Customer Reviews for

Something from the Nightside (Nightside Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Still not sure what I think about it

I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about...
I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about a third of the way through, then very nearly lost interest, and got back into in towards the end. I rated it so high because the concept is great, the main character is very good and his writing style I do like. Overall it was worth the price and a solid read for a long vacation trip. I will probably pick up the second book in the series and see if it holds me until the end.

Being a huge Jim Butcher\Harry Dresden fan, I will say if you liked the dresden file series then I would give this a shot. Overall the series definitely has promise.

posted by Mistb0rn on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster

Reading this book is like a bland meal that you do not particularly like but do not want to waste by throwing away. It seems a good third of the book is spent reiterating the fact of how dangerous and scary Nightside is, another third is spent reiterating how much a bad...
Reading this book is like a bland meal that you do not particularly like but do not want to waste by throwing away. It seems a good third of the book is spent reiterating the fact of how dangerous and scary Nightside is, another third is spent reiterating how much a badass the protaganist is and the last third is spent actually developing the story. While being an overall good concept the presentation leaves a lot to be desired, the characters have potential but are two dimensional. A lackluster experiance that i would not recommend unless it were a loaner.

posted by 9808945 on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still not sure what I think about it

    I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about a third of the way through, then very nearly lost interest, and got back into in towards the end. I rated it so high because the concept is great, the main character is very good and his writing style I do like. Overall it was worth the price and a solid read for a long vacation trip. I will probably pick up the second book in the series and see if it holds me until the end.

    Being a huge Jim Butcher\Harry Dresden fan, I will say if you liked the dresden file series then I would give this a shot. Overall the series definitely has promise.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Lackluster

    Reading this book is like a bland meal that you do not particularly like but do not want to waste by throwing away. It seems a good third of the book is spent reiterating the fact of how dangerous and scary Nightside is, another third is spent reiterating how much a badass the protaganist is and the last third is spent actually developing the story. While being an overall good concept the presentation leaves a lot to be desired, the characters have potential but are two dimensional. A lackluster experiance that i would not recommend unless it were a loaner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Not a Bad Read

    Interesting premise.
    I didn't find the main character terribly interesting.

    After reading the book,I didn't really care what happens next to him or his compatriots.

    I think the author should take some hints from Jim Butcher's Dresden character. Create a memorable personality.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Paced But I Don't Want It To End!

    After reading the Dresden Files a few years back, I wanted to get into a more hard boiled science fiction genre. Green was just what I needed! It was so action packed and the story was always moving. John Taylor goes back to the nightside, a place where monsters exist, cars eat people, and gods walk among men. This is a great series for anyone who wants a fast paced read with amazing originality!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Something Different

    This story gets off on the right foot with great characters and a strange new world that isn't unique to the fantasy readers, but does have some fun differences. Up until about halfway through the book i was seriously enjoying the book but then the story begins to unravel and by the end i found myself quite disappointed. Not a book to put at the top of you reading list but maybe something you may want to give a shot later on down the road.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    I decided I liked this book at about the second paragraph. That's unusual for me -- I expect to like a book before too long, but typically it's more toward the second or third chapter that I make the decision.

    I didn't like everything about the book. At 139 pages on my Nook, the book is a little short, more of a novella than a novel. The main character, John Taylor, is interesting but we don't really find out very much about him. In fact, we find out more about the characters Razor Eddie and Walker than we do about John. I assume this was a conscious decision on Mr. Green's part in order to motivate readers to pick up the next novel. If so, it was certainly effective, as I will probably read the next several. But at the same time, I would have liked to get a little more idea of who the main character is, and why he's so important to Nightside. While we're on the topic, Green introduces a truly dizzying number of groups in this novel, and explains almost nothing about any of them. That's probably understandable, as the action begins pretty much with the first page and continues until end.

    For all of that, it's still a very enjoyable read. It seems to take the idea that "getting there is half the fun" to heart. We don't find out very much about John or the Nightside, but we have a lot of fun in the process.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Must have Urban Fantasy

    Outstanding blend of the hard boiled dectective with the Twilight Zone. Simon Green's John Taylor is a likeable hero forced back into the secret heart of London - the Nightside - to find a runaway teen. Amazing characters and few really good plot twists make this a must have for fans of urban fantasy. Enough hints are dropped to let the reader know that a series is born!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    ?m..mlkjkgygtgfghh

    Hmuopol...
    +h

    Qj wrrv
    Bnfgdltjl,jgtllk
    L .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good Read!!

    I read the previous reviews, so maybe subconscientiously I was expecting the repeated use of "in the Nightside", but I really didn't notice it. I felt like I was really rolling the dice when I bought this due to the flavor of the reviews...Don't miss out on this one! It's fast-paced and exciting. It takes off right at the beginning and doesn't let up. Action and adventure. An easy reading style of writing. Loved it! Fans of the Sci-Fi and Fantasy genre will NOT be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Good first effort !

    John Taylor, the reluctant hero, Suzie Shooter, the emotionally ravaged heroine....fighting together against the dark at the heart of the world. Awesome !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Wow! This book is terrible! I gave it my best shot, but in th

    Wow! This book is terrible!

    I gave it my best shot, but in the end I just couldn't take. The previous reviews aren't exaggerating - the reader must endure "in the Nightside" over and over and over...

    I'd rather sit through a Teletubbies marathon than read one more page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Good read

    Fast paced short read. worth checking out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    ...in the Nightside. Ugghhh!

    If I had to read "....in the Nightside" one more time......ARRGGHHHHH!!! I get it, I get it...so and so happens because, you know, you're in the Nightside. On every other page, at least! The only reason I read the entire book was in the hopes that something would turn out to be interesting or wild or suspenseful or shocking or...anything. Very disappointed for wasting my time and money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    overall fun, though it tries to shoehorn too much in

    Simon R. Green's first book in the Nightside series, Something from the Nightside, introduces us to a decadent and wild seamy underside of London where predators stroll openly with prey, where everything is for sale, and where even the taxis have teeth. Green's boundless inventiveness is on display here, though being a first novel in such a sprawling environment, there's an element of trying to shoehorn too many things in right away. But it's fast and fun and sets up things for the better following books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Totally Awesome!

    I absolutly love this book the plot is stellar and sometimes literally out of this dimensin. If someones is looking for a diffrent but riveting book read this now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Interesting spin...

    I was introduced to this series by a buddy. Pretty great series.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    recommend

    Surprisingly awesome. Mr. Green takes you to a shadow world where anything is possible and ties it all up in the end with an open ending. I look forward to reading more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Fun and intriguing.

    Very tongue in cheek take on the occult. I've read the series and enjoyed the twists. Was hooked on this first in the series. The series has a similarity to the Dresden Files but is it's own entity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Awful

    I listened to the audio version of this book. I spent so much time rolling my eyes I couldn't listen to it in the car and drive safely. Quite possibly the worst dialogue ever written. Couldn't finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing and totally exciting read!

    I haven't been this excited about a story in a long time! I was totally drawn in and glad I had a guide to this strange new place called The Nightside! You never know who or what you'll meet around the corner or in the local pub in this strange new place and just when you think you've got it all figured out there's a new twist! I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10