Customer Reviews for

Something from the Nightside (Nightside Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Still not sure what I think about it

I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about...
I had no preconceptions for this book when I picked it up. I just happened across it at a local book store, read the back, thought it sounded interesting and bought it. While reading it, I had a similar experience that a previous reviewer had. I was really into it about a third of the way through, then very nearly lost interest, and got back into in towards the end. I rated it so high because the concept is great, the main character is very good and his writing style I do like. Overall it was worth the price and a solid read for a long vacation trip. I will probably pick up the second book in the series and see if it holds me until the end.

Being a huge Jim Butcher\Harry Dresden fan, I will say if you liked the dresden file series then I would give this a shot. Overall the series definitely has promise.

posted by Mistb0rn on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster

Reading this book is like a bland meal that you do not particularly like but do not want to waste by throwing away. It seems a good third of the book is spent reiterating the fact of how dangerous and scary Nightside is, another third is spent reiterating how much a bad...
Reading this book is like a bland meal that you do not particularly like but do not want to waste by throwing away. It seems a good third of the book is spent reiterating the fact of how dangerous and scary Nightside is, another third is spent reiterating how much a badass the protaganist is and the last third is spent actually developing the story. While being an overall good concept the presentation leaves a lot to be desired, the characters have potential but are two dimensional. A lackluster experiance that i would not recommend unless it were a loaner.

posted by 9808945 on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Paced But I Don't Want It To End!

    After reading the Dresden Files a few years back, I wanted to get into a more hard boiled science fiction genre. Green was just what I needed! It was so action packed and the story was always moving. John Taylor goes back to the nightside, a place where monsters exist, cars eat people, and gods walk among men. This is a great series for anyone who wants a fast paced read with amazing originality!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Must have Urban Fantasy

    Outstanding blend of the hard boiled dectective with the Twilight Zone. Simon Green's John Taylor is a likeable hero forced back into the secret heart of London - the Nightside - to find a runaway teen. Amazing characters and few really good plot twists make this a must have for fans of urban fantasy. Enough hints are dropped to let the reader know that a series is born!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good Read!!

    I read the previous reviews, so maybe subconscientiously I was expecting the repeated use of "in the Nightside", but I really didn't notice it. I felt like I was really rolling the dice when I bought this due to the flavor of the reviews...Don't miss out on this one! It's fast-paced and exciting. It takes off right at the beginning and doesn't let up. Action and adventure. An easy reading style of writing. Loved it! Fans of the Sci-Fi and Fantasy genre will NOT be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    overall fun, though it tries to shoehorn too much in

    Simon R. Green's first book in the Nightside series, Something from the Nightside, introduces us to a decadent and wild seamy underside of London where predators stroll openly with prey, where everything is for sale, and where even the taxis have teeth. Green's boundless inventiveness is on display here, though being a first novel in such a sprawling environment, there's an element of trying to shoehorn too many things in right away. But it's fast and fun and sets up things for the better following books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Totally Awesome!

    I absolutly love this book the plot is stellar and sometimes literally out of this dimensin. If someones is looking for a diffrent but riveting book read this now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    recommend

    Surprisingly awesome. Mr. Green takes you to a shadow world where anything is possible and ties it all up in the end with an open ending. I look forward to reading more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Fun and intriguing.

    Very tongue in cheek take on the occult. I've read the series and enjoyed the twists. Was hooked on this first in the series. The series has a similarity to the Dresden Files but is it's own entity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing and totally exciting read!

    I haven't been this excited about a story in a long time! I was totally drawn in and glad I had a guide to this strange new place called The Nightside! You never know who or what you'll meet around the corner or in the local pub in this strange new place and just when you think you've got it all figured out there's a new twist! I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightside Addiction

    I had thought they broke the mold with Jim Butcher, but Simon R. Greene is also very addicting...his nightside series keeps you wanting to turn the pages for more. I don't know what it is about British P.I.'s but they seem to have the most interesting lives lol! Great Story, you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Very good series

    I've read all of the books in the series so far, and every one of them is good. The writing style is entertaining, the setting is fun, exciting and unique, and the characters are believable and as entertaining as the rest of the story. I'd recommend this, as well as the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Something unexpected...

    I picked up this book on a recent trip to the library. I read it in 4 days, this wouldn't seem like a great achievement becuase the book is so short but it could take me a month to read a 30 page book if I'm not interested. It kept me from start to finish. The characters are abscure and unforgettable. I can't believe I didn't read this series sooner. If you enjoy sci-fi or a good mystery this series is right up your alley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Fairy tales meets the dark shadows of London, and lovin it.

    I totally love this book and if you love vampires, monsters, time travel, and magic, READ THIS! It's fast, creative, but still has a twist you can follow easily. I tend not to read much, but these are MUST HAVE books on my shelfs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    Green is a Terrific Writer and I'm hooked on the Nightside Books thou I'm not really into alternate realities. I would recommend Nightside for anyone looking for something different and well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    love this book!

    its got to be the best escape for some intense stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    The Best Book I've Read In a Long Time

    Simon R Green is a master. Within the first 20 pages his melancholy voice and his slightly disturbing image of the nightside had me addicted. His supernatural subjects remind me of Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire Mysteries and Laurell K Hamilton's Anita Blake without the sexual sidetracks. There is just so much tension and mystery in these books and just enough sexual tension to let you know John Taylor has a pulse. Wit prevails in this book which is hard to come by in many supernatural novels these days. The Nightside brings to mind slightly disturbing yet humorous imagry with just a hint of the old noir films. Its upbeat aserbic wit and modern Sin City style keeps my head spinning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Simon Green is amazing. His books grab your attention and have quickly become my favorite series. I love John Taylor! I don't like how he milks his bad reputation it is almost like he is hiding behind it to protect himself from actually doing something. But his attitude was amazing! ANYONE could enjoy this series!! READ IT YOU WILL LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating little gem

    It¿s a place where the sun doesn¿t shine, a locale where past, present and future converge at times. It is where one¿ darkest dreams and desires are met, a place not of this earth but connected to it so that people travel to and from it. John Taylor lived his entire life in the Nightside, abandoned by his father when he discovered the woman he married wasn¿t human. John has a gift of being able to locate anyone anywhere and he used that extra sense to help people.<P> He finally got sick of lies, betrayals and mistrust of those who would turn from friend to foe in the blink of an eye. He left the Darkside and set up shop as a private detective in mundane London and for five years etched out a living, safe and secure. One day Joanna Barrett comes to his office asking for help in locating her runaway daughter in the Darkside. Unable to refuse a damsel in distress, John travels to the Darkside, a place he¿s secretly happy to have a reason to return to because it is home and so very much alive.<P> Cross the X files with The Twilight Zone, add a pinch of The Outer Limits and a dash of Eerie, Indiana and one might have a glimmer of an idea what the Darkside is like. Simon R. Green has written this fascinating little gem that makes people want to walk on the wild and visit his extraordinary world. For though it is the focus of darkness, the Nightside has packets of goodness, which means that those who want to can defeat evil anywhere.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5