Customer Reviews for

Son of Stone (Stone Barrington Series #21)

Average Rating 3.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Son of Stone is more of a family drama than the usual Barrington suspense thriller

Lawyer Stone Barrington has made full partner at Manhattan's Woodman & Weld. After his latest escapades (see Bel Air Dead), Stone plans to stay low key in New York and get closer with his teenage son Peter who he only recently learned he sired. Stone's former lover an...
Lawyer Stone Barrington has made full partner at Manhattan's Woodman & Weld. After his latest escapades (see Bel Air Dead), Stone plans to stay low key in New York and get closer with his teenage son Peter who he only recently learned he sired. Stone's former lover and Peter's mother Arrington Calder wants that for both males.

Peter plans to attend Yale University Drama School as he wants to become a film director. He and his dad develop a nice relationship while Arrington is sleeping with University of Virginia Architecture Professor Timothy Rutledge who oversees the finish to her mansion in Virginia. Stone uses some of connections to help Peter with his career choice. Meanwhile New York Post tabloid reporter Kelli Keane senses a scandal so she investigates the relationship between Stone and Arrington while a threat using Peter as the bait occurs.

Son of Stone is more of a family drama than the usual Barrington suspense thriller as Stone and Peter get to know each other while the father uses his influence to try to help his son further his career. Well written with a surprising twist, the tension comes late as much of the tale is about father and son getting to know each other.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good easy read with little fun

I think Stuart Woods is starting to phone it in instead of committing to true story development. This one is just too simple to be a mystery everything just falls into place unlike real life. His wife to be jumps out of bed with her lover, tells him to hit the bricks ...
I think Stuart Woods is starting to phone it in instead of committing to true story development. This one is just too simple to be a mystery everything just falls into place unlike real life. His wife to be jumps out of bed with her lover, tells him to hit the bricks and within a short time is married to Stone. He has the perfect son who writes, stars and directs the perfect movie, meets the perfect girl who write the perfect score for the movie and sell it all for twenty million dollars. Give me a break! I think Woods feels he has the perfect fan base, just throw it out there and they'll buy it, unfortunately I did. I'm a big fan but not of this kind of tripe.

posted by jrlabwalker on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Good easy read with little fun

    I think Stuart Woods is starting to phone it in instead of committing to true story development. This one is just too simple to be a mystery everything just falls into place unlike real life. His wife to be jumps out of bed with her lover, tells him to hit the bricks and within a short time is married to Stone. He has the perfect son who writes, stars and directs the perfect movie, meets the perfect girl who write the perfect score for the movie and sell it all for twenty million dollars. Give me a break! I think Woods feels he has the perfect fan base, just throw it out there and they'll buy it, unfortunately I did. I'm a big fan but not of this kind of tripe.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    SNOOZE FEST.Skip this one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Woods is history!

    Woods is wearing out! This was his worst to date and will probably be his last for me. Very amateurish and a waste of my time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    What a disapointment!

    The characters lack any emotional depth. Characters are one dimentional and uninteresting. I think this is an end to my reading Stuart Woods. I only gave it one star, but when I posted it, they added a star. I guess that way they try to make a book look better than it is. Not sure it is even worth one star.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Son of Stone is more of a family drama than the usual Barrington suspense thriller

    Lawyer Stone Barrington has made full partner at Manhattan's Woodman & Weld. After his latest escapades (see Bel Air Dead), Stone plans to stay low key in New York and get closer with his teenage son Peter who he only recently learned he sired. Stone's former lover and Peter's mother Arrington Calder wants that for both males.

    Peter plans to attend Yale University Drama School as he wants to become a film director. He and his dad develop a nice relationship while Arrington is sleeping with University of Virginia Architecture Professor Timothy Rutledge who oversees the finish to her mansion in Virginia. Stone uses some of connections to help Peter with his career choice. Meanwhile New York Post tabloid reporter Kelli Keane senses a scandal so she investigates the relationship between Stone and Arrington while a threat using Peter as the bait occurs.

