Customer Reviews for

Something from the Nightside (Nightside Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Still not sure what I think about it

I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about...
I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about a third of the way through, then very nearly lost interest, and got back into in towards the end. I rated it so high because the concept is great, the main character is very good and his writing style I do like. Overall it was worth the price and a solid read for a long vacation trip. I will probably pick up the second book in the series and see if it holds me until the end.

Being a huge Jim Butcher\Harry Dresden fan, I will say if you liked the dresden file series then I would give this a shot. Overall the series definitely has promise.

posted by Mistb0rn on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster

Reading this book is like a bland meal that you do not particularly like but do not want to waste by throwing away. It seems a good third of the book is spent reiterating the fact of how dangerous and scary Nightside is, another third is spent reiterating how much a bad...
Reading this book is like a bland meal that you do not particularly like but do not want to waste by throwing away. It seems a good third of the book is spent reiterating the fact of how dangerous and scary Nightside is, another third is spent reiterating how much a badass the protaganist is and the last third is spent actually developing the story. While being an overall good concept the presentation leaves a lot to be desired, the characters have potential but are two dimensional. A lackluster experiance that i would not recommend unless it were a loaner.

posted by 9808945 on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still not sure what I think about it

    I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about a third of the way through, then very nearly lost interest, and got back into in towards the end. I rated it so high because the concept is great, the main character is very good and his writing style I do like. Overall it was worth the price and a solid read for a long vacation trip. I will probably pick up the second book in the series and see if it holds me until the end.

    Being a huge Jim Butcher\Harry Dresden fan, I will say if you liked the dresden file series then I would give this a shot. Overall the series definitely has promise.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    I decided I liked this book at about the second paragraph. That's unusual for me -- I expect to like a book before too long, but typically it's more toward the second or third chapter that I make the decision.

    I didn't like everything about the book. At 139 pages on my Nook, the book is a little short, more of a novella than a novel. The main character, John Taylor, is interesting but we don't really find out very much about him. In fact, we find out more about the characters Razor Eddie and Walker than we do about John. I assume this was a conscious decision on Mr. Green's part in order to motivate readers to pick up the next novel. If so, it was certainly effective, as I will probably read the next several. But at the same time, I would have liked to get a little more idea of who the main character is, and why he's so important to Nightside. While we're on the topic, Green introduces a truly dizzying number of groups in this novel, and explains almost nothing about any of them. That's probably understandable, as the action begins pretty much with the first page and continues until end.

    For all of that, it's still a very enjoyable read. It seems to take the idea that "getting there is half the fun" to heart. We don't find out very much about John or the Nightside, but we have a lot of fun in the process.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Good first effort !

    John Taylor, the reluctant hero, Suzie Shooter, the emotionally ravaged heroine....fighting together against the dark at the heart of the world. Awesome !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Good read

    Fast paced short read. worth checking out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Interesting spin...

    I was introduced to this series by a buddy. Pretty great series.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    A Must Read

    What an imagination Simon Green has! Doors to supernatural part's of London right under everyones nose. A ghost Resturant where time around you stops and a detective that really cares about his clients and has a 'special' gift that helps him find anyone. I can't wait to read the next one. I'm so glad I stumbled across this in the Bookstore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    They only get better...

    What a great series this is. From the quirky characters to the dry 'just the facts' narration, everything about this book is fun. What else can you say about a place where it's always 3am and nothing is as it seems? John Taylor is fascinating and I hope to enjoy his adventures for a long time. I predict that the reader will want to drink up the series. Cheers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Hellblazer Meets Sam Spade

    I had a difficult time at first getting used to the noir-speak of the book but once I did I was hooked! Definitely seems to be some John Constantine [Hellblazer Comics] in there but slightly skewed giving this John [Taylor] his own distinctive style. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Simon R Green shows the dark side of life in a new light!!!

    Simon R Green brings us to a world where the unexpecied is common...where the extraordinary happens every day. Where life and death are often inseprable. To a world where even the good guys are bad. This is a solid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3