Customer Reviews for

Son

Average Rating 4.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Thought provoking and inspiring--Great read!!

This story was wonderful. Lois Lowry has a certain way of making the reader think deeper into life and what is important therein. I became interested in this book because of my love for Lowry's "Giver" which I read over, and over again! These books are aimed for adolesc...
This story was wonderful. Lois Lowry has a certain way of making the reader think deeper into life and what is important therein. I became interested in this book because of my love for Lowry's "Giver" which I read over, and over again! These books are aimed for adolescents/young adults, but I think that they are extremely appealing to adults as well. (I wish Lowry would take the endeavor into a full-length novel! It would be such a treat!)

posted by DaniO21 on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as the giver, but almost there

I read the giver in middle school and it left a deep mark on my life, so much so that I remember and love it almost 8 years later. Though this book starts of great, it faltered through the final pages. I really enjoyed re-exploring the community in the first part of thi...
I read the giver in middle school and it left a deep mark on my life, so much so that I remember and love it almost 8 years later. Though this book starts of great, it faltered through the final pages. I really enjoyed re-exploring the community in the first part of this novel, but the ending was too strange and far-fetched for me (with talks if magic and yadayada, felt like I was reading Harry Potter). For this reason I give it 3 stars. It was promising, but left me dissapointed in the end.

posted by 8515587 on October 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Satisfaction at last

    Having read "The Giver" many years ago, and numerous times, I found it very satisfying to have closure to the story.

    "Son" fills in the blanks about many of the unknowns that this reader had, and many students I read the story to, about what it was like in the original setting of "The Giver."

    There were many times while reading "Son" that I did not want to put the book down...Lowry hooks the reader to want more, and to keep reading.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G

    Ugh im like crying as i type this. This is so sad. This book is amazing and wonderful. It is worth every penny. I love this book!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    What!? Wow

    I thought there were only three! In sixth grade, i read everything written by Lois Lowry. Now, in ninth grade, i am just coming upon this book by chance. I have to read it! Five stars goes to anything written by Lois Lowry and her answer to my email!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Great series of books

    Really enjoyed this easy to read series. Would highly advise buying / borrowing.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Satisfying Conclusion

    Lois Lowry did not intend to write a fourth book in her "Giver" series. She thought the story was concluded in "Messenger," written in 2004. But she started thinking about Gabriel, the child Jonas saved in the first book, and that led her to thinking about his mother . . . and her thoughts developed into such a satisfying novel that one would think it was planned all along. We return to the Community we met in "The Giver" and experience life there from the point of view of Claire, the young girl who received the assignment of Birth Mother. When things go wrong with her delivery, the Community is not prepared for such a thing, and so Claire falls between the cracks of the Community's system. She begins to search for the baby she birthed. She eventually finds Gabriel, living in the loving community we found in the second book, and the narration switches to the teenage Gabriel's point of view. In the end, Gabriel saves the community by using the power of love and compassion. A very satisfying novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book. I've waited a long time to get a b&n gift card to get this book. I've read all the other books in the Giver quartet. They are really good. My teacher, the one who introduced me to these books, has only read the first book but she wants to read the others. I have the second & third book in paper back so I gave the second book to her to read. She hasn't read it yet, because she is really busy with all the papers to grade and her master's class. But she has promised me she would when she could. I told her the second book was out of place intill you read the third book. And she was like " Oh, it's like you read something and it doesn't make any sence till you read the next one or you watch a movie and at the end it leaves you hanging or it just stops right in a weird part and you are wondering 'Why did they even put that in this moive.' ." And I was like "That's kinda what it's like, but not really, and there is a twist ending in the third book. Any way I like this book very much, accually I love this boo?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    ┬┐Son: A Match Made at Birth┬┐ The epic saga between two friends

    “Son: A Match Made at Birth”
    The epic saga between two friends who were destined to be together since birth. No. Son is not an epic novel of two friends. Instead Son is a fantasy novel of a mother long, restless, sorrowful journey in search of the Son she was never meant to have. Son is about a young girl named Claire who has to go through three very different societies to show the inevitable love for her son.
    While reading Son, you should expect to find some resemblance between the different books of “The Giver quartet”. But you should have a different feel from Son. For example, this book is almost always in Claire’s point of view (Lowry 8). This is what is most surprising because through all three books it is in Claire’s point of view. Although you would expect 3 different point of views.
    I would recommend this book to anyone from the ages of 12 to 100. The book never fails to keep you on the edge of your seat. For example Claire’s vividly described labor was very dramatic and quite exciting (Lowry 7 and 8). Once you begin to read you may never want to put Son down. Since there are many points of high tension in the book it is easy for you hooked the minute you begin to read. There is a different part that excites every type of reader who decides to read the highly recommended “The Giver quartet”.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Amazing end to the series! Please read the rest of this review.

