Customer Reviews for

Son of the Mob

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

loved it

this book was so good i loved every page of it.There alot of suprises and secerts that vince uncovers.READ IT!!!!

posted by Immortal-princess on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and good book

I rate this book 3 stars out of 5 because it was good but at some parts it was confusing. The book is about a 17 year old boy Vince who discovers secrets about his own family throughout the book. He never knew about his dad's business until one day, he found out his dad...
I rate this book 3 stars out of 5 because it was good but at some parts it was confusing. The book is about a 17 year old boy Vince who discovers secrets about his own family throughout the book. He never knew about his dad's business until one day, he found out his dad is the mob boss he doesn't actually repair vending machines. He is determined to live a normal life his dad's job won't stop him or at least he thinks it won't. Vince tries hard to stay away from his family's job. He tries to do normal things like play sports, have friends, and go to school, but since his dad is so powerful he is well known around the school. Vince tries football but he quits because the kids are afraid of him all because of his dad being a mob boss. He finds a girlfriend who he thinks he can trust named Kendra Bightly. It turns out her dad is the FBI agent that wants to put Vince's father in jail. I recommend this book for more of the older kids because there is a lot of romance in this book. Like at the college party when he meets Kendra. This is also a good book for people who are interested in action-filled books because most of the book is filled with action like the part where Vince is fleeing from Kendra's house away from her parents. Anyway this book is really good. Read it to find out what happens next.

posted by SpartanReading on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Son of the Mob

    I loved this book! I thought its both storyline and characters were great. I would recomend it to anybody who wants to read a romance and action book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    great book

    this book was amazing and vince really took every thing to heart which made this so great the way thing were placed and the way things were put in such a great order .I really enjoyed such a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    You definately want to read this one!

    Son of the Mob is a really great book. I definately reccommend it. It has great characters and expresses the feelings of having a parent with a 'boss' type of job really well. It was a great book and I know this review doesn't do it justice. I reccommend this book for guys AND girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Son of the Mob

    High school love, have you ever had one. Vince is a high school boy that has a high school love. Vince has a good friend named Alex that even though he does not have much of a love life, Vince thinks it is wise to talk to Alex about what he should do. Vince goes threw many girls in his love life, but he just doesn¿t find one he likes. Until one day he thinks they might fit together very well. Then trouble is sparking his mind. When he finds out that her father is a FBI agent. I know what u is thinking, ¿What is wrong with an FBI agent.¿ Ok let me tell u what is wrong with a FBI agent. Vince¿s father is the person of a mob. So Vince is trying to hide what his father is, because Vince wants no part in the mob. Now the question would be does Kendra know the back ground of the person she is dating? Will Vince keep his dad a secret between their relationships that might destroy their love forever? Will Kendra¿s dad know who he is, or will his dad ever meet Vince. I liked this book over all, this book had suspense in it and it made me want to read more and not put it down. I also like how much detail is really in this book. This book made me have more images of what was in the book, and around the scene that the author was describing to his readers. The things I dislike in this book was when Vince and Alex would go on about the website they made. I will say that if u like this book you will like a lot of action book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Son of the Mob

    I was amazed by this book, which is a rare occurence. The book is about an average high school student, Vince Luca, who's father runs the 'vending machine buisness.' The 'buisness' is actually the New York mafia. Vince however, wants nothing to do with his father's buisness, but you can't live in the same house as the mob and not get cought up in it. In the beggining of the book Vince's first date is ruined due to certain problems that came from the mob. Soon after that his brother tries to make it up to him. Of course in the mob when someone makes up for something they did it isn't the way we would do it. The main problem in the book is that Jimmy the Rat owes Vince's dad more money than he has, so he tries to get Vince to help him. Then Vince gets cought up in the mob, trying to help all of the buisness's 'victims'. Naturally this isnt easy for some one who has tried to stay out of the mob as much as possible, not to mention that he has to keep all this from his girlfriend. Now that I'm on the subject, Kendra Bightly (Vince's girlfriend) is a huge problem in her own. It turns out her father is an F.B.I. agent. This makes for a Romio and Juliet like story line. As you can imagine Vince's life is an incredible balancing act. And that is what makes the story interesting. I would recomend this book to boys from the age 13-18, even though any one would probably enjoy reading it. Happy reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Read It!

    Nayomi Gonzalez, TCHS Class of '08. The book 'Son of the Mob' is an amazing book. It is about a teen named Vince Lucas, who learns that his father is a mobster. He tells his father from the beginning that he will never join his business. It wasn't that great when his father tried to buy him off, to try and joining the business. But who knows what will happen next. This novel teaches every one to learn from right and wrong and that noone should manipulate you or your life. I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and books that you cannot put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    The radical review for Son of the Mob by Gordon Kormon

    Son of the Mob is a great book about a mob prince who is dating the girl of his dreams who turns out to be an FBI agents daughter. That FBI agent is Agent Bite-Me who has survellince cameras set up in the mob princes house. So now Vince 'the mob prince' is trying to keep from Kendra 'the FBI agent daughter' that is dad is a mob king, while also trying to keep from his dad that Kendra is Ms. Agent Bite-Me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Review for Son of the Mob

