Customer Reviews for

Something Wicked This Way Comes

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

lovers of mystery.....Something Wicked This Way Comes!!!!

If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It tak...
If you like something creepy, out of the ordinary, scary, freaks and freak shows, and complicated books, then you are going to like Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. This book is pretty interesting but really complicated at the same time!!!!!!! It takes place in Greentown, Illinois 'a smallish town', somewhere in the present around October, the time of Halloween! The author describes the setting really good that it actually makes you believe you are experiencing the same thing all of the characters are at the same time, which sometimes can be a little bit confusing¿..he also uses a lot of metaphors in the whole book!!! The book it¿s mainly about the issues Jim and Will, the main characters, have, and yes everything has to do with ¿freak shows¿ and its ¿freaks¿ they are called ¿Mr. Dark and Mr. Crooger¿ a freak show parade that comes into town and its Will¿s and Jim¿s problem resource. This book it¿s also about saving a precious friendship and the lives these two boys love the most and really care about. Even the verse in Proverbs 4:16-17 describes the plot pretty good¿..it says ¿They sleep not, except they have done mischief, and their sleep is taken away, unless they cause some to fall. For they eat the bread of wickedness. And drink the wine of violence.¿ I know this is kind of confusing but if you don¿t understand this then please don¿t, please don¿t read this book because this is the kind of complicated Im talking about. Now if you do like this kind of books then I totally recommend it to you!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Wow.........

Wow.... I thought this was supposed to be good but it stunk. From the beginning i could barely tell what was going on and i was just clueless the whole way through.

posted by 128487 on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    ...

    After reading Ray Bradbury's other novel Farehenheit 451 I heard that this book was good as well. I loved Fahrenheit 451 but was very surprised that this book was definitely no where near as good as Farenheit 451. I was so shocked that this book was to be honest terrible compared to the wonderful writing of Fahrenheit 451.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Read It In One Day!

    Okay, this isn't a short book, but I read it in one day. I loved it. First of all, any book about Halloween is good, so this was excellent. The way Bradbury writes is a spell-binding. It's a blend of metaphoric poetry and thoughts of the youthful conscience. Anyone should read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Big waste of time

    this book was the biggest fatest waste of my time. i could not get through it. Unfortunately, school made me read it. I highly do not recommend it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    A Great Read

    I was introduced to this book as an assignment in my English class. Most of the students thought this book to be boring, I believe it to be exact opposite. Everything Bradbury writes about he explains it in much detail. Although, I wouldn't recomend this to anyone because I'm selfish and like to keep works of art to myself. But truely worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    With purple prose Bradbury waxes nostalgic about childhood bogey

    With purple prose Bradbury waxes nostalgic about childhood bogeymen, wonderfully creepy.

    This book is part of Bradbury’s loosely constructed Green Town trilogy (there’s also a collection of related short stories). A sort of classic tale in its telling, the story unfolds as a nostalgic coming of age yarn mixed with horror involving two young boys. The main struggle explored by the author is that of desire and temptation. Chiefly this evolves between the contrasting main characters. The protagonists, Will and Jim, are best friends, with the main difference being that Will is a bit more cautious and Jim is a bit more adventurous with a slightly edgier worldview than his friend. Will’s father (another main character), is old—to put it simply. Charles has come into fatherhood later in life and doesn’t know how to make amends with that, as the youth of his son seems only to be a constant reminder of how aged he is. This dynamic sets the stage for things to come. Enter the horror.

    Bradbury’s language is flowery, purple-colored prose from an older time. In looking at other reviews, it seems that this style is off-putting to some readers. Bradbury does not take a “window pane” approach to describing things (as author Brandon Sanderson might describe the style). His words fall from the abstract and are more akin to poetry. The author paints the scene with notes and chords and melody. The wording is thick and may take some chewing, depending on your mood or frame of reference. It’s is rife with allusion. That’s not to say that the story is not there—nor is it boring or stylized. There is real tension and suspense. But, Bradbury coats the story in vivid hues to invoke tone, mood and perhaps the nostalgia he must have been thinking of when he wrote this. Indeed, the story itself is inspired by the author’s own real life childhood experience from when a carnival came to his hometown.

