Customer Reviews for

Son

Average Rating 4.5
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Thought provoking and inspiring--Great read!!

This story was wonderful. Lois Lowry has a certain way of making the reader think deeper into life and what is important therein. I became interested in this book because of my love for Lowry's "Giver" which I read over, and over again! These books are aimed for adolesc...
This story was wonderful. Lois Lowry has a certain way of making the reader think deeper into life and what is important therein. I became interested in this book because of my love for Lowry's "Giver" which I read over, and over again! These books are aimed for adolescents/young adults, but I think that they are extremely appealing to adults as well. (I wish Lowry would take the endeavor into a full-length novel! It would be such a treat!)

posted by DaniO21 on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the giver, but almost there

I read the giver in middle school and it left a deep mark on my life, so much so that I remember and love it almost 8 years later. Though this book starts of great, it faltered through the final pages. I really enjoyed re-exploring the community in the first part of thi...
I read the giver in middle school and it left a deep mark on my life, so much so that I remember and love it almost 8 years later. Though this book starts of great, it faltered through the final pages. I really enjoyed re-exploring the community in the first part of this novel, but the ending was too strange and far-fetched for me (with talks if magic and yadayada, felt like I was reading Harry Potter). For this reason I give it 3 stars. It was promising, but left me dissapointed in the end.

posted by 8515587 on October 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Thought provoking and inspiring--Great read!!

    This story was wonderful. Lois Lowry has a certain way of making the reader think deeper into life and what is important therein. I became interested in this book because of my love for Lowry's "Giver" which I read over, and over again! These books are aimed for adolescents/young adults, but I think that they are extremely appealing to adults as well. (I wish Lowry would take the endeavor into a full-length novel! It would be such a treat!)

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Not as good as the giver, but almost there

    I read the giver in middle school and it left a deep mark on my life, so much so that I remember and love it almost 8 years later. Though this book starts of great, it faltered through the final pages. I really enjoyed re-exploring the community in the first part of this novel, but the ending was too strange and far-fetched for me (with talks if magic and yadayada, felt like I was reading Harry Potter). For this reason I give it 3 stars. It was promising, but left me dissapointed in the end.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Satisfying Conclusion

    Lois Lowry did not intend to write a fourth book in her "Giver" series. She thought the story was concluded in "Messenger," written in 2004. But she started thinking about Gabriel, the child Jonas saved in the first book, and that led her to thinking about his mother . . . and her thoughts developed into such a satisfying novel that one would think it was planned all along. We return to the Community we met in "The Giver" and experience life there from the point of view of Claire, the young girl who received the assignment of Birth Mother. When things go wrong with her delivery, the Community is not prepared for such a thing, and so Claire falls between the cracks of the Community's system. She begins to search for the baby she birthed. She eventually finds Gabriel, living in the loving community we found in the second book, and the narration switches to the teenage Gabriel's point of view. In the end, Gabriel saves the community by using the power of love and compassion. A very satisfying novel.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Satisfaction at last

    Having read "The Giver" many years ago, and numerous times, I found it very satisfying to have closure to the story.

    "Son" fills in the blanks about many of the unknowns that this reader had, and many students I read the story to, about what it was like in the original setting of "The Giver."

    There were many times while reading "Son" that I did not want to put the book down...Lowry hooks the reader to want more, and to keep reading.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G

    Ugh im like crying as i type this. This is so sad. This book is amazing and wonderful. It is worth every penny. I love this book!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    What!? Wow

    I thought there were only three! In sixth grade, i read everything written by Lois Lowry. Now, in ninth grade, i am just coming upon this book by chance. I have to read it! Five stars goes to anything written by Lois Lowry and her answer to my email!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I remember reading The Giver in fifth grade and crying through t

    I remember reading The Giver in fifth grade and crying through the ending--I'm a huge fan of Lowry's work, especially the Giver series, and purchased Gathering Blue and Messenger as a middle schooler. I loved the worldbuilding and subtlety of the first three books, and when I realized that Lowry had written Son, a fourth, final novel in the series, I immediately went to pick it up!

    The first section of the book, which describes Claire's life in the original Giver community, recaptured much of the feel of the original book, and it was fascinating to see how events from Claire's perspective fit together with what we already knew about Jonas' fate. (And I'll admit it: I am 17 years old and still put down the book and screamed like a little girl. I was really excited, okay?!) Though I can see why some people might have felt the second part was dragging, especially because (POSSIBLE SPOILER?) she never gets to interact with any of the characters or come back for them after making her way to the new community, I still enjoyed getting to know the new characters and seeing relationships develop between Claire and her new surroundings. (Though I do feel that it was a lot of time spent on what was essentially a pit stop between her original home and the new community, and the relationship-building was not always fully fleshed out.)