    Vince Luca is just another average seventeen-year-old boy. He is obsessed with girls, trying to get a good grade in his computer class 'so he can go to a good college', and trying to balance his school life with his social life. There¿s only one small problem that gets a tad bit in the way of all this, his father, Anthony Luca, is the biggest mob boss in New York City! That¿s not Vince¿s only problem though his girlfriend¿s dad is the FBI agent that has been trying to put Vince¿s father in jail for life. This book is full of action, like when Vince is threatened with a gun at point blank. It has humor in it too, like when Jimmy Rat, Anthony Luca¿s client, sings the nation anthem in a bathroom stall. I would mainly have to recommend this book to boys ages 12-15. Although it is a novel meant for young adults I would also recommend it to any father that has a son. They could probably relate to it because of the relationship between Vince and his father are similar to many father and sons, even though he is Anthony Luca, biggest mob boss in NYC. Overall I would have to give this book four stars out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    rpk

    The book Son of the Mob was a good book, but not one of my favorites. I did not like this book a lot because it did not grab me in the beginning. In this book there is young man in high school, and his name is Vince Luca. His family is a little odd because his father is the boss of the Mob and they do very bad things. He has never had a girlfriend, but then he meets a girl named Kendra and he starts dating her. Vince finds out that his girlfriend¿s dad is trying to put Vince dad into jail. Vince tells Kendra that his dad is the one that her dad wants to put into jail. Than Vince helps his dad¿s people to get out of trouble and Kendra get very upset. There are many more twists in this story. I think that people from 12 years of age and up would like this book, and also people that like books with many twists in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Son of the Mob

    This story was about a guy named Vince who falls in love with a girl named Kendra. When he finds out her father is a FBI agent and been trying to put Vince¿s father in jail for five years, he doesn¿t think that the relationship will work. I think older teens would enjoy this book then younger ones because it may get confusing when its talking about the vending machine business and it is really confusing what Vince¿s father does. I didn¿t enjoy it that much. I thought some of it was confusing about the parts about the fathers business that he works for and it was just boring. I think the theme of this book is even if your parents are criminals you wont end up like them. So even though Kendra¿s father works for the FBI and has been after Vince¿s father it doesn¿t mean that he will end up like his father being a criminal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Son of the Mob

    AM 11-27-07 Son of the Mob Book Review I have heard a lot of rumors on how Son of the Mob by Gordon Korman was hilarious. But in the position of a 13-year-old girl being hilarious wouldn¿t go so far. This book is of a mob prince or so called Vince Luca a boy who attends high school. His dad is a mobster who has been wanted in jail by the FBI for years. The reason on why they want him in jail is because he is in the ¿vending machine business¿. Vince always says he doesn¿t want to be involved in the business but as life goes on he gets caught and tangled in a tricky situation. When I say tricky I mean a little mess in the business and handling with a girl who is now his girlfriend and who also is the daughter of and FBI agent. Her father has heard of his father and is one of the FBI agents who want¿s to put him in jail. Throughout this book I thought it just kept on going on and on. When I heard it was funny I thought it would be for my kind or age to understand. I could realize some of the jokes but didn¿t so get them. Otherwise this book somewhat romantic in a way between Vince and Kendra it made me want to read more. I wouldn¿t so advise ages near my age and under my age to read this book id think this book is more for young adults. I would have to say this book tells me to never lie to someone you really like or you will end up sad for a while. I would advise that this book is ok not that good and not that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Unexpected turns

    The book Son of the Mob was a great read. I would recommend this book to people who like books that are funny and have unexpected twists. The book is about a teenaged boy named Vince Luca. His life is not an ordinary life. His father runs a ¿vending machine¿ business, which is another name for the mob. Vince doesn¿t want to be any part of his fathers business. At his house the FBI has wired it so the can hear everything you say. There is only one place in his house that is safe to talk about business related stuff. Vince has always thought he was never going to have a girlfriend that was going to accept what his father does for a living. Then he had girlfriend he thought he would tell until he found out what her father does. Her father is in the FBI and he is the one that wants to put his father in jail for good. Vince also doesn¿t want to be any part of his fathers business. The theme of the book is it doesn¿t what your family does for a living but what you want to do for a living. I liked the book becaus2e it had some unexpected twists in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Son of the Mob

    Vince Luca is a mobster¿s son trying to stay out of the family business. But, when your dad is one of the most powerful and feared men in New York it¿s a little hard. Vince struggles to maintain to the best of his ability a normal lifestyle but his father being in the mob always seems to interfere, even when he¿s playing sports. Despite it all, Vince still has the time to get a girlfriend, Kendra Bightly. It¿s all going good until Vince finds out that Kendra¿s dad is the FBI agent that has bugged Vince¿s house with microphones and is trying to put Vince¿s father away for good. Vince tries to keep everything a secret from her for fear of their relationship. The only thing is Kendra finds out something about Vince that jeopardizes their relationship for good. I really liked this book because it is full of action. Even in the first couple of pages the action is already started. The book really seemed to grab a hold of me and take me on the wild ride of Vince¿s story. It was hard to put this book down because it seemed like there was always something interesting going on in Vince¿s life. The one thing I didn¿t like was that there were quite a few places where it just stopped and left you hanging, or also known as ¿cliff hangers.¿ A few cliff hangers are good because they build up the suspense but soon it just got aggravating. This book is apart of a series but it is the first one. I plan on reading the rest of the series consisting of only two books. You don¿t need to go off reading a whole bunch of other books to fully understand the plot and storyline. It is very easy to understand and being the first one it introduces you to every character. This book is one of a kind and you really need to read it to enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Son of the Mob