    Still, no matter the author’s style, there is a clear framework of a story. At times, it may seem a bit long—but not much. It’s easy to see how other authors (like Stephen King for instance) were inspired by someone like Bradbury, when you have scenes involving sewer hideaways and sideshow freaks stalking through town on ill intent missions to find the two pesky young boys. Each time the protagonists escape the clutches of the Carnival, a new struggle ensues with solid reversals of fortune. And there is also the ever-present worry, that nobody will ever believe what is really go on here.

    Another thing to note of Bradbury’s style is his use of the language to construct scenes. His prose may be purpled—but it is not so verbose. He has a wonderful way of describing these evil things lurking about the town as they tangle with the protagonists, and he does this without resorting to overwrought, visceral descriptions of violence. I felt particularly creeped out by the Dust Witch, Mr. Dark and even the eviscerated Mr. Electro who drolled out stoic declarations like a half-dead toad. All the characters of this dark Carnival had a presence, though not described in complete physical detail–I still had a sense of them. I could feel the mood, the fear they put into the protagonists.

    The story is a tad romanticized, and perhaps the voice of the young boys feels out of age at times. Yet, it pretty much works. All the capers the two get into seem realistic enough and appropriate for their age. The evil of the Carnival provides a stark contrast to the idyllic air around the boys, which keeps the nostalgia from going overboard.

    Also wonderful is the way that Bradbury creates problems between the boys, who are the best of friends in every sense of the word (at times they seem like they are right out of a 1950’s sitcom). However, the absence of Jim’s father coupled with his curious and more daring side give him a darker edge and we are genuinely worried about him—just as Will is. This also rings true for Charles (Will’s father) who starts off as a nice fellow, but weak. We get to know Charles and understand his feeling of helplessness and struggle through this with him as he must put aside all his neurotic worrying about getting old, embrace life, and understand that his age is what it is (and that it is not even close to as bad as he has convinced himself it is).
    This story started out as a short story first (check out the slightly darker version called “Black Ferris”) and then morphed into a screenplay which Bradbury hoped his friend Gene Kelly would produce. That never happened so Bradbury took the time to turn the treatment into a full novel—which is what we have here.

    The book is a story of boyish adventure, yet Bradbury’s style makes the stakes much grander. The Carnival is not just some group of street criminals meant to rip off the good townspeople. There is something more sinister at work. Jim, Will, Charles and the citizens of Greentown come face to face with the physical manifestations of evil of the world and learn that even their small idyllic town is not safe. The struggle is eternal, for today’s struggle will be yesterday’s battle. The war lasts a lifetime. Yet, it’s not so heavy as all that, when the protagonists learn that they must trust to life’s good graces to keep evil at bay. They find the necessary strength within themselves to arm against the evil “Autumn People” of the world.

    Lastly, the elixir of life plot device, which Bradbury plays with in this story, is also refreshingly simple and yet a wonderfully unique take on this common trope. What dangerous consequences lie behind the glorious promises of a fountain of youth? Read and find out.

    A heartfelt tale through and through.

    Podcast: If you enjoy my review (or this topic) this book and the movie based on it were further discussed/debated in a lively discussion on my podcast: "No Deodorant In Outer Space". The podcast is available on iTunes or our website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    A

    Wonderful, wonderful fantasy by one of the grandest wordsmith and storyteller of recent time. Great to read aloud!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    repost this

    Kiss your hand 3 times repost this on 3difrentbooks then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Awesome book

    A movie was out in 1984 starring Jason Robards as Jim's dad. I never thought about reading the book until I got out of high school and I have read the book twicesince I have seen the movie. The movie is pretty good and stays close to the plot of the story. Both are worth a watch and a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Nancy

