the story his loyalty to his son is questioned. His fathers life if is challenged and his sons. Will's father helps the boys through their wonder less adventures. From this book I gained a closer bond to my father and a greater insight into the books of Ray Bradbury. Time after time through thick and thin Will and Jim's friendship is questioned. As the chance to save them and kill the other occurs over and over they still stay friends. After countless near death ocations these two friends stick together. Even with addition of his father the friends stay at each others sides no matter what. As the Freaks of the circus follow the boys into town they since were to look. This book will keep you attention for a little while and then drop it. I personally did not like this book. There were to many twists and turns. Each and every section I read I felt as if any other book would keep my attention longer. To my surprise though toward the end of the book it seemed to get more interesting. Every day I had to read I wanted to stop I did not l9ke this book at all. Please take these thoughts into consideration.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    A pretty good read

    I thought the book was pretty good. In the beginning the book was a little confusing,but the book played it's self out. The books two main characters names are Jim and Will. A carnival comes late in the season but there is something wicked about it. The crazy illisutionist, Mr. Dark, has something wrong with him. He doesnt really seem normal. There is also the evil partner in crime, The Dust Witch. She is blind but senses thing like see can see. The novel has alot of twist and turns and keeps the reader very interested.I believe that Ray Bradury has made another novel that will last throughtout the ages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Review of SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES.

    When you pick up the book Something Wicked This Way Comes, prepare to go on a wild whirlwind of adventure. This book, written by Ray Bradbury, is unique, riveting, and mind twisting. Two boys go on an adventure to discover the hidden meaning of Cooger and Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show and learn of the dark purpose the carnival has, a secret they never imagined to be possible. While best friends and neighbors, William Holloway and Jim Nightshade, are sitting together, they are approached by a lightning rod salesman that informs them a storm is coming. Little did these 14 year olds know, this storm was not that of weather, but of cursed carousels and miraculous mirrors. Throughout the story these boys are faced with challenges that no modern child would ever endure. Promising to stand together no matter what, each of the characters grow both as friends and individually. At the young age of 14, with their Halloween birthdays right around the corner, they discover a haunting carnival that turns their worlds completely upside down. On a journey to protect the ones they love, they have fallen into the clutches of darkness and must find it within themselves, and the faith of each other, to overcome their desires and to stop the evil Mr. Dark in his tracks. However, this is not such an easy task, and the boys, they will need to make a decision that could change not only their lives, but the lives of all those in Green Town. I enjoyed this book very much. As each character grows, I absolutely loved watching their changes of heart. One of my favorite parts was probably when Will saves Jim's life. That moment proved that their friendship was something that could not be easily broken. The book is something I feel is more so to tell a story rather than explain a life lesson. However, if I had to take away something I would say that Ray Bradbury tells his readers to live in the present, to work for what you love, and that justice will in fact prevail. This story is definitely a read that is worth the time it takes to finish. Something this book personally taught me is to live in the present rather than worry about the future. After all,
    "By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    People who like mystery, this is for you! :P

    Something Wicked This Way Comes is about two boys the same age that are best friends; James Nightshade, and William Halloway. They were born exactly two minutes apart. James being born first, he is thirteen years, eleven months, and twenty-three days old; William, born second, is thirteen years, eleven months, and twenty-four days old. Not only have they grown up together all their lives, they live right next to each other. All through the story, Jame's and Will's friendship changes; sometimes for the better, and sometimes for the worse.
    One late night in October, near Halloween, a carnival randomly pulls into town. The boys both hear it and are confused at why it is coming so late. But instead of staying away from it, the boys went to it. Throughout the whole story, it is a mystery to everyone else that the carnival is evil. The only people who actually know that it is evil are James and Will. They try to keep people away, but no one listens to them. The carnival has a main leader, Mr. Dark.
    This so called "evil carnival" kills anyone that rides the rides. It slowly turns them young as it goes backwards, and then it kills them. All the deaths that happened were controlled by Mr. Dark, and it was up to Jim and Will to stop him from killing anyone else. When Jim and Will first saw the carousel, they saw that there was an out of order sign on it, but didn't think anyone was wrong with it. This is when they walked up to it and ran into Mr. Dark and another tall man. They were told to go away because the carousel was broken, but the boys just ran and hid in a tree to where they could see what the two men were doing. While up in the tree, James noticed that the music and the ride was going backwards, and as he watched it spin with a man on it, he saw that he kept getting younger and younger after every turn. After James saw this, he felt as if everything inside him was going backwards. Once the boys realized that the carnival was evil, and that Mr. Dark was controlling it, they were afraid to confront him and his freak show carnival.
    If you are a person who likes mystery and suspense in a book, this would be a good book to read. I personally like the book. It was confusing at first, but after the seventh chapter, it started making sense.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    Something Wicked Review

