BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Somewhere in the Darkness

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A heart wrenching tale involving a mysterious father-son relationship.

    SOMEWHERE IN THE DARKNESS


    My name is Tommy Keyes. I'm currently a sophomore at Holt High School and I selected this book because I needed a book to read during class. I sat down to start reading it and it surprisingly sparked my interest. It starts with the problem early in the book so the book is packed with events that connect on a personal level with my life. That made reading the book a lot easier because I could connect with the characters and I could feel the emotions, which at points, poured out of the pages.
    The book, Somewhere in the Darkness, was written by Walter Dean Myers. It starts off in Harlem, New York where Jimmy and his mother, Mama Jean, live. Jimmy was at home with Mama when suddenly a man arrived at the door. It was Crab, Jimmy's father, who Jimmy hadn't ever really known. However, when Crab asked Jimmy to travel with him to Chicago, Jimmy decided to go with him. They took this time to bond and get to know each other. As they leave, Crab reveals his secret on where he's been so long. He got put in prison for murder and was able to escape while in the hospital for his kidney, which is failing.
    The book revolves around the father/son relationship. Through all the things that they encounter, they only become closer to each other. But with Crabs life on the line, and the cops out after him, how long will this incredible bond last?
    This book deserves a five star rating. I think it allows for all age groups to connect to because it has a role of a teenager and a parent. It will inspire you to become closer to your loved ones and cherish the moments that you do get with them. That's why I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    A relationship that will never end just begins.

    A relationship that will never end just begins. The book Somewhere in the Darkness by Walter Dean Meyers tells the story of Jimmy Little and father Crab. Myers' tense dialogue and characterizations create a father and son who remain mysteries to one another, and Myers skillfully keeps epiphanies and answers at bay. But by story's end Myers presents us with a character in Jimmy who understands that to appreciate someone else's life you must first give meaning to your own.
    Teenaged Jimmy Little hasn't seen his father, Crab, since he was a baby. He learns that his father's been in jail for nine years for armed robbery, and has been accused of killing a man. Up until now, Jimmy is protected from the hard streets of Harlem, living with his grandmother, Mama Jean, until one day, Jimmy is surprised by the appearance of Crab, now very ill, and who has escaped from prison so that he can win the respect of his son before he dies. Suddenly, Jimmy is token away from his stable home life and is on the run with is father. Despite being reunited with his son, and the opportunity for change it opens up, Crab is unable to break free of a lifestyle of stealing and moving on that leaves little room to establish a secure father/son relationship. On their highway adventure, Crab becomes sicker with a kidney problem. And after a climactic encounter with the man who accused him, Crab is again arrested and hospitalized. A powerful quote from one of the characters High John is "You walking in strength, Crab but only you and the Good Lord know where you getting it from" I liked that quote because it tells how Crab needs to choose a way between the good and bad. This realistic fiction will keep you wanting to read more.
    Overall I would recommend this book to anyone who loves Walter Dean Meyer's books. You will enjoy this book if you can relate to the theme of cheating will get you no where.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Somewhere in the Darkness by: Callie Christopherson

    Oh I absolutely love this book, It is maybe one of my favorite books I have ever read. It is such a good reality check. It¿s about a boy who lives with his grandmother and hasn't seen his dad ever. His dad had been in jail for 9 years for armed robbery and had been accused of killing a man. One day Jimmy Little gets a call from his dad and he says that he is out of jail and it was on the message machine and Jimmy had been out running errands and Jimmy wasn't a fan of school so he was on his way one day and there was a guy outside his front door and he let him in and he told Jimmy he was his father. Jimmy¿s grandma came home and was so happy to see Jimmy¿s dad and his name is Crab. Crab asked if he could take Jimmy with him and that he was going to a job interview. And she was a little sketchy about it but let in and Jimmy didn't know what to think. Mama Jean had given Jimmy some emergency money to use if he ever needed to use it and told him to call for anything. And whenever he wanted to come home, she would go and pick him up herself. I just remember the part that hit me the most was when Jimmy and his dad were in a huge fight and his dad started talking about everything and explaining to Jimmy what had happened. They had discovered a hidden relationship between the two. I have always been close to my dad but I made him read the book and it just changed me a little. His dad has a kidney infection and becomes really sick. I remember in the book they would express about how he had to kneel over because he was in so much pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Great Book!

