Customer Reviews for

Something Wicked This Way Comes

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

lovers of mystery.....Something Wicked This Way Comes!!!!

If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It tak...
If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It takes place in Greentown, Illinois 'a smallish town', somewhere in the present around October, the time of Halloween! The author describes the setting really good that it actually makes you believe you are experiencing the same thing all of the characters are at the same time, which sometimes can be a little bit confusing¿..he also uses a lot of metaphors in the whole book!!! The book it¿s mainly about the issues Jim and Will, the main characters, have, and yes everything has to do with ¿freak shows¿ and its ¿freaks¿ they are called ¿Mr. Dark and Mr. Crooger¿ a freak show parade that comes into town and its Will¿s and Jim¿s problem resource. This book it¿s also about saving a precious friendship and the lives these two boys love the most and really care about. Even the verse in Proverbs 4:16-17 describes the plot pretty good¿..it says ¿They sleep not, except they have done mischief, and their sleep is taken away, unless they cause some to fall. For they eat the bread of wickedness. And drink the wine of violence.¿ I know this is kind of confusing but if you don¿t understand this then please don¿t, please don¿t read this book because this is the kind of complicated Im talking about. Now if you do like this kind of books then I totally recommend it to you!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Wow.........

Wow.... I thought this was supposed to be good but it stunk. From the beginning i could barely tell what was going on and i was just clueless the whole way through.

posted by 128487 on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    lovers of mystery.....Something Wicked This Way Comes!!!!

    If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It takes place in Greentown, Illinois 'a smallish town', somewhere in the present around October, the time of Halloween! The author describes the setting really good that it actually makes you believe you are experiencing the same thing all of the characters are at the same time, which sometimes can be a little bit confusing¿..he also uses a lot of metaphors in the whole book!!! The book it¿s mainly about the issues Jim and Will, the main characters, have, and yes everything has to do with ¿freak shows¿ and its ¿freaks¿ they are called ¿Mr. Dark and Mr. Crooger¿ a freak show parade that comes into town and its Will¿s and Jim¿s problem resource. This book it¿s also about saving a precious friendship and the lives these two boys love the most and really care about. Even the verse in Proverbs 4:16-17 describes the plot pretty good¿..it says ¿They sleep not, except they have done mischief, and their sleep is taken away, unless they cause some to fall. For they eat the bread of wickedness. And drink the wine of violence.¿ I know this is kind of confusing but if you don¿t understand this then please don¿t, please don¿t read this book because this is the kind of complicated Im talking about. Now if you do like this kind of books then I totally recommend it to you!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    If you like mystery and suspense I recommend Something Wicked This Way Comes

    If you like fiction, friendship, mystery and suspense I strongly recommend for you to read Something Wicked This Way Comes. I enjoyed this book so much. When you think something is going to happen, something else actually happens.They setting took place in strange and various places. The setting I most enjoyed was the carnival. All the spooky things going t on there were nice to read.Jim Nightshade and Will Halloway are the main characters followed by Charles Halloway, Mr. Dark, and Mr. Cooger. While you read this book you will find out about other characters that during the story they oddly disappear. Jim and Will face the most unpredictable things you have ever seen. My favorite character in the story is Jim because he is brave, older than Will, and always wants to know more in everything he sees or does. The plot is full of suspense. The author, Ray Bradbury did a great job explaining it. The most important plot took place at the carousel. The carousel is where the most important events take place and where the mysterious things happen. My favorite setting of the plot was in the library. That is where Jim and Will are hiding from Mr. Dark because Mr. Dark found out something about them.The book might get kind of weird and freaky, but you will really enjoy it. I really like this book. There is a lot of exciting things that go on in this book and I know you would not want to miss them. I hardly recommend it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Classic Bradbury

    Bradbury began his career (and his paychecks as a writer) with an emphasis on horror - see The October Country - and this wonderful novel can be considered the apex of his early work. It weaves into the horror the strong nostalgic thread of his boyhood memories - see Dandelion Wine. I read this book when I was 10, now I'm 50 and this is the 4th or 5th time I'm reading this magical tale.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it

    Creepy, compelling, and all-in-all a good read. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Excellent Book!

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Something Wicked This Way Comes, by Ray Bradbury
    Title of review: Excellent Book
    Number of stars (1 to 5):