    Ray Bradbury was right to title his book after the Shakespeare quote "By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes." This adequately describes the atmosphere of his novel, and also gives you an idea of the book's premise.
    Jim Nightshade and Will Halloway are best friends, living in the small town of Green Town, Illinois. Of the pair, Jim is the adventurous and brave one and Will is the shy of the two who only goes along with what Jim does to impress him. They are both thirteen years old, though Jim was born one minute after midnight on Halloween and Will was born one minute before midnight. This strange chance of fate bonds the two boys together like brothers from opposite sides of the spectrum.
    A mysterious carnival arrives in their town, and the boys go to investigate. The carnival and its leader, Mr. Dark, bring along with them strange magic that the boys never dreamed to be real. The boys soon find themselves trying to rescue the people of the town from the dangerous enchantment of the carnival. It takes you through a maze full of suspenseful twists and turns that will leave you thirsting for more.
    Ray Bradbury uses heavy figurative language and imagery to describe the boys' adventure. Although many of other authors try to master his skill of such description, no one does is quite like Bradbury. He does an excellent job of capturing his characters' emotions and thoughts and explaining them to his reader in such a way that you can relate. One of his strongest points was illuminating the attitude of a child, and telling his story in the most believable and imaginative way.
    Something Wicked This Way Comes is a science fiction book with a hint of horror and fantasy that every reader would love. This book is definitely a valuable read. If you enjoy suspense, imagery, and a bit of mystery, this book will be a page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    Something Wicked This Way Comes is a master piece that will have you sitting on the edge of your seat. Follow Jim Nightshade and Will Halloway as they discover the shocking secret of the mysterious carnival that rolled into their town in the late night fog. Born only a minute apart Jim and Will feel a connection to each other and Halloween. As their sights addict them to this wonderland of torment, they see carnies of all shapes and sizes. As Jim and Will witness first hand just how scary carnivals actually are, they find that something just isn't right... Follow these young boys as they find not everything is how it seems. They encounter prowling ringmasters by the name of Mr. Dark, and Mr. Cooger. After meeting, the boys feel an obligation to find out just what is going on in this show of freaks. Seeing Mr. Cooger a middle-aged man suddenly sits on a carousel and magically become a thirteen year-old boy, is the least of their problems. Mr. Cooger then becomes involved with the two by framing them, by setting them up for theft. When finally the police decided to give them a chance, they end up walking into a show they will never forget. The same Mr. Cooger who had earlier been a young boy had reverted to being an old man, who appeared to be over a hundred years old. During the final practice act of the night Mr. Dark sends thousands of volts of energy through Mr.Cooger's body, bringing him back to life. Watching the boys are shocked and scared for the fate that awaits them one the old man wakes up and unfolds the story of how the two boys were busy spying on the carnival. As the following days come Jim and Will are plotting to destroy the carnival. As the mysterious witch dies with a "smile", they find that happiness is the only way out. The book uses a strong variety of metaphors, similes, and much more figurative language. This book will make you think upside down, sideways, and inside out. I personally will take away the thought that when things get tough stay strong, and never give up. The strongest parts of the book include the author's description of Jim and Will's urge to go beyond and run. Stating you are who you are.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Bradbury's finest