    Son of Stone is more of a family drama than the usual Barrington suspense thriller as Stone and Peter get to know each other while the father uses his influence to try to help his son further his career. Well written with a surprising twist, the tension comes late as much of the tale is about father and son getting to know each other.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Is there a Zero Star Rating?

    This is the WORST book I have ever read. Everyone who buys it deserves a refund! I was so excited to see a new Stone barrington book come out and then to waste time in my life that I will never get back reading this trite, boring, ridiculous, emotionless, amatureish book - what a dissapointment. Stuart, you should be embarassed at what you've done to Stone and the gang. Perfect Peter made me want to throw up. I want to believe that you didnt write it, because I know you can do much better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Doesn't even deserve one star

    Enjoyed every one of the previous books, however this one is really bad.
    Everyone and everything ... just too perfect...like a poor romance novel.
    Stuart....we're through!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Son of Stone - not that great

    I usually enjoy the Stone Barrington series, but almost could not believe the 'flatness' of #21. The dialog was poor throughout the entire book. What has happened??

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Poorest effort ever!

    I have followed Stone Barrington since his introduction way back when. This is clearly Woods poorest effort in the series, although it has been trending that way for the last few. It seemed that many of the scenes were created simply to fill up the requisite number of pages. It was a lot more fun when Stone was hustling to make a living and not flush with cash! Let us hope that Mr. Woods can recapture the old Stone or he will have one less reader.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    WORST BOOK EVER!!!!

    I tried to get my money back from B & N. Wish I could give a negative rating. Can't believe he got paid for writing such tripe. Woods should give everyone an apology And their money back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Mr. Woods should never have written this book. It is completely

    Mr. Woods should never have written this book. It is completely out of genre, there is NO mystery, and he is preachy throughout. He shouldn't use a light mystery book to soapbox his causes. It's also very apparent that the "reviews" published in the front of the book must either be paid reviews or the reviewers didn't read the book. I'd put this book more in the fantasy genre as NONE of this realm. Come on, a genius boy, meets his father after 16 years and allows him to preach to him on how to behave in public and with his friends? And how realistic is it for ALL the cards to continue to fall into order for Stone. Come on Mr. Woods, your readers are not (or weren't) children.

    I wish there was a minus scale on the ratings, I'd be well into with this book.

    Mr. Woods has lost another reader for good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    :(

    So disappointed, not up to your usual writing Mr. Woods.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Son of Stone Stinker

    Shame on Mr Stuart. I feel insulted. At first I thought it was me, I have been reading more literally challenging books and I was thinking that this book was not up to par, but then I soon realized that this book was just writing at its worst.  I felt like I was reading a not very good first time author. I never looked at the reviews because I have always enjoyed Stuarts books.  I will not make that mistake again. If I could have returned this book I would have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Yuck! Doesn't deserve the one star!

    If you like infantile dialogue and zero plot then this book is for you. I defy anyone to tell me what was funny about the Rockettes joke. Last Woods book for me.
    I just wanted to add, I think the publisher owes everyone who bought this mess a refund and a sincere apology. How it arrived on any "best" list is a mystery, the only thing about the book that is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Marginal

    A fan of Woods but this book is not very good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Not up to par

    Son of Stone is a soap opera story well below what's expected of Stuart Woods. This volume was made to move the Stone Barrington character onto the next level but this could have been done using Woods' skill as a writer in a much better way perhaps as flashbacks in a more interesting story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Stuart Woods

    Nice read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    probably would recommend but haven't read it yet

    Haven't received this pre-ordered book yet. I'm expecting it to be as
    interesting as Stuart Woods many other books.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    love it love it cannot wait for new ones to be released

    love it love it cannot wait for new ones to be released

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Glad when ended

    What happen to Mr. Wood? He is a much better writer then this. Grade D- feeling generous because other are better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8