Customer Reviews for

Son of Perdition

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    Triumphant conclusion to wonderful series!

    Louise M. Gouge brings all the threads of her Ahab¿s Legacy Series to a triumphant conclusion with book 3, Son of Perdition. As Hannah and Ahab¿s son, Timothy, comes to manhood, graduating from the naval academy at Annapolis, he is faced with difficult choices made more difficult by the haunting legacy of his father, Captain Ahab. The nation is careening toward a civil war over slavery, and Isaiah, the son of one of the seamen who died in his father¿s tragic last voyage, is his sworn enemy. In spite of Timothy¿s attempts to establish a friendship with his rival, their conflict intensifies when Timothy falls in love with Isaiah¿s sister, Jemima. In this sweeping tale of romance and adventure, both Timothy and Isaiah face critical turning points that lead them ultimately to reconciliation with God and with each other. Ms. Gouge has produced a delightful resolution to this series that will keep readers enthralled to the last page. Very well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    I just fell in love with historical novels!

    I¿ve never cared for historical novels, and I hated Moby Dick when I was forced to read it in high school. So imagine my amazement when Louise Gouge had me mesmerized by page 3 of her excellent new novel, Son of Perdition! Louise brought her characters to life quickly and allowed this powerful yet poignant story to unfold through their lives. I may have to rethink my ¿I don¿t like historical fiction¿ statement, especially when it comes to this particular author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Twists of Fate, Tales of Glory

    Son of Perdition beckons to our innermost yearnings. Happy children, new beginnings and young love give way to the unthinkable, inescapable destiny of a young man haunted by his father¿s sins. Timothy Jacobs, son of Moby Dick¿s Captain Ahab, refuses to believe the damning account of his father¿s last voyage. Isaiah Starbuck, son of Ahab¿s fallen first mate, vows revenge. Happy playmates in childhood, these two young men journey together yet apart, as both search for the Way to lasting peace. Vivid nineteenth century characters, alive with integrity, mystery and raw emotion, blossomed in the fertile descriptions of Nantucket¿s whaling era, the Naval Academy and the Civil War. Louise Gouge has masterfully woven together the classic fiction of Moby Dick with this Christ-centered historical novel, and she peels away the characters¿ religious façade until finally, the simple, precious message of the Gospel emerges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Author Louise M. Gouge does it Again!

    SON OF PERDITION, book three of ¿Ahab¿s Legacy,¿ beautifully upholds the standard of excellence set forth by Louise Gouge in the first two novels if this outstanding series. Flawlessly carved from a wealth of research and cradled in well structured prose, the story transports the reader back in time to the seafaring days of whaling and of America¿s early Navy, as the son of Mellville¿s Ahab and the son of a man whose death Ahab caused clash in a world too small to contain them both. It¿s a story of love in the face of obstacles, of wealth versus poverty, of triumph over the scourge of war and pride. It¿s a story peopled with characters you¿ll carry in your heart for a lifetime. Like AHAB¿S BRIDE and HANNAH ROSE before it, it¿s a story you won¿t want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The third book of Ahab's Legacy is awesome!

    I read Son of Perdition in two days. I would've finished it in one, but I've been feeling tired lately and going to bed early. What a great story! I liked this one even more than Hannah Rose. Louise has a knack for describing horrific war injuries. Sheesh, I could picture those shredded limbs and blood splattering everywhere. I'm truly impressed. Also, this story has real depth to it. No pussyfooting around the issues in those days. Reality was men had temptations everywhere, and Louise includes that in her novel. I appreciate how that added to her story. The most impressive thing about Son of Perdition was the topics of blame and forgiveness, and how Louise works through that within the context of this story is truly amazing. Oh, and how often have we said to ourselves, 'I'll never be like that person.' We try hard to be just the opposite and sometimes despite all this we look in the mirror and see the very person we never wanted to emulate staring back at us. What a sobering truth. Only God can fix that. So if you want an emotionally deep and touching story about an era not often written about, which includes Navy battle scenes from the civil war, you'll want to read this book. The author has unique insight rarely observed in historical fiction. Oh, and her passion for the abolitionist movement and issues regarding slavery are truly inspirational. Great debates between Northern and Southern Navy brothers at the Naval Academy. I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    A Legacy to Live Down

    Stunningly jeweled with historic details, 'Son of Perdition,' by Louise Gouge, follows the lives and loves of Timothy and Isaiah as they wrestle with the bitter legacy left to both of them by Timothy's father, the infamous Captain Ahab. As they are unwillingly pushed together in lives that become increasingly intertwined, both men must learn the true meaning of God's grace and forgiveness or risk alienating the women who love them both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Fantastic Civil War Novel

    Timothy Jacobs is intrigued and haunted by the legacy of his deceased father, the famous Captain Ahab of Moby Dick fame. In spite of his mother's attempts to start their life over with a new name and being lovingly raised by his stepfather, he still wonders how much of his father's evil temperament is present in himself. He falls in love with Jemima Starbuck whose father died at sea with Captain Ahab. Her father's untimely death plunged the family into poverty. Jemima's brother,Isaiah, despises Timothy because of his father's sins. The two men enter the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis. Isaiah continues to detest Timothy in spite of Timothy's efforts to make peace. The Civil War breaks out and the two are drawn into the conflict. This is an excellent tale with historical details woven in seamlessly. The book explained naval details and action without reading like a 'textbook'. It is a story of forgiveness. An excellent finale to the three book series of Ahab's Legacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Wonderfully crafted story!

    Louise Gouge has a knack for wrapping historical accuracy around a wonderful story, blending truth with fiction in word pictures that live on for weeks after the book is finished. Although I enjoyed AHAB'S BRIDE and HANNAH ROSE, SON OF PERDITION is my favorite of this three-book series. The characters come to life on the page, with their stories told in a hauntingly beautiful prose. I highly recommend this story to lovers of history and lovers of well-crafted stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Son of Perdition Combines History, Romance, and Adventure

    Son of Perdition, By Louise Gouge This well-crafted novel is Louise Gouge¿s crowning touch to her Ahab¿s Legacy series. Louise possesses a knack for weaving historical elements into her story in a natural, entertaining way. Her zeal for the abolitionist movement and issues concerning slavery are inspiring. In this third novel of the series, Timothy Jacobs grows up determined to be as different as night and day from his infamous father, Captain Ahab. He changes his name and aims for perfection. But his arrogance shows through. And when he is terribly wounded during a Civil War sea battle, his wrath toward God threatens to turn him into a replica of the father he swore not to emulate. Will he learn to forgive, so that he can seek the forgiveness and love of his heavenly Father? Will he be able to accept the love of Jemima, his childhood sweetheart? Or will he be forever mired in his overwhelming bitterness?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Escape to the 1800's! Sail the seas! Read this book!

    Louise Gouge¿s story leaps from the page, grabs you by the collar and yanks you into the mid-1800¿s. Amid sailing ships, salty air and old sailors, you learn the story of Timothy Jacobs, A.K.A. Timothy Ahab, son of the legendary Captain Ahab. Journey with Timothy through a life where his father¿s actions loom overhead and threatens to ruin his future. 'Son of Perdition' is a wonderful story and a great inspiration. I read it through without stopping! Louise weaves a story with threads of the original Captain Ahab and the saga of his surviving family. If you enjoy romance, adventure and the high seas, I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1