    Introduction
    Most people who read horror stories constantly hear the folk lore about old carnivals and clowns. How they are usually haunted and creepy have two evil ringleaders that are either circus freaks or clowns. To illustrate that point perfectly, Ray Bradbury has conjured one of his best stories: Something Wicked This Way Comes. This excellent reader's choice book, though slow moving, has a very well played out plot.
    Description and summary of main points
    This plot, taking place by my guess in the late 80s or early 90s is set in an open field where the storm that never happens would've happened and where Cooger and Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show rolls in past midnight upon the rails of a freight. This carnival, as Jim Nightshade and William Halloway (the main characters), and Charles Halloway (Will's father) soon discover is controlled by some unknown omnipotent sinister force lurking just beneath the flesh of this circus madhouse. As Jim and Will take their first tentative step onto the carnival grounds, they soon begin to feel some dark and foreboding sensation (as I know you will) when they set foot beyond the Midway. As they pass by the ghostly hall of mirrors and haunted carousel they meet their first to circus freaks and evil entities in the carnival: Mr. Cooger and Mr. Dark (the Illustrated Man). Cooger and Dark come to mystify while stealing the very souls and life forces that they use to crush and morph into the own band of marauders. When Jim and Will realize this horror, they must run to save themselves and their own families from the ghastly Illustrated man and the impending doom.
    Evaluation
    In this phenomenal masterpiece, Ray Bradbury has accomplished one of his best works as I've previously said. Though however great this book is, I would not recommend it to anyone beneath the eighth grade due to the difficulty of the read. Though, for those of you who commonly read in this category and are up to this challenge, this is a book you must read. I, and so many others especially in my family, have enjoyed this read. If you feel the same way we do, you'll love it too.
    Conclusion
    Overall, the book has mostly good characteristics (except for the bad one I mentioned) including the character description, dialogue, plot, setting description, and so many others. If you are reading this now and looking for suggestions, that probably means you are ready to read.
    Your final review
    Once again, please know that you are ready to read at this level before buying it and read all the reviews you can to help your benefit; and as a line from Shakespeare states..
    'By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes!'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bradbury

    For any Bradbury fan. I was totally hooked.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Frightening Fun

    Perhaps the best book of its kind ever written. It is just plain spooky without the violence like you see in so many horor book today (such as Stephen King e.g)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Read It In One Day!

    Okay, this isn't a short book, but I read it in one day. I loved it. First of all, any book about Halloween is good, so this was excellent. The way Bradbury writes is a spell-binding. It's a blend of metaphoric poetry and thoughts of the youthful conscience. Anyone should read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    repost this

    Kiss your hand 3 times repost this on 3difrentbooks then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Awesome book

    A movie was out in 1984 starring Jason Robards as Jim's dad. I never thought about reading the book until I got out of high school and I have read the book twicesince I have seen the movie. The movie is pretty good and stays close to the plot of the story. Both are worth a watch and a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Nancy

    One of the best horror books ever. The writing style can be aggrevating, but the story is original and brilliant. Any horror story with children as the main protaganists is almost always a hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Bradbury stories are all concerned with time and loss

    Are small mortality plays concerning good and evil what an imagination subtle will not scare the young reader but o henry endings often disturb the older reader some are essays more than story description without a definite end a character sketch curious not much of a poet it was all in his prose page counter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    i have never seen the movie, nor do i care too. the book is a ma

    i have never seen the movie, nor do i care too. the book is a master piece in and of its self. a story of 2 boys, one timid and fearful and the other strong willed and dangerously curious.both find themselves in a crazy mystery the must solve. A Bradbury classic and a must read for any Bradbury Fan!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    i love this book

    i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A great read for both teens and adults!

    I read this as a child and loved it. I read it again almost 20 years later and still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    A beautiful book!

    Great fantasy! The first few chapters I thought it was just a series of poetic images, then it began to turn into a solid story. I met "Ray" once, and I was very pleased when he complemented me on a book I had written.
    Anyhow, this is a beautiful, poetic, always to be remembered book. Read it to your older kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Probably my favorite Bradbury

    Might be my favorite Bradbury, but then again, there are so many other gems in the collection. First read it in my late teens, re-read it a few times over the years. The movie was great too, but they ruined the whole point of the book by changing the ending! If you liked the movie, read the book, and take your time to savoir.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Jeremy's Review!

    Something Wicked This Way Comes is a very intriguing novel. I personally enjoyed reading it. It really draws you in when you are reading it. I felt it as a book I didn¿t want to put down. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book, but some may not. If you are into mysteries and suspense books, this is a book for you. This book sends a message to you making you learn to appreciate life. It shows you that youth isn¿t forever and to enjoy what you have while it lasts. You never know what is going to happen to you in life. The book is about two young boys who are born minutes apart. One on Halloween and the other on hallows eve. They have lived right next to each other for their entire lives but they are completely different. Will is a more conservative person while Jim is up for any adventure thrown his way. The annual carnival came into town a week early this year. The boys thought it was very odd that the carnival was coming so early but they didn¿t let that stop them from going to it. At the carnival all these weird things start happening. The boys quickly figure out something is not right about this so called ¿carnival¿. Most people would think a carnival is about having fun and going on rides but the people running this one are more into terrorizing people. But that is all I¿m going to say for now, I don¿t want to give much away. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Somethig Wicked!

    Something Wicked This Way Comes is one of the best books I have ever read! I had to read it as part of an English project. The two main characters are Jim Nightshade and Will Halloway. The conflicts in the book are described very well. The character Mr. Dark makes the book so much spookier with his storm colored clothing and his creepy tattoos. Will and Jim were born one minute apart but they are not related. Jim is more outgoing and troublesome and Will and his father are quiet and shy. I actually thought Jim was evil during part of the book. That was only because Jim kept leaving in the middle of the night when he always woke Will up so they could go together. There was also this part where Will¿s father, Charles, was trying to save the boys from Mr. Dark but Mr. Dark twisted and broke Charles¿ hand! Then the Dust Witch was about to kill him, but you have to read the book to find out. I would recommend this book to people who like dark stories. One of the most powerful parts in the book was when Will and his father were going to give up in the maze of mirrors, but Will gave his father hope. I think the moral of this story was, don¿t leave your friend behind, and enjoy your life as it is. Don¿t forget that when life gets you down, a smile and a laugh can save the day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4