    A great coming of age story. Geared more for boys, but a great read for girls as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    The book wasn¿t what I expected because it was made in a very different style from what I am used to reading. I think that people who like Lord of the Rings or From the Dust Returned will really enjoy this novel. I normally read fantasy and science fiction books and this book was an interesting read. This book is about two friends, Jim and Will, who have to defend their town from a dark carnival and all its evil carnies. With the help of Will¿s dad they run against time to save the town and themselves. Unexpected twists and turns make this book great and the fight of good and evil seems like a new concept in this book. . Will the three of them be strong enough to outwit the carnies or are they eternally doomed, find out in this great read that Bradbury wrote in his unique style. The slow rise to the climax might leave you worried about how good this book might be, but the relatable characters and the intriguing story line makes this book a great read for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    Something Wicked

    During the summer I chose to read Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury this book is interesting and mysteries. It¿s an exciting book that does not let you put the book down. This book takes place in present time in October in Greenville. There are two boys, Jim and Will who are bet friends. They both are facing some difficulties in life. Charles Halloway who is Will¿s dad becomes closer to his son and has a better relationship while helping Jim and Will destroy evil. So one day Jim and Will noticed a poster saying that a carnival is coming in late October which is awkward because carnivals don¿t come in October. So then many things occur while it¿s here. Jim and will defeat evil and test their friendship. I really can not relate to this book. Some words in the book are confusing and you have to really understand every detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    Drama, suspense, and a person you can relate with all have one thing in common. Those are all factors of a good book. Many kids enjoy those things in a book. And you are one of those kids then Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury is the book for you! This is the book that is going to keep you at the edge of your seat. This story takes place in small town in Green Town, Illinois. What makes this is an interesting story is that this town is not the town that you might think it is at first sight. Thanks to all detail added by the author, you might actually think that you yourself are in the town instead of your house! The story is composed of a various characters. Jim Nightshade and Will Halloway are the two main characters in the story. The adventures these two kids go through make the book nearly impossible to put down! The whole reason to read Something Wicked This Way Comes is because of what happens in the small town of Green Town, Illinois. While Jim and Will are out one night they notice something strange. They decide to go and check it out. What they don¿t know is what they are about to get themselves in to by doing so. If you want to be part of the action, grab a copy of Something Wicked This Way Comes and start reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    The book is based on two boys named Jim Nightshade and Will Halloway, who have been best friends since they were little. Will is the one out of the two that is shy and makes most of the right decisions. Jim is the one who is constantly bringing them into trouble and is the most curious about new things. Mr. Halloway is Will¿s father who is a library janitor and gets caught into the mix up that the two boys get into. It all begins when a carnival comes to town at three o¿ clock in the morning. In their search of curiosity the boys are introduced to the carnival owner Mr. Dark and his assistant Mr. Cooger, who have been traveling from town to town with a circus of freaks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    This book is great for mystery readers

    Something Wicked This Way comes is the best book that I have read so far this year. It will catch your attention with its incredible settings and drama that happens through out the story. I would really recommend this book because you can enjoy it and you can also get couth into the story because the settings are well described by the author, Brad Burry. This book is about two boys that are best friends this two boys are Jim and Will. This two boys were solving their towns¿ problems when a mysterious carnival arrives at their town. Charles the father of Will helped them defeat the witch of the carnival, I really and strongly recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    If you like complex wording, strange creatures, and evil nephews then you¿ll like Something Wicked This Ways Comes, because it¿s entertaining, scary, and creepy. Something Wicked This Way Comes is a challenging book which allows readers to use critical thinking and comprehension skills. The reader must be confident in him or herself to finish the book and not give up on him or herself. The setting, in this book is much hidden, because the author Ray Bradburn barely describes the scenes that are going. The plot is confusing at times so you¿ll probably have to read a particular part over again, if you don¿t understand it the first time. The two main characters Jim and William are complete opposites, which is good, because you don¿t want to have the same personalities. Jim personalities are being a daredevil, while William is scared to take step outside of his house. I advise fantasy lovers to read this book, because I feel that they¿ll interpret it better. The author helps me understand the characters, because he gives me a good description. I hope you enjoyed my book review on Something Wicked This Ways Comes good bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3