Customer Reviews for

Son of Avonar (Bridge of D'Arnath Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great read

    Engossing storytelling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    You don't just read it, you Live it!

    Berg has that rare gift that makes you share every triumph, feel every hurt, mourn every loss, and thrill in every adventure. This is what fantasy fiction is supposed to be. Thank you. MC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    A great Adventure!

    I dabble in writing fantasy myself so I research a LOT of author styles, etc. This was my first experience in reading a Carol Berg and WOW... is she ever a master of description and putting the reader right in the middle of the action. The characters are real, the plot is different and the ending surprising. I just could not put the book down and now have purchased #2 and #3 of the D'Arnath Series. While I do not believe anyone will ever exceed the Tolkien level of descriptive powers, I have to admit Carol Berg is well on her way to that level. All I can say is Bravo, Ms. Berg, please just give us more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    amazing read

    i was not expecting much when i picked this book up, but i loved it and couldnt put it down. wonderful indepth characters,interesting winding plot, twists and turns, and very fulfilling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful

    One of my favorite series ever! Great plot, creative, lots of twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    a review

    Real strong characters that keep you on a journey along with them. Can't wait to read book 2 of The Bridge Of D'Arnath

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    Great epic fantasy

    For centuries, it was thought that the soldiers killed all the sorcerers and stamped magic out of existence. The ruthless noble Evard is an heir to the Leiran throne and brutally disposes any threats to his goal of becoming king. His closest ally Tomas, Duke of Corrigon and the King¿s Champion, has a sister Seri who he plans to marry........................................... Through trickery, Seri forces the monarch to let her choose her husband and the only man who moves her is Karon, the last sorcerer in Leire. Eventually their secret is discovered and Karon is tortured before he is put to death. Seri is imprisoned until she gives birth. Her brother kills the infant and the king strips her of her heritage. She lives like a peasant for over a decade but another sorcerer crosses her path. D¿Nathiel is a prince from a world that is a mirror image of the four kingdoms but he suffers from amnesia and is unable to speak. Seri comes to his rescue and finds a love that she thought lost forever......................................... Imagination harnessed to talent produces a fantasy masterpiece, a work so original and believable that it will be very hard to wait for the next book in this series to be published. At times, Seri will remind readers of an Amazon warrior, a woman not afraid to do battle if the cause is just. There are many mysteries surrounding the prince of Avanar and Seri just begins to figure them out when he is taken away from her. The next installment hopefully should reunite the two star-crossed champions, as answers to some questions will provide fuller appreciation of these key characters............................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2