    'Somewhere in the Darkness' is a whole new twist of Walter Dean Myers book. Its exhilirating, suspenseful, and attention grabbing. You can never guess what will happen next, so it keeps you on your toes. This book is great and I suggest all young readers to read it. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    A Really Good Book

    Somewhere in the Darkness is a really good book. Walter Dean Myers, the author of this book, likes to write about realistic fiction and this book is a good example of his writing. The topics he writes about, like the things that happen in this book aren¿t usually written about. This story is really interesting and hard to predict what will happen next. This book really makes you feel how it was like to lose a parent and have him come back into your life. Jimmy¿s hardships are clearly portrayed in this book. Walter Dean Myers is really good at painting a good picture in your head with his writing. If you liked this book, I recommend you read other books by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Somewhere in the Darkness

    While reading the book 'Somewhere in the darkness' i found my self reladted to Jimmy. Not only because he gets into trouble like me but he also because hasent seen his father for a number of years. Just like myself. And when he does come around jimmy doesnt trust him at first then he gets to close and very trustworthy . And lets him instead of staying with the one person who has been there for him his grandmother. I would recommend this book if your understand what it feels like to be like jimmy and if you can relate. But if you canot then this book would have no emotional feeling to you. So maybe you would want to choose another book of walter dean myers. Or just read it and see if you can relate or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Somewhere in the Darkness

    While reading the book 'Somewhere in the darkness' I found myself relating to Jimmy. Not only because he gets into trouble like me but he also hasn¿t seen his father for a number of years, just like myself. And when he does come around Jimmy doesn¿t trust him at first then he gets close enough and begins to trust him again. And his trust leads him to leave his grandmother, the one person who has always been there for him and go with his father. While with his father, he is treated unfair and his father is mean. His father is use to being in jail and brings those harsh ways into how he treats Jimmy, but Jimmy ends up staying with his father and not going back to his grandmother. I would recommend this book if you understand what it feels like to be Jimmy and if you can relate to how someone can betray a person who would never deny or abandon you. But if you can't then this book would have no emotional feeling for you and you may not be able to understand the true meaning behind the story. So maybe you would want to choose another book written by Walter Dean Myers, who is a great author. Or just read it and see if you walk away with a different understanding or connection than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    best book ever

    This was the best book ,i think, Walter as very wrote. This book was an outsanding book.I read it at least five times. The first time i read that book i cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Ali M. soccer player and swimmer

    i don't no. I might have 2 read this book 4 a shool assignment, but i have other chocies and i need so feedback

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    This book was an amazing story!

    Somewhere in the Darkness by Walter Dean Myers is a story most loved by readers. Written in 1992, this novel tells how a boy(Jimmy) from Harlem travels half way across America with his father. Jimmy was a troubled child and oftened wondered what it was like to have other sibilings.When Crab (his father) shows up Jimmy has to leave the only home he knows.After Jimmy finds out that his father has escaped from jail, Jimmy wants nothing to do with Crab.When his father died, Jimmy returns to Harlem, to live with Mama Jean (his grandmother). I like this story because it shows even through hard times you can count on family. I think Walter Dean Myers is a gerat author. I think this book is a tragic story and can be a great book for teen readers. This book is perfect as it is.I give this book 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Awesome

    The book Somewhere in the Darkness was a great book for readers everywhere.It was written in the late 80's.The story was about a father son relationship.Jimmy was fourteen(14) living in Harlem and is holding his own in a tough world. Things change when Jimmy's father, Crab shows up. Crab, who disappeared nine years ago, suddenly wants Jimmy to know who his real father is. That's what the story is mostly about.Walter Dean Myers, your book Somewhere in the Darkness was really good, and it told me that even if you mess things up, they can be forgiven. I hope you can write even more books someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Exciting and Adventurous

    Somewhere in the Darkness by Walter Dean Myers is a book for those who want to know how it is to lose a parent, then have a parent come back suddenly. Crab suddenly wants to know his son, Jimmy Little. Mama Jean lets him go. Crab and Jimmy travel Chicago, Arkansas, and Tennessee. Crab finds out that he has liver disease. Will Crab live long enough to tell Jimmy how he feels? Read the book to find out! Somewhere in the Darkness is good, but it is not my type of book to read. It is very informative. I find it difficult to read over and over again like I usually read other books. Walter Dean Myers is a good writer, but I still give this book 2 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    the best book

