Customer Reviews for

Somewhere in Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    SIMPLY FANTASTIC

    This is, by far, one my most favorite of stories. The "true love" of soul mates joined and separated by the lending hand of fate. Richard Matheson is an excellent writer. This story derives straight from the heart and is volleyed back at yours with a clearity that takes you deep into the soul of his characters. The birth of this beautiful story is, in my opinion, the offspring of nearly every time travel, paranormal, romance story available today. If you haven't already, read the book. The movie verision hardly does it justice. I highly recommend this enchanting, and yet sad book to anyon

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The possibilities are endless...

    Richard Collier is a 36-year old writer with a terminal brain tumor who falls in love with a beautiful actress, Elise McKenna. But there's one big problem. She's dead. She lived many years ago in another time. But that doesn't stop Richard who figures out a way to travel back in time and win her heart.<BR/>Somewhere in Time is an entertaining time travel/romance novel. It's at times, both, humorous and tragic. The only problem with the novel might be where it spends a bit too much time getting to the point where Richard travels back in time. In some ways this helps the novel because Richard uses mental will power to move through time and so the first part of the novel shows us how obsessed Richard becomes and lends believability to the story. The understated humor as Richard adapts to 1896 and in his encounters with Elise and her mother and Mr. Robinson (her manager) are well done. And Matheson has done an excellent job at creating the proper ambiance for the novel. I would have liked to have a more intimate portrayal of Elise McKenna. The first person narrative leaves her character a little less well drawn. However, this book is well written with lots of memorable detail. I love the time travel possibilities that leave us in wonder.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The novel is told in the form of

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The novel is told in the form of a first-person journal kept by a young writer named Richard Collier. The journal is edited by his brother, Robert. The brother-as-editor device serves two functions. First, it gives a feeling of authenticity to the journal. Second, it allows long and repetitious sections to be &quot;edited down&quot; by Robert for the reader's convenience.




    Richard, we quickly learn, is dying from a brain tumor. He has pulled up stakes and is driving along the western highways, more or less at random. Eventually, he comes across the Coronado, an ancient hotel on the California coast, and rents a room there. He comes across the photograph of Elise McKenna, a celebrated actress from the turn of the century who performed at the hotel in 1896. Irrationally, Richard falls in love with her. Bit by bit, he researches the details of her life. And eventually, he finds a way to mentally transport himself into the past to meet and to woo her.




    Matheson has learned the art of telling his story slowly, gradually building up detail upon detail. And it pays off. The details about Richard's research are nicely done, as the scene in which he kicks himself for overlooking the public library as a source of information. Time travel by mental will power may seem ridiculous on the face of it. But Matheson spells out a theory for such a practice and shows how it could indeed happen with an individual determined enough. The novel could have collapsed had Matheson been sloppy with his historical research. But he is not. The clothes, the money, the speech, the customs of the day, the way that hotel registers were signed, the repetory of plays at the time... Matheson gets these things and many more just right. But most of all, there is the romance between Robert and Elise. There are few really good romances in fiction or on film. But this is one of the successful ones. We root for the lovers, even though we know that the odds are stacked against them. I recommend the book. You wont be disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Good time travel fantasy!

    This book is similar in nature to Jack Finney's Time and Again. Though not quite as good as Finney's book, Matheson does create a fairly decent love story. The beginning is rather slow and it is only when Richard (the main character) finally travels to the past that the book starts to pick up. Richard in 1971 had somehow come across the photo of an actress from 1896 that intrigues him. He finds he must know her life and starts researching her. He finds that she is the same actress who he had met at a college function. When he met her, she had a very strange reaction to him like she had known him and then she died right after. Richard just gets more infatuated with the actress and is sure that he loves her. The more that he investigates her he becomes convinced that he somehow had gone to the past and met her. Richard starts to study theories on time travel and then uses virtually the same method used in Finney's books to travel back to 1896 to be with her. Richard's pursuit of her is hampered by her jealous manager (similar to Finney's character). Richard may get what he wants but a penny may be the cause of his undoing. The scenes described in 1896 are excellent as well as the dialogue. This is a very good, though not great, book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Somewhere in Time