    Overall, though, I found Son mostly satisfactory until the third and final part of the book. I wanted to like this last section so much because it promised to tie everything from the first three books together--the fate of Gabe, the relationship of Kira and Jonas, the role of Trademaster--but I feel that when Lowry tried to resolve all these things neatly, it resulted in a forced, rushed, and ultimately unsatisfying conclusion. I'm still glad I read Son because it's nice to be able to connect all the pieces from The Giver, Gathering Blue, and Messenger in my mind, but I don't think I'll be rereading Son.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Great series of books

    Really enjoyed this easy to read series. Would highly advise buying / borrowing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book. I've waited a long time to get a b&n gift card to get this book. I've read all the other books in the Giver quartet. They are really good. My teacher, the one who introduced me to these books, has only read the first book but she wants to read the others. I have the second & third book in paper back so I gave the second book to her to read. She hasn't read it yet, because she is really busy with all the papers to grade and her master's class. But she has promised me she would when she could. I told her the second book was out of place intill you read the third book. And she was like " Oh, it's like you read something and it doesn't make any sence till you read the next one or you watch a movie and at the end it leaves you hanging or it just stops right in a weird part and you are wondering 'Why did they even put that in this moive.' ." And I was like "That's kinda what it's like, but not really, and there is a twist ending in the third book. Any way I like this book very much, accually I love this boo?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    "Eh"

    Started off and couldnt put it down at first...loved revisiting Jonas' community again...answered alot of questions that The Giver kept us in the dark about! However, the chapters dedicated to the fishing village were a bit of a snoozer...

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Kyla Anderson Ms.Molloy E/LA September 19, 2013 Son, by Lois Low

    Kyla Anderson
    Ms.Molloy
    E/LA
    September 19, 2013
    Son, by Lois Lowry
    TheTruth on Son According to Kyla Anderson
                Have maternal instincts? I didn’t think so. In the fantasy novel, Son by Louis Lowry, the main character, Claire, has to do just that. Claire lived in a community where some women are used just
    to make children. Claire had complications with her birth, and then found out that
    her son had gone missing. Claire has no idea how to find him at first, and she experiences
    many hard challenges while trying to find him.
                When readers pick-up Son, they should overall expect a similar theme to The Giver quartet, The Giver quartet are four epic books, all relating to each other.  In The Giver quartet, there is always something to the theme of “being courageous is the key to saving a life”. For example, in The Giver, Jonas ran away from safety, shelter, and even risked his own life to save a baby’s life. In Messenger,
    Matty, who is portrayed as Jesus, saved everyone’s life so that evil wouldn’t exist. Matty died for his village members. Lastly in Son, a young teenage boy saved his mothers life. This shows that
    when a reader picks up The Giver quartet,they should expect a similar theme.
                I would recommend this book to a reader because some parts of the book were a definite page turner, I almost couldn’t put it down. For example, the part of the book when Trademaster traded Claire’s youth away so that she can find her son (Lowry 265). I felt so surprised while reading that part, I was saying “Oh my goodness!” I couldn’t wait to see what happened next. Also, another reason why I’ll
    recommend this book is because I feel that other females can relate to Claire’s
    problems. For example, when Claire’s friends and the village members rejected
    her (Lowry 194-196), other women have those feelings too. Lowry imbues this conundrum for women in Son.  However, I wouldn’t really recommend Son because it does get a
    little confusing. Take for example when Claire is regaining her memories back
    (Lowry128). When I read that part, I had to think a couple times about what the
    narrator meant. I asked myself questions over and over again, just to try to
    understand. Another part of the book where I got confused was when Claire was
    giving birth, and how Lowry explained that Claire was having a C-section (Lowry
    8). I had to read it couple times to try to understand exactly what was going
    on. I think the type of reader that should read Son is a reader who doesn’t get distracted easily. So I wouldn’t recommend
    this book to a reader who gets distracted easily.
               Overall, I thought Son by Lois Lowry was a very interesting novel. It’s not the usual type of
    book that I read, but I’m definitely glad that I had the chance to read this
    book. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Long wondered but disappointed.

    I long wondered what happened to Jonas and Gabe once they escaped. I was excited when I began reading. . .The story told from the birthmothers' viewpoint. . . Interesting and exciting. Quickly I found the links from the other books and couldn't stop reading, but the ending was a let down. Everything built towards the moment where Gabe had to save his mother but the encounter with the Trademaster was lacking and abrupt. Just though for a final book it would have been more satisfying. Kind of a let down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    MA Son, Lois Lowry ¿Son: Does it really end with a heroic ending

    MA
    Son, Lois Lowry
    “Son: Does it really end with a heroic ending?”
    Have you ever found a book dramatically heroic in a silent way? “The Giver Quartet” by Lois Lowry is the perfect example for it. In the fantasy novel, Son, Claire, a young woman searches for her son. She faces many obstacles in her path. The terrific part about the book is that even though the beginning would give the ending away, you would want to know what happens in the middle. Additionally, in Book I of Son, Claire lives in the same dystopian society as Jonas. When readers pick up Son, they should expect a story similar to the other books in “The Giver Quartet”. They should expect similarities because Lois Lowry books were all made out of dystopian societies. For example The Giver is set in dystopian society this is certainly the similarity that Son and The Giver have in common, but the setting changes in Son. I would recommend Son to anyone. Lois Lowry’s books are a page turner because there are so many obstacles that you would want to know what happens every time a character does something and that doesn’t really with varies books I’ve read that have to do with fantasy novels. Lois Lowry goes way beyond with her books which make them outstanding and mysterious. For example, she would label things in her book religiously and you would get it in a way that it is unusual for a reader at first but once you connect it with other things. Vessels are introduced right those labels, Vessels are introduced right on the first page but is not said what it exactly is and then it is introduced later in Son (Lowry 8). In conclusion, I would recommend this book if you are interested in vague as good as this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    ¿Son: A Match Made at Birth¿ The epic saga between two friends