    Son by Louis Lowry is the fourh book in an incredible series that opens your eyes and heart. This book ties together everything from The Giver, Gathering Blue, and Messenger. I know many people say that you do not need to read Gahering Blue and Messenger because they have nothing to do with The Giver, but I think you really should read the second and third book as they add detail and help you understand everything that happens. If you have not read those two books I ask that you please do that or you will, like many other people who haven't, think that this book is boring because you won't have the background knowledge of the story. Thanks and please, PLEASE read Gathering Blue and The Messenger before you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I read all three books and this one really ties everything toget

    I read all three books and this one really ties everything together. I thought it was a good book and it was very interesting. I also like how throughtout the book it was very capitvating. It also answered a lot of questions from the giver and what happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    An enjoyable series to read.

    An ending to the series, that is nicely written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Inte Good book

    Interesting at first when the first book takes place in community with claire

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    This book is such a rollercoaster you go from knowing Claire, to not knowing, to knowing her, to not knowing her, and back agian. I believe that the ending was the best part of the book because Gabe defeats he Trdemaster with out violence, uses his words nothing else. It sets a good example for any one who read it, the example is that violence solves nothing and your words solve a lot more than your actions do. I also love that where ever Claire goes she is loved and cared for. I really wish that her training for the climb out did not take so long because if it would not have taken so long so then her "new Mom" could have climbed out with her. Also I wish that her trainer did not get hurt during his cimb out and back so that he could have went also so that he could have helped Claire find her son with out the help of the Trademaster. Also Claire should have looked for her son with out the Trademaster because she almosr died. I really like how the book takes place during, before, and after The Giver. I loved this book a lot!!! Keep writing good books Louise Lowry ( I think that is how you spell the authors name) your doing great!!! This on is tha best from what I have read!!!! Thanks for all the good books to read!!! See you soon OR write to you soon!!!

    Bye!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Lois Lowry's Son good for adults as well as teenagers

    I read this book because I remembered Lois Lowry from childhood reading. This book is as good -- if not better -- than most novels written these days for adults. It's thoughtful, exciting, and carries a message.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Amazing that is all i can say

    This is an amazing book i did not stop reading untill i was done this is one of those books that you just wont to read over and over . This book about a14 year old pragnet virgin? Yes you see it is her job to do this she is chosen and is even okay with it . Over all i am impresed with this book and ejoyed every minute. Seriusly i almost cried when ... well read and find out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Loved it!

    If you read The Giver, you must read this! If you haven't, what are you waiting for?! Both are books I recommend to adults and kids both, and can't wait to share with my grandson, nieces, and nephews when they're old enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    The Son is the last book in the Giver Quartet. It follows the st

    The Son is the last book in the Giver Quartet. It follows the story of Claire, mother of Gabe and her quest to reunite with her son. The book takes us from the community from The Giver to another village and finally to the community of The Messenger. Throughout the book we learn of Claire's spirit and her loss, which really resonated with me. The Community from the Giver is expanded giving us more insight into their lives. We learn more about the evil in the world, more about what happened to Gabe, what Gabe's gift is, and we get to see Jonas, Kira, and Mentor again. The story was well paced and I felt the ending was very satisfying. If you liked the other three Giver books, then you will like this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I loved it!! I knew it was a continuation of The Giver but had n

    I loved it!! I knew it was a continuation of The Giver but had no idea about the other 2 books. I know what I'm reading next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Loved it

    An amazing book that further explores the world it takes place in. Not only will you learn Claire's story, but you'll see how the characters from all the books are interconnected. The ending feels a bit abrupt but it's the same style as Lowry's previous books. I would have liked to have gotten the chance to better understand the "structure" of their world as a whole, but I think that's what adds to the allure of this series. Definitely check this book out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Favorite series comes to a end

    The Giver is my all time favorite book and this is a great ending to bring the stories full circle. This is a MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Awesome

    This is one of the best books I've ever read! Claire is very captivating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6