BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Son of a Gun: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Justin St. Germain is a brave storyteller. His writing is solid,

Justin St. Germain is a brave storyteller. His writing is solid, if not polished. The story is mesmerizing though. The story leaps off the page. I couldn't put this one down until I was done. Then I felt emotionally exhausted. St. Germain takes you on his journey and it...
Justin St. Germain is a brave storyteller. His writing is solid, if not polished. The story is mesmerizing though. The story leaps off the page. I couldn't put this one down until I was done. Then I felt emotionally exhausted. St. Germain takes you on his journey and it is a wild one.

posted by WhisperGant on August 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good - but not a page turner

If you want a sit on the edge of your seat book this is not it. If you want an interesting book about troubled children growing up and how it affects them this is it. You also get a great look at Tombstone the town and it's history. I have been there so it was intere...
If you want a sit on the edge of your seat book this is not it. If you want an interesting book about troubled children growing up and how it affects them this is it. You also get a great look at Tombstone the town and it's history. I have been there so it was interesting for me to learn more about it.

posted by 4884591 on September 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Justin St. Germain is a brave storyteller. His writing is solid,

    Justin St. Germain is a brave storyteller. His writing is solid, if not polished. The story is mesmerizing though. The story leaps off the page. I couldn't put this one down until I was done. Then I felt emotionally exhausted. St. Germain takes you on his journey and it is a wild one.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A total thrill ride. The author paints complex pictures of the d

    A total thrill ride. The author paints complex pictures of the details of the murder of his mother. It is a very well written, very interesting book to read. I give it my highest recommendation.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A stunning book about a murder and the after-affects. In the pro

    A stunning book about a murder and the after-affects. In the process we learn about the author's mother-son relationship. The writing is very good.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    I got this book from my local library after seeing a review in t

    I got this book from my local library after seeing a review in the New York Times. Justin St. Germain tells the story of his mother's murder in conjunction with the story of Tombstone Arizona and the gunfight at the OK Corral. The story is compelling without being suspenseful, since the reader knows at the beginning what will happen. St. Germain explores the woman his mother was and how that led to the choices she made, and how her raising of him formed him into the man he is, and how he coped with her murder. He also ties in the death of a woman that had been a neighbor of theirs who was also murdered by her estranged husband. I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Authentic and melancholy, this is a remarkable book. Every word

    Authentic and melancholy, this is a remarkable book. Every word rang true for me, and the writing was exceptional.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    What a book!! I read it in one day! Justin is so young and yet

    What a book!! I read it in one day! Justin is so young and yet such a good writer! His mother's love is always there for him and his brother.
    As a mom and grandma, I have to say Justin, to gain peace, you have to forgive Ray and go back to Catholicism.Your mother would want that and pray for her. I think her life went array because her parents were divorced and she did not get a stable moral life, which she deserved!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    I have a lot of respect for the author of this book. Justin St.

    I have a lot of respect for the author of this book. Justin St. Germain tells a very unhappy tale but one he and his brother survive. To me it's a critical book for those working within victim networks and officers in training. But also those who just want a good book. It doesn't leave you sad but more satisfied that the author somehow worked through the answers. It was a very good book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Son of a Gun is an amazing piece of literature. The writing is g

    Son of a Gun is an amazing piece of literature. The writing is great and really draws the reader in. Five stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Good - but not a page turner

    If you want a sit on the edge of your seat book this is not it. If you want an interesting book about troubled children growing up and how it affects them this is it. You also get a great look at Tombstone the town and it's history. I have been there so it was interesting for me to learn more about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great

    details, told by the author

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Very engaging!!! Highly recommended!!!

    This well written memoir gives the reader great insight into the pain caused by a "senseless" murder. Although you don't ever get all the answes, this book takes you on a journey to discover why this tragedy occurred. Another excellent book on the Nook is "The Partisan" by William Jarvis. This novel also traces a great tragedy during World War II. It is based on facts and is only 99 cents right now. Both books deserve A++++++

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Fair

    The book was therapy for the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Good read

    This is a very well written book and an emotional story. I was touched by the author's honesty and how he shared his journey with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    A very different book but an excellent description of what happens inside a family who experiences murder.

    An excellent portrayal of the chaos inside a family who experiences murder. The raw emotions were so accurately described. I unfortunately understand it all since my daughter was murdered 14 years ago. Life gets very confused. I appreciated the tremendous strength to look at the rawness and anger that surrounds a survivor. Very well written and appreciated by someone who has been there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Not worth the time

    Slow, not much plot or action. A story that I had to force myself to finish. Disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Son of a Gun

    I really enjoyed St. Germain's recounting of what he found out about his mother's murder. Good details about his mother and his growing-up years. I would recommend without hesitation, particularly if you live in the area where this crime took place, as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    L

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Bon

    Mom

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2