Customer Reviews for

Sometimes It Happens

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was great but in the review it said her boyfriends name was ryan but in the book its sebastion

posted by 9627923 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

review taken from One Book At A Time

One little events can change your life as well as the readers opinion on the whole situation. Such was the case with this story. Yeah...the description is misleading a little.

I liked Hannah. I even felt sorry for her. Ava was a total bi#%h. It's no wonder that ...
One little events can change your life as well as the readers opinion on the whole situation. Such was the case with this story. Yeah...the description is misleading a little.

I liked Hannah. I even felt sorry for her. Ava was a total bi#%h. It's no wonder that Hannah has no friends outside of her. I sure wouldn't want to hang out with her. So when Ava all of sudden decides to take a job as a camp counselor, Hannah has no idea who to turn. Ava, being the generous person that she is, had Noah check up on her. Why, I can never really figure out. I liked that Hannah makes new friends and step outside of her comfort zone. I really loved that she finally decided to see that maybe Ava wasn't the best person to be friends with.

I really like Noah as well. He's funny, sweet, and seems to be able to bring Hannah out of her funk. What I don't see is what he ever saw in Ava. I like the dynamics of his relationship with Hannah. You can tell he's trying to step away from what he's feeling. And it's not that Hannah is always trying to put herself in front of him. He's trying to do the right thing.

I also enjoyed Lexie. She's just the person that Hannah needed to become friends with. I found it interesting that she's dated the same person as Ava, but we don't know much about her until they become friends. What's obvious is Lexie and Ava's mutual dislike of each other. Feels like there's more of a story there.

I actually was really enjoying this book until we learn what happened that night. I could have a forgiven a kiss. It wouldn't be the first time a girl likes her best friends boyfriend. But, I never pegged Hannah as the type to sleep with him. I don't buy the whole excuse "sometimes it happens." Because, that's one of those lines that shouldn't be crossed (even if your BFF is the type of person that Ava is). Plus, it felt so rushed and lacked the romance, even if they really do really care about each other. In real life, the best friend isn't really likely to forgive. And the labels that would come along with that make it even less likely that the guy is going to stick around (because you know the whole school is going to learn of this).

posted by pagese on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    One little events can change your life as well as the readers opinion on the whole situation. Such was the case with this story. Yeah...the description is misleading a little.

    I liked Hannah. I even felt sorry for her. Ava was a total bi#%h. It's no wonder that Hannah has no friends outside of her. I sure wouldn't want to hang out with her. So when Ava all of sudden decides to take a job as a camp counselor, Hannah has no idea who to turn. Ava, being the generous person that she is, had Noah check up on her. Why, I can never really figure out. I liked that Hannah makes new friends and step outside of her comfort zone. I really loved that she finally decided to see that maybe Ava wasn't the best person to be friends with.

    I really like Noah as well. He's funny, sweet, and seems to be able to bring Hannah out of her funk. What I don't see is what he ever saw in Ava. I like the dynamics of his relationship with Hannah. You can tell he's trying to step away from what he's feeling. And it's not that Hannah is always trying to put herself in front of him. He's trying to do the right thing.

    I also enjoyed Lexie. She's just the person that Hannah needed to become friends with. I found it interesting that she's dated the same person as Ava, but we don't know much about her until they become friends. What's obvious is Lexie and Ava's mutual dislike of each other. Feels like there's more of a story there.

    I actually was really enjoying this book until we learn what happened that night. I could have a forgiven a kiss. It wouldn't be the first time a girl likes her best friends boyfriend. But, I never pegged Hannah as the type to sleep with him. I don't buy the whole excuse "sometimes it happens." Because, that's one of those lines that shouldn't be crossed (even if your BFF is the type of person that Ava is). Plus, it felt so rushed and lacked the romance, even if they really do really care about each other. In real life, the best friend isn't really likely to forgive. And the labels that would come along with that make it even less likely that the guy is going to stick around (because you know the whole school is going to learn of this).

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Awesome

    This book was great but in the review it said her boyfriends name was ryan but in the book its sebastion

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    So...