    Somewhere in the Darkness by Walter Dean Myers. Written in 1992,tells the story of a boy, Jimmy Little,who lives with his grandmother, Mamma Jean, in Harlem,New York. The story opens with Mamma Jean, Jimmy, and Crab. Crab was Jimmy's father who wanted to take care of him in Chicago. Each chapter tellls how Crab and Jimmy traveled on the road to Chicago. This inspiring book made me think about how fathers should treat their chldren. My opinion of this book is a father shouldn't leave their childern with a relative and come back years later to take care of them. The first couple of chapters were interesting. This story relates to many people here in the United States and how many children get in trouble from time to time. I have a cousin who would be interested in this book. I wouldn't change anything about this book. I would give this book 3 stars (***).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Off the chain

    Somewhere in the Darkness is a very good book. Jimmy had hard times in his life but when Crabs came back it got worse taking him across the United States acting like he cared. Crabs were a very nervous person; he was very scared when the police walked in the same room as him. But the saddest and most dramatic part of the book was the end when Crabs and Jimmy were out and about and the police came up on Crabs and Crabs told Jimmy to run and the way Myers described the way Jimmy ran across the field, was so detailed that I got teary eye¿s so once again Jimmy was left alone. I especially loved the book because of the author Walter Dean Myers he really knows how to break down the phrases and show you the way life is. He is a wonderful author and one day I will read all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    O'kay book

    Jimmy is a 15 year old boy. He lived with his grandma, Mama Jean intil Jimmy met up with his dad. His dad's name is Crab.Crab was in jail until he broke out. I would give this book 1 and a half stars because, I was not very interested in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    A Great Book

    This story is about a boy named Jimmy and his father Crab.One day when Jimmy came home from school Crab was waiting for him on the steps outside his apartment.His father takes him on a cross-country trip to show Jimmy he is innocent of murdering a police officer.At first theres not much between the two,but in the end they find that even somewhere in the darkness love can shine through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    An ok book

    It was ok.I give it two stars.It starts out slow and gets a little better.Its not a very good book to read.I would have rather read Hoops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    DONT READ THIS BOOK, ITS A WASTE OF TIME

    Jimmy is 15 years old. He lived with his Grand mother (momma jean). His dad was put in prison, and just out of nowhere he shows up at Jimmy's house. Jimmy is facd with the decision to go with his dad or stay with momma jean. Read the book if you want to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    somewhere in the darkness

    This book is about Jimmy, a teenager lives in the city with his mother¿s best friend, Mama Jean, because his mother is dead and his father is in jail for killing someone (however, he is falsely accused). One day Jimmy gets home from school early and he sees a man is waiting at the bottom of the stairs. He says his name is Crab, Jimmy¿s father. Crab is there to take Jimmy with him. After Jimmy and Crab left, they travel cross-country to try to find the one man who can prove that Crab is innocent. Finally they find that man but the man comes back the next day with the police. The policeman takes Crab to the hospital and in the end Crab dies, chained to the bed in his hospital room. I think that the message in this book is to learn to accept and learn to love. Jimmy has to accept that his father does not abandon him. I think in the end Jimmy loves his father and is really sad when his father dies. I think this story is funny but also serious. Moreover, the character development makes it seem as if readers are actually there with Jimmy. Crab¿s character, especially becomes clearer as the story progresses. And I would like to recommend this book because it was interesting. Some parts of the story kept me interested to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Book Review

    Author: Walter Dean Myers Title: Somewhere in the Darkness Genre: Drama Jimmy lives with his mother Mama Jean in New York. One day when he comes home from school there is a man there waiting for him, someone who Jimmy thought was in jail. This man was Jimmy¿s father. This was the first time in ten years that he had seen his father, of course it was awkward for Jimmy and it leads to a lot of other conflicts that will affect Jimmy for the rest of his life. Jimmy finds out that his father was a wanted man because he was not let out of jail like he told everyone. In fact he was an escaped convict with a mission¿ to frame the man who framed him. While I was reading this book I made a connection to the world in which we live. I connected it to Osama bin Laden. I made this connection because Jimmy¿s father was a wanted man on the run, and so is Osama bin Laden While reading the book I found that visualizing helped me the most. The times I really had to use visualizing while reading the long on-going sentences and the action scenes, especially at the end when Crab got shot, it was very high detailed. Visualizing helped then because when I visualize I sort of revise the writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2