    Matheson is amazing yet again. I must admit up front, it was hard not comparing the book to the movie of the same title, but it has been so many years since I last saw the movie it made it easier. BTW it is my mom's favorite movie, so I saw it quite a few times growing up. Regardless, the book is an amazing journey which keeps you routing for Richard not to be crazy, but really experiencing all that he is writing down. Elise is brought to life in a way which makes your heart break at all she goes through in the story. Matheson has brilliant execution of time shifts, plot development, character development and overall cohesiveness in the book. Many authors strive to obtain what Matheson has put out in many of books. This is my fourth book of his and I can't wait to read more.
    An A++ for this book (and I normally don't care for love stories but this one is good and not sappy)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    I love this novel

    This book is like the ultimate romance. It Crosses time and two people so in love, but with a sadness as well. The two characters are soulmates, but from two different generations. I love how their lives change and they interact. The movie was great too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Classic and perfectly old-fashioned:)

    This was an enticing book that i strongly recommend. The first chapter is slow but it really turned out to be one of my favorites! It's a classic, old-fashioned love story that you will surely fall in love with as well. I even learned a piano piece that was in the movie that played every time Richard saw Elise;) (The piece was called 'Somewhere In Time' as well.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Worth Reading

    And as much as I usually detest Richard Matheson's books, that's saying a lot. The ending is predictable, but the characters are nicely drawn, and the book has the gentle, melancholy air of a Victorian ghost story. For once in his dubious career as a writer, Matheson finally gets one right.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Excellent Read

    Enjoyed this very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    Me

    My mom named me after elise mickina and my birthday is the same day he goes back in time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    'True Love' At Its Finest.

    This is, by far, one of the finest 'love stories' of all time. This story will never grow old with me. No doubt, we've all wished for a better place and time in our lives. If you believe in the power of the human spirit and the undying love of soul mates than this book is a MUST READ for you. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    ROMANTIC AND POIGNANT

    I saw `Somewhere in Time¿ with Christopher Reeves and Jane Seymour, first. I was thrilled to know that it was a based on a novel, `Bid Time Return.¿ The story is a little different from the movie, but the concept is still there. This is a doomed romance from the beginning. Richard Collier is a terminally ill man that falls in love with Elise, an actress of another century. He is staying at the Hotel Coronado in San Diego, and finds a way to travel back in time. The author leaves it up to you, if Richard truly traveled back in time, or if it was merely a delusion brought on by his illness. I¿d like to believe that Richard and Elise¿s souls traveled to a place where time was not an issue, and at last, their love could flourish. If you were passionate about the movie, you¿ll thoroughly enjoy the book by Richard Matheson. Sci-fi fans, romantics, fantasy lovers, or simply people that love a good read this novel is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    a beautiful journey

    As I stopped and wondered how could this be, perhaps it can. This book took the heart on a rollercoaster of love in a time when the world was beautiful and less complicated. After reading this book, I too, sat on my bed and hoped to return to such a place. No matter where we are or in what time, love and beauty will always prevail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    An amazing, beautiful story!

    You will fall into this novel the moment you open the book. An amazing piece of literature--Richard Matheson's masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    A most excellent book!

    It was a most excellent book! I enjoyed it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    WONDERFUL!

    I had always loved the movie and so I was inspired to read the book. The characters are so well developed and "real". The book truly gives us so much to contemplate... has this happened, unbeknown to us mere mortals? I know this book will not disappoint you, it is romantic, historical and still but a fantasy . . . or is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2000

    An excellent and enticing book that draws you in . . .

    After being a fan of the 'Somewhere in Time' movie for years, I was thrilled to finally nab a copy of the book. As with most books made into movies, there were some variations in the characters, the plot, and the scene sequences. I felt Richard Collier was portrayed as a much stronger person in the movie than the book, and Elise McKenna, in contrast, was presented more fully, her emotional development blooming as she slowly allows her strict Victorian morals (and those imposed on her) to open like a rose in the warmth of Richard's all-enveloping love. To his credit, Richard is consistantly persistant in his persuit of Elise's love and his growing need to be with her. Although the time range varies (1971/1869-book) & (1979/1912-movie) the reader is drawn into Richard's overwhelming sense of the shortness of time itself as he seeks to live between two era's. Overall, an interesting study in contrasts for those who have seen the movie. I have become a 'time traveler' enthusiast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    The original book mesmerized me

    I read BID TIME RETURN when it was first published, and something about it got under my skin. Somewhat like Richard Collier, I started doing research to see if there really WAS an Elise MaKenna. (She was modeled after the actress Maude Addams, almost to the letter), I went as far as to visit the Hotel Del Coronado, the original setting of the story. I even named my youngest daughter 'Elise'. Ok, I know...I'm obsessed...but it's the type of book that will stay with you long after the last page has been read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2