BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Somewhere in France: A Novel of the Great War

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This novel interested me because it is about a time period I am

This novel interested me because it is about a time period I am very interested in. I appreciated the different viewpoint that this novel had to offer than others who write about WWI. This author chose to write about the females who participated in the war, not somethin...
This novel interested me because it is about a time period I am very interested in. I appreciated the different viewpoint that this novel had to offer than others who write about WWI. This author chose to write about the females who participated in the war, not something that is often talked about. The bravery of the female ambulance drivers is amazing. Robson does a wonderful job painting a picture of a very unglamorous position in the war. It was nice that the characters with removed from their gilded cages and into the war. An heiress who seemingly has it all is the main character. She shows that women wanted more than sitting around, looking pretty, and searching out the best bred man to marry. Lilly is the main character, and her brother Edward is similar in that he is out to prove he is capable of more than a desk job that he easily could have settled in to given his station in life. Though the novel covers complicated territory, it is somewhat simplistic and rather predictable. Some may complain about that aspect, but I found it comforting. I liked all the characters, and couldn't put the novel down. Since the book was somewhat predictable and simplistic, I wanted a book 2 right away. I wanted to see how life would carry on once this tragic war ended. Overall, I would recommend this novel to historical fiction audiences.

posted by AngieJG on January 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoiler

Please bn, can you do something to the plot spoiler heart2heart. She constantly reveals every detail of the book, sometimes including the ending of the story. There is absolutely no reason to reveal this much detail in a review. A few lines is all thats needed to tell i...
Please bn, can you do something to the plot spoiler heart2heart. She constantly reveals every detail of the book, sometimes including the ending of the story. There is absolutely no reason to reveal this much detail in a review. A few lines is all thats needed to tell if a book is good or not, yet this plot spoiler consistently goes into minute detail about the entire story line. Please do something to her, ban her or something. She is getting as bad as harriet klausner.

posted by 8888649 on February 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    This novel interested me because it is about a time period I am

    This novel interested me because it is about a time period I am very interested in. I appreciated the different viewpoint that this novel had to offer than others who write about WWI. This author chose to write about the females who participated in the war, not something that is often talked about. The bravery of the female ambulance drivers is amazing. Robson does a wonderful job painting a picture of a very unglamorous position in the war. It was nice that the characters with removed from their gilded cages and into the war. An heiress who seemingly has it all is the main character. She shows that women wanted more than sitting around, looking pretty, and searching out the best bred man to marry. Lilly is the main character, and her brother Edward is similar in that he is out to prove he is capable of more than a desk job that he easily could have settled in to given his station in life. Though the novel covers complicated territory, it is somewhat simplistic and rather predictable. Some may complain about that aspect, but I found it comforting. I liked all the characters, and couldn't put the novel down. Since the book was somewhat predictable and simplistic, I wanted a book 2 right away. I wanted to see how life would carry on once this tragic war ended. Overall, I would recommend this novel to historical fiction audiences.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Elizabeth Ashford wants to know what it feels like to fall

    Lady Elizabeth Ashford wants to know what it feels like to fall in love. Tired of all the boring and stuffy suitors her mother finds suitable for her, she withdraws into the comfort of her brother's Edwards childhood friend, Robert Fraser. On the night of the ball she finds that after seven years of being away from one another and the games they spend time playing, they have both grown up quite a bit. She finds Robert charming and handsome but knows that her aristocratic parents will never let her marry a surgeon. They want her to marry and have children, but Lilly wants more out of life. She wants to travel and marry for love and not for money. She thinks Robert might just be the person she could fall in love with, if only her mother didn't intervene.

    She learns after an unexpected quick departure that her mother had told Robert to forget setting his sights on Lilly. She was engaged to be married and they were only stalling on the announcement while waiting for the celebration of her brother Edward's wedding to die down. Her only ally is her brother Edward who truly wants to very best for his sister. However soon the war rears its ugly head and the men are thrust into battle in France during the Great War. Believing it will be over sooner than later, Edward takes up corresponding with his sister encouraging her to join in the effort to help. Knowing the campaigning for supplies to ship out is something more suited to her mother, she finds solace in learning to drive cars from one of the men in her families employ.

    Yet once again Lilly is called out for her inappropriate behavior, first in corresponding with Edward and later Robert but in also taking up driving a car. Not the type of behavior for any lady. So Lilly does the unthinkable and moves out of her families home and influence and moves in with Charlotte Brown, a women who has tutored her as a young woman and now serves in the war helping out. She encourages Lilly to find something admirable to do. She moves to London and takes a newly formed position as an ambulance driver for the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps or WAAC's since they need more men on the frontlines and she does know how to drive.

    Soon love grows between her and Robert as they continue to correspond during the war and they find that just the simple letters are enough for them to get to know one another. Robert continues as a surgeon in the war now and tries as best as he can to reassure Lilly that the war will be over soon and even that her brother Edward faces no harm considering his deployment status as a Lord. However soon the war continues longer than expected and Lilly wants to know if there is hope with Robert and gets assigned as an Ambulance driver for the 51st, the same division that Robert works as a surgeon in. But all is not fair in love and war and it will take a miracle for Lilly and Robert to survive.

    I received Somewhere in France by Jennifer Robson compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. The love story and historical background are amazing and so beautifully put together. It reminded me of Downton Abbey a bit when the war entered the series and the youngest daughter left to be a nurse and learned to drive a car. In both instances the family believed the influence of the driver was at fault and had them dismissed. There are a few instances of profanity as Lilly encounters the military leaders who aren't used to having a female in the war but that is to be expected. There is the portion of the novel when Lilly and Robert meet at a hotel and end up making love with neither of them married. It may offend some readers and that is why I feel I should caution readers about the content. It was something that happened quite a bit during the war when people who fell in love didn't expect to see one another again. With that being said, I easily give this one a 4 out of 5 stars and can't wait to read more from Jennifer Robson in the future. Historical romance fans will definitely LOVE this one.

    7 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A sweet love st

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A sweet love story that takes place during war and through a few countries with the two lovers from different "cultures," and how to overcome all of these very large obstacles!  Lady Ashford wants to see what is beyond her upbringing and leaves her cozy family home to help in the war effort while her brother's best friend came from nothing and has become a respected surgeon, but wants to help in his own way with the war effort as well.  Their paths cross a few times, but will it end positively?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Thought this was going to be another "Downton wannabe"

    Thought this was going to be another "Downton wannabe" but was pleasantly surprised it was not. At times the plot dragged a little, but overall it was very good. After finishing it several days ago I find myself still thinking about it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    Wonderful historical novel

    I loved this book. Great love story set in the battlefields of WWI. If you are a fan of Downton Abbey this young lady will remind you of Lady Sybil, spunky and trying to be her own person in an era where that was nearly impossible for a woman of her class. Not as graphic in the war scenes as others I have read, but can be a little grizzly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Overall the book was a great read. There could have been a bit more depth between Robbie and Lily hence the four stars. However, one has to respect how the love story does develop and doesn't get weighted down by prolonged recriminations. I particularly enjoyed the depiction of the war and the reality of it for the characters. Definitely looking forward for the next book about Charlotte and Edward!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Anon

    Good book! Enjoyed the historical elements, as well as the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Highly recommend for those who enjoy historical novels

    In the process of reading

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1