    “Son: A Match Made at Birth”
    The epic saga between two friends who were destined to be together since birth. No. Son is not an epic novel of two friends. Instead Son is a fantasy novel of a mother long, restless, sorrowful journey in search of the Son she was never meant to have. Son is about a young girl named Claire who has to go through three very different societies to show the inevitable love for her son.
    While reading Son, you should expect to find some resemblance between the different books of “The Giver quartet”. But you should have a different feel from Son. For example, this book is almost always in Claire’s point of view (Lowry 8). This is what is most surprising because through all three books it is in Claire’s point of view. Although you would expect 3 different point of views.
    I would recommend this book to anyone from the ages of 12 to 100. The book never fails to keep you on the edge of your seat. For example Claire’s vividly described labor was very dramatic and quite exciting (Lowry 7 and 8). Once you begin to read you may never want to put Son down. Since there are many points of high tension in the book it is easy for you hooked the minute you begin to read. There is a different part that excites every type of reader who decides to read the highly recommended “The Giver quartet”.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    ¿It¿s going to be up to you then, you must destroy him¿ (Lowry 3

    “It’s going to be up to you then, you must destroy him” (Lowry 343). Son is well known for being a cliff hanger, a page turner. This book is about a girl named Claire who gives birth to a baby boy who is sadly, later taken away from her. Now her mission is to find him and when she does, she loses him again. Later, she ends up in a different community determined to be reunited with her son. This fantasy novel by Louis Lowry is mysterious and intriguing which will astound readers.
    When readers pick up Son, they should expect a story similar to the other books in “The Giver quartet.” For example, all three books share a similar theme: taking the road less traveled and being courageous is the best way to go. For example, in Son, Claire is first starting to climb the hill/mountain to try to see her son and be reunited with Gabe (her son’s name) (Lowry 240). This demonstrates that the themes are similar. Additionally, it means that Son’s theme is about taking the road less traveled and being courageous. In The Giver, Jonas is being courageous and “taking the road less traveled” by leaving the community. In Messenger, Matty is being courageous by “taking the road less traveled” because he leaves the village and goes through the forest to get Kira, the blind man’s daughter. Lastly, Claire shows courage because she leaves the village just to see Gabe. In conclusion, when readers pick up Son, they should expect the same story in the other books of “The Giver Quartet,” to be similar because of the theme.
    I do recommend the book Son to every adolescence and adults. This is because it is a page turner and there are surprises in the story that holds the readers interest. For example, in Son, Gabe figured out from Jonas that he was to destroy a certain danger who can easily take control of the village (Lowry 343). This demonstrates that the book is a page turner and surprises could keep you interested because you want to know what Gabe is going to actually do. This would also get the readers interested because the plot is so mysterious. In conclusion, I do recommend this book because it’s fascinating and it is a page turner.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    This was an excellent read that will particularly touch girls an

    This was an excellent read that will particularly touch girls and mothers who enjoyed Lowry's preceeding novels. While any reader can connect to the male protagonists in "The Giver" and "Messenger," (I have not read "Gathering Blue") Claire's struggles will particularly tug at the heart strings of 21st century teenage girls. Claire's problems mirror those women have faced for centuries, and will be poignant for readers regardless of their age or gender. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Amazing end to the series! Please read the rest of this review.

    Son by Louis Lowry is the fourh book in an incredible series that opens your eyes and heart. This book ties together everything from The Giver, Gathering Blue, and Messenger. I know many people say that you do not need to read Gahering Blue and Messenger because they have nothing to do with The Giver, but I think you really should read the second and third book as they add detail and help you understand everything that happens. If you have not read those two books I ask that you please do that or you will, like many other people who haven't, think that this book is boring because you won't have the background knowledge of the story. Thanks and please, PLEASE read Gathering Blue and The Messenger before you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Good, until the end

    I like the character Claire and getting to go back to parts from The Giver. HOWEVER...
    I am left with so many questions because the ending didn't wrap anything up. I was intrigued by The Community in The Giver, and wad disappointed that the next two books in the quartet didn't have more focus in that area. Was hopeful when I started to read Son, but highly disapointed with the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    The Son

    This book is amazing! There are some confusing parts, but it is very enjoyable. I enjoyed The Giver, so I decided to read The Son. There are two books before The Son. You do not have to read them because it has nothing to do with The Giver. You finally get a ending to The Giver. I would read this book if you liked The Giver and want an ending or sequel to it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I read all three books and this one really ties everything toget

    I read all three books and this one really ties everything together. I thought it was a good book and it was very interesting. I also like how throughtout the book it was very capitvating. It also answered a lot of questions from the giver and what happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10