    Vince Luca is an average high school kid. Good grades, plays sports until you meet his dad. His dad is the mob boss. Vince doesn¿t like his dad¿s business. So you can watch this plot unfold under him between good and evil. I didn¿t like it how his dad tried to buy him a car to make it up to him. I like it how Vince got caught up in the moment just like every other high school teen. This book is in a series and should be read first. I think every one would like this book. This book is really good because Vince gets caught up and who will be there to catch him when he turns for help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Ever try to be normal, but your family¿s past is too much to overcome

    The book is about a boy named Vince whose dad is the leader of a big mob gang. Vince wanted nothing to do with his dad¿s business. Vince also starts dating this girl whose dad is a F.B.I. agent. Also Jimmy Rat owes his dad a lot of money and keeps coming to Vince for it. Someone else is writing dumb stuff on his website in media class. You would love this book if you like a little romance, action, and life with a mob owner. There is a second book after this one that I hope to read someday. I am not easily impressed with books, but this one had very few extremely boring parts. This book wasn¿t like a lot of other books I have read. Who would have thought to write a book about a child whose father is the leader of a mob and the kid wants nothing to do with it? People I recommend this book to would be twelve and up. This book is for mostly boys, but girls could read it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    The Radical Review for Son of the Mob

    Vince is a seventeen year old high school kid whose father is a leader of a powerful crime organization. He goes out on a date with the girl of his dreams and he finds a severely beaten man in his car trunk that his older brother shoved in there. When he quits the football team, he starts dating a girl named Kendra Brightly. He got a phony cell phone from Ray a gang member. Vince starts transporting money for his fathers business. Vince figures out that there is a that is a gang member that is an undercover FBI man. Vince gives him forty-eight hours to leave the city. The book Son of the Mob is a well plotted out book that most kids in my grade would enjoy. I thought I picked one of the most boring books ever. I ended up liking the book so much I ended up reading 150 pages in three days. Don¿t judge a book by its cover. Just because a book looks boring doesn¿t mean it is. Son of the Mob is the first of two books in a series. Son of the Mob reminds me of Batman because they are both in it over our heads. I think anybody who likes realilistic fiction would like this book because I know someone who that book and they said it was spectular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Son of the Mob

    Son of the Mob A Stressed Out Senior Who is Looking for Some Help. I read the book Son of the Mob and I rate it as five stars. This book is a must read. The author Gordan Korman did a fantastic job on this book. The book is about a stressed out senior named Vince Luca. Vince has a younger brother named Tommy and an older sister who is married and has moved away. His brother Tommy dropped out of school when he was a junior in high school. He dropped out and went to the family business. Vince¿s dad Anthony Luca is the head of a mafia. This means they have to be careful what they say because the hose is wired. When Vince and his family are talking they usually say instead of the business they say the vending machine business. Vince ends up going out with a girl named Kendra. His friend Alex is not too fond of Kendra. There is also this man named Jimmy Rat. He is always getting in trouble with Vince¿s dad and the Uncles. His dad had always wanted Vince to go with the family business. So as you can see Vince has to juggle a Girlfriend, a nut job, and not to disappoint his father. I recommend this book to some people who don¿t like to read that much PICK THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I recommend this book because it is a great storyline and is easy to read. There is also a second book to this book called Son of the Mob Hollywood Hustle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    Something for Everyone

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. There is truly something for everyone: action, adventure, romance, and humor. It was so funny and I really think it isn't a guy book or a girl book, it's just perfect, perfect,perfect!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Exciting!

    This book is a inventive and action packed! You won't be able to set it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Catch the mob

    This book is about a young boy named Vince Luca. His dad is the mob boos in New York city. When Vince gets a girlfriend every time his family always messes with Vince and the girl that he is with do not want anything to do with any more. The first girl he went out with was every he wanted, because she was really good looking girl. When Vince was making out with her on the beach she got chilly and asked if Vince had a blanket, which Vince said yes, but when he went to get her the blanket his girlfriend followed him, and when he popped open the trunk of his car he found more than a blanket. He found a guy passed out and all bloody and he was wrapped in the blanket that they were going to use. When the girl saw the bloody man she asked Vince to take her home. In which later he found out that his brother borrowed the car the night before to do his business. Vince finds anther girl named Kendra which Vince finds out that her dad is a FBI agent trying to put Vince¿s dad in prison for good. All Vince¿s life has been hiding in secret to talk to his parents about their business. I liked this book it was hard to put down. I did not have no dislikes. I think a person that likes action and mystery type of books will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8