    One of the best horror books ever. The writing style can be aggrevating, but the story is original and brilliant. Any horror story with children as the main protaganists is almost always a hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Bradbury stories are all concerned with time and loss

    Are small mortality plays concerning good and evil what an imagination subtle will not scare the young reader but o henry endings often disturb the older reader some are essays more than story description without a definite end a character sketch curious not much of a poet it was all in his prose page counter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    i have never seen the movie, nor do i care too. the book is a ma

    i have never seen the movie, nor do i care too. the book is a master piece in and of its self. a story of 2 boys, one timid and fearful and the other strong willed and dangerously curious.both find themselves in a crazy mystery the must solve. A Bradbury classic and a must read for any Bradbury Fan!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    NYREADER

    I had to read tjos book for my advanxed english class, tje first book of tje yr. I hated it. It was slow and boring. The plot was nvrending and the charscters were bland. Most ppl on my class, or everyone in ,y class, would agree woth me, that this was the wordt book we read all year. Although ppl say it was hainting and creepy, i didnt gst that effect at all, i thought it was quite bland and tasteless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    i love this book

    i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A great read for both teens and adults!

    I read this as a child and loved it. I read it again almost 20 years later and still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    A beautiful book!

    Great fantasy! The first few chapters I thought it was just a series of poetic images, then it began to turn into a solid story. I met "Ray" once, and I was very pleased when he complemented me on a book I had written.
    Anyhow, this is a beautiful, poetic, always to be remembered book. Read it to your older kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Visit Cooger & Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show at your own risk

    When Cooger & Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show comes to town, Will Halloway and Jim Nightshade are drawn into a battle for their souls. Ray Bradbury's writing style sprinkled with half mad similes and metaphors turns a carnival into a place that breathes out wickedness and despair. There are a couple rambling philosophical sections that detract from the pace of the book, but this is one creepy page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Something Wicked This Way Comes

    Ray Bradbury's book is a look into the mind of two teenage boys as they fight an evil that has lingered for centuries. His imaginative way of using a circus as the source of the evil gives this book a bit of whimsy. To grab your attention Bradbury first starts off just telling you about the main characters Will and Jim. Later in the story the excitement kicks up as the boys are thrown into the crazy mix. Along their adventure they realize that friendship can trump over any obstacle. As Will's dad is brought into the story his loyalty to his son is questioned. His fathers life if is challenged and his sons. Will's father helps the boys through their wonder less adventures. From this book I gained a closer bond to my father and a greater insight into the books of Ray Bradbury. Time after time through thick and thin Will and Jim's friendship is questioned. As the chance to save them and kill the other occurs over and over they still stay friends. After countless near death ocations these two friends stick together. Even with addition of his father the friends stay at each others sides no matter what. As the Freaks of the circus follow the boys into town they since were to look. This book will keep you attention for a little while and then drop it. I personally did not like this book. There were to many twists and turns. Each and every section I read I felt as if any other book would keep my attention longer. To my surprise though toward the end of the book it seemed to get more interesting. Every day I had to read I wanted to stop I did not l9ke this book at all. Please take these thoughts into consideration.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    A pretty good read

    I thought the book was pretty good. In the beginning the book was a little confusing,but the book played it's self out. The books two main characters names are Jim and Will. A carnival comes late in the season but there is something wicked about it. The crazy illisutionist, Mr. Dark, has something wrong with him. He doesnt really seem normal. There is also the evil partner in crime, The Dust Witch. She is blind but senses thing like see can see. The novel has alot of twist and turns and keeps the reader very interested.I believe that Ray Bradury has made another novel that will last throughtout the ages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Probably my favorite Bradbury

    Might be my favorite Bradbury, but then again, there are so many other gems in the collection. First read it in my late teens, re-read it a few times over the years. The movie was great too, but they ruined the whole point of the book by changing the ending! If you liked the movie, read the book, and take your time to savoir.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9