    Good. One of the best books I have ever read!! Read it!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I really did enjoy this book, I was at Barnes and Noble with a f

    I really did enjoy this book, I was at Barnes and Noble with a friend and I happened to stumble upon it. I think the story was well-written and had me thinking more questions. Such as, I always wondered if Ava lied about the "tall boy" in the supermarket and If Ava and Hannah ever moved past what happened. I led my imagination to believe that Ava and Hannah would be at peace but never be close friends, but I also let myself believe that Noah and her stayed together. I always imagined that it would be about 4 months later and Noah and Hannah are in the hallway together and they see Ava with her new group of friends and Hannah stops Noah and smiled at Ava and she smiles back as if everything was okay between them but they need a bunch of time apart but that is only my imagination. I also don't blame what happened fully on Hannah and Noah, I blamed some of it on Ava because she left her best friend heart broken with a sweet guy, that's just asking for a disaster.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Okay

    This book was pretty good. It was serious and intresting. But i hate hannah and noah 4 wat they did to ava, they were really mean and overall i never liked them. Buy it tho, its a really good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    I loved the book! This is my favorite book by this author, I rec

    I loved the book! This is my favorite book by this author, I recomended this to all my friends however I bought this book for the nook color and I only had 213 pages out of 320 that was said for it to have. Is this how many pages i'm supposed to have? Did anyone else have this problem? But other than that problem I absolutley loved this book! Thumbs Up.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book. Throughout the book it goes back and forth from the first day of school and the last summer. This made it a little confusing and hard to rrmember certain details but overall it was great

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes it Happens...

    Sometimes it Happens is a quick, interesting read by author Lauren Barnholdt. This is my first novel by this author, but I will definitely be back for more.

    Most of the characters in this book were pretty likable. I liked the main character, Hannah. She was just your all around average girl, not popular, but not unpopular either. It was really nice just having her be average. She definitely acted like a teen, and at some points made weird decisions, but I found the character to be pretty believable. I did not care for her best friend, Ava. She¿s definitely the type of person that I would have avoided in school. Noah, Ava¿s boyfriend, was definitely swoon-worthy. Lacey, their co-worker, is great. She¿s definitely the kind of friend any girl would want to have.

    The book is quick paced; I had it finished in no time. The writing style was simple, and easy to follow. The plot is believable. I thought Ms. Barnholdt did a great job of showing that yes, although it¿s cheating, sometimes it can happen.

    Overall, this was a pretty enjoyable read for me. I¿m really looking forward to reading more of Ms. Barnholdts books now.

    Happy Reading!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    THIS THING SUCKED!!!!!!!

    This book is depressing beyond belif,l wish i hadnt bought it dont waste your money.Everyone either cheated or got cheated on!Go buy a book that is happy noy sad please.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Way to confussing

    I did not like the way the book jumped aroind. Very hard to follow, boring ending leaving the characters story unfinished. If there is a second book i would not read even if its free. Wish i could get my money back.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Same

    This book is very simialar (almost the same!) to somethin g like fate! Maybe someone ripped offsomeone else????? Idk but i do recommend them they are full of drama suspence and romance! Even though i havent read this one. Excuse the rating! :)


    -Hello kitty lover :D

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book moved too slowly for me. By the end of the first chapt

    This book moved too slowly for me. By the end of the first chapter, I knew basically what was going on and what was going to happen, but I thought there might be a twist. There kinda was, but it wasn't really worth reading the rest of the book to find it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Is it worth it?

    Is this book really worth ten dollars?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Best book evveeer! I love lauren barnholdt to the max.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Too familiar

    Way too much like "Something Like Fate"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Wonderful

    This was a great book just couldnt down and i dont usually read at all!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    highly Recommended

    this book was great...i love how the author would make one chapter of senior high school and another chapter of her summer....this book is great to read!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    NO THANKS

    The sample had to many sware words

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Duh

    Her ex is not named ryen and it was really slooooow sooo dont buy it!!!!!!! Read way better books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Really good!

    Good but i hated the ending, and how the mains character said "like, for real" about 3328464829 times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6