Customer Reviews for

Sometimes It Happens

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

This book was great but in the review it said her boyfriends name was ryan but in the book its sebastion

posted by 9627923 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

review taken from One Book At A Time

One little events can change your life as well as the readers opinion on the whole situation. Such was the case with this story. Yeah...the description is misleading a little.

I liked Hannah. I even felt sorry for her. Ava was a total bi#%h. It's no wonder that ...
One little events can change your life as well as the readers opinion on the whole situation. Such was the case with this story. Yeah...the description is misleading a little.

I liked Hannah. I even felt sorry for her. Ava was a total bi#%h. It's no wonder that Hannah has no friends outside of her. I sure wouldn't want to hang out with her. So when Ava all of sudden decides to take a job as a camp counselor, Hannah has no idea who to turn. Ava, being the generous person that she is, had Noah check up on her. Why, I can never really figure out. I liked that Hannah makes new friends and step outside of her comfort zone. I really loved that she finally decided to see that maybe Ava wasn't the best person to be friends with.

I really like Noah as well. He's funny, sweet, and seems to be able to bring Hannah out of her funk. What I don't see is what he ever saw in Ava. I like the dynamics of his relationship with Hannah. You can tell he's trying to step away from what he's feeling. And it's not that Hannah is always trying to put herself in front of him. He's trying to do the right thing.

I also enjoyed Lexie. She's just the person that Hannah needed to become friends with. I found it interesting that she's dated the same person as Ava, but we don't know much about her until they become friends. What's obvious is Lexie and Ava's mutual dislike of each other. Feels like there's more of a story there.

I actually was really enjoying this book until we learn what happened that night. I could have a forgiven a kiss. It wouldn't be the first time a girl likes her best friends boyfriend. But, I never pegged Hannah as the type to sleep with him. I don't buy the whole excuse "sometimes it happens." Because, that's one of those lines that shouldn't be crossed (even if your BFF is the type of person that Ava is). Plus, it felt so rushed and lacked the romance, even if they really do really care about each other. In real life, the best friend isn't really likely to forgive. And the labels that would come along with that make it even less likely that the guy is going to stick around (because you know the whole school is going to learn of this).

posted by pagese on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    One little events can change your life as well as the readers opinion on the whole situation. Such was the case with this story. Yeah...the description is misleading a little.

    I liked Hannah. I even felt sorry for her. Ava was a total bi#%h. It's no wonder that Hannah has no friends outside of her. I sure wouldn't want to hang out with her. So when Ava all of sudden decides to take a job as a camp counselor, Hannah has no idea who to turn. Ava, being the generous person that she is, had Noah check up on her. Why, I can never really figure out. I liked that Hannah makes new friends and step outside of her comfort zone. I really loved that she finally decided to see that maybe Ava wasn't the best person to be friends with.

    I really like Noah as well. He's funny, sweet, and seems to be able to bring Hannah out of her funk. What I don't see is what he ever saw in Ava. I like the dynamics of his relationship with Hannah. You can tell he's trying to step away from what he's feeling. And it's not that Hannah is always trying to put herself in front of him. He's trying to do the right thing.

    I also enjoyed Lexie. She's just the person that Hannah needed to become friends with. I found it interesting that she's dated the same person as Ava, but we don't know much about her until they become friends. What's obvious is Lexie and Ava's mutual dislike of each other. Feels like there's more of a story there.

    I actually was really enjoying this book until we learn what happened that night. I could have a forgiven a kiss. It wouldn't be the first time a girl likes her best friends boyfriend. But, I never pegged Hannah as the type to sleep with him. I don't buy the whole excuse "sometimes it happens." Because, that's one of those lines that shouldn't be crossed (even if your BFF is the type of person that Ava is). Plus, it felt so rushed and lacked the romance, even if they really do really care about each other. In real life, the best friend isn't really likely to forgive. And the labels that would come along with that make it even less likely that the guy is going to stick around (because you know the whole school is going to learn of this).

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes it Happens...

    Sometimes it Happens is a quick, interesting read by author Lauren Barnholdt. This is my first novel by this author, but I will definitely be back for more.

    Most of the characters in this book were pretty likable. I liked the main character, Hannah. She was just your all around average girl, not popular, but not unpopular either. It was really nice just having her be average. She definitely acted like a teen, and at some points made weird decisions, but I found the character to be pretty believable. I did not care for her best friend, Ava. She¿s definitely the type of person that I would have avoided in school. Noah, Ava¿s boyfriend, was definitely swoon-worthy. Lacey, their co-worker, is great. She¿s definitely the kind of friend any girl would want to have.

    The book is quick paced; I had it finished in no time. The writing style was simple, and easy to follow. The plot is believable. I thought Ms. Barnholdt did a great job of showing that yes, although it¿s cheating, sometimes it can happen.

    Overall, this was a pretty enjoyable read for me. I¿m really looking forward to reading more of Ms. Barnholdts books now.

    Happy Reading!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Same

    This book is very simialar (almost the same!) to somethin g like fate! Maybe someone ripped offsomeone else????? Idk but i do recommend them they are full of drama suspence and romance! Even though i havent read this one. Excuse the rating! :)


    -Hello kitty lover :D

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book moved too slowly for me. By the end of the first chapt

    This book moved too slowly for me. By the end of the first chapter, I knew basically what was going on and what was going to happen, but I thought there might be a twist. There kinda was, but it wasn't really worth reading the rest of the book to find it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Really good!

    Good but i hated the ending, and how the mains character said "like, for real" about 3328464829 times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I read this book and its actually pretty good. You wont be able

    I read this book and its actually pretty good. You wont be able to rip yourself away from this book. Its about a girl and he bestie and her bestie has a boyfriend and when the bestie leaves for Maine the besties friend hooks up with her besties boyfriend. But in the end everything turns out okay. The writing in here is amazing... You will read deep in depth. Its pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    ?

    Can someone plz tell me how many pages it is i need 2 no 4 school

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1