Customer Reviews for

Son of the Mob

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

loved it

this book was so good i loved every page of it.There alot of suprises and secerts that vince uncovers.READ IT!!!!

posted by Immortal-princess on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and good book

I rate this book 3 stars out of 5 because it was good but at some parts it was confusing. The book is about a 17 year old boy Vince who discovers secrets about his own family throughout the book. He never knew about his dad's business until one day, he found out his dad...
I rate this book 3 stars out of 5 because it was good but at some parts it was confusing. The book is about a 17 year old boy Vince who discovers secrets about his own family throughout the book. He never knew about his dad's business until one day, he found out his dad is the mob boss he doesn't actually repair vending machines. He is determined to live a normal life his dad's job won't stop him or at least he thinks it won't. Vince tries hard to stay away from his family's job. He tries to do normal things like play sports, have friends, and go to school, but since his dad is so powerful he is well known around the school. Vince tries football but he quits because the kids are afraid of him all because of his dad being a mob boss. He finds a girlfriend who he thinks he can trust named Kendra Bightly. It turns out her dad is the FBI agent that wants to put Vince's father in jail. I recommend this book for more of the older kids because there is a lot of romance in this book. Like at the college party when he meets Kendra. This is also a good book for people who are interested in action-filled books because most of the book is filled with action like the part where Vince is fleeing from Kendra's house away from her parents. Anyway this book is really good. Read it to find out what happens next.

posted by SpartanReading on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Interesting and good book

    I rate this book 3 stars out of 5 because it was good but at some parts it was confusing. The book is about a 17 year old boy Vince who discovers secrets about his own family throughout the book. He never knew about his dad's business until one day, he found out his dad is the mob boss he doesn't actually repair vending machines. He is determined to live a normal life his dad's job won't stop him or at least he thinks it won't. Vince tries hard to stay away from his family's job. He tries to do normal things like play sports, have friends, and go to school, but since his dad is so powerful he is well known around the school. Vince tries football but he quits because the kids are afraid of him all because of his dad being a mob boss. He finds a girlfriend who he thinks he can trust named Kendra Bightly. It turns out her dad is the FBI agent that wants to put Vince's father in jail. I recommend this book for more of the older kids because there is a lot of romance in this book. Like at the college party when he meets Kendra. This is also a good book for people who are interested in action-filled books because most of the book is filled with action like the part where Vince is fleeing from Kendra's house away from her parents. Anyway this book is really good. Read it to find out what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    This was an amazing book. I recommend you read it.

    I believe that Son of the Mob is a book for thirteen to eighteen-year-olds. Because of the language that the characters use and the scenarios that are depicted, nine-year-olds and ten-year-olds would not understand what is happening in the book. Gordon Korman uses words like atmospheric, formaldehyde, schmoozed, and vindicated. Most nine and ten-year-olds would not even know those words. Children that age have not even heard about the mafia. I think that thirteen-year-old boys and girls would like the book. Teens can relate to some scenarios in the book and that helps them understand what is happening. If the people who read it understand it, then they will most likely enjoy the book.

    The book Son of the Mob is set in New York State. Vince Luca, 17, and his family live in a small town just outside of New York City. Normally sons want to own their dad's business someday. Vince wants nothing to do with his dad's job. Vince's dad just so happens to be the head of a powerful crime organization, otherwise known as the Mafia. Vince is nothing like his dad. He is quiet, and has no social life except for hanging out with his friend Alex. Until of course, he meets and starts dating Kendra Bightly. Kendra is a reporter for the school paper. The only problem is that her dad, also known as Agent Bite-Me, is an agent of the FBI. Agent Bite-Me has been trying to put Vince's dad, Anthony Luca, in jail for the past five years.

    Son of the Mob was written by Gordon Korman. It is similar and different from the book, Walk Two Moons that was written by Sharon Creech. These books are alike because they have characters that have suspicions about each other. In Walk Two Moons, Phoebe thinks that Margaret Cadaver, her neighbor, is a murderer. In this case of suspicions, Phoebe was wrong. In Son of the Mob, Agent Bite-Me believes that Anthony Luca is the head of the Mafia. But, In this case Agent Bite-Me is correct. These two books are different because Walk Two Moons is set in Euclid, Ohio but Son of the Mob is set in New York. Also in Walk Two Moons, the main character is a girl, and the author is a woman. But, in Son of the Mob, the main character is a boy and the author is a man.

    I really liked the book Son of the Mob because it had action, comedy, and romance, three genres of books that I love, all squeezed into one book. A hilarious part was when Vince's mom was mad at Angelo, who works for Vince's dad. Angelo was being mean to Vince's older brother Tommy. She asked Angelo to help her in the kitchen and then she shoved Angelo's hand right into the chicken potpie. The chicken potpie went into the trash and Angelo walked around with a first-degree burn for six weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    rpk

    The book Son of the Mob was a good book, but not one of my favorites. I did not like this book a lot because it did not grab me in the beginning. In this book there is young man in high school, and his name is Vince Luca. His family is a little odd because his father is the boss of the Mob and they do very bad things. He has never had a girlfriend, but then he meets a girl named Kendra and he starts dating her. Vince finds out that his girlfriend¿s dad is trying to put Vince dad into jail. Vince tells Kendra that his dad is the one that her dad wants to put into jail. Than Vince helps his dad¿s people to get out of trouble and Kendra get very upset. There are many more twists in this story. I think that people from 12 years of age and up would like this book, and also people that like books with many twists in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Son of the Mob

    This story was about a guy named Vince who falls in love with a girl named Kendra. When he finds out her father is a FBI agent and been trying to put Vince¿s father in jail for five years, he doesn¿t think that the relationship will work. I think older teens would enjoy this book then younger ones because it may get confusing when its talking about the vending machine business and it is really confusing what Vince¿s father does. I didn¿t enjoy it that much. I thought some of it was confusing about the parts about the fathers business that he works for and it was just boring. I think the theme of this book is even if your parents are criminals you wont end up like them. So even though Kendra¿s father works for the FBI and has been after Vince¿s father it doesn¿t mean that he will end up like his father being a criminal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Son of the Mob

    AM 11-27-07 Son of the Mob Book Review I have heard a lot of rumors on how Son of the Mob by Gordon Korman was hilarious. But in the position of a 13-year-old girl being hilarious wouldn¿t go so far. This book is of a mob prince or so called Vince Luca a boy who attends high school. His dad is a mobster who has been wanted in jail by the FBI for years. The reason on why they want him in jail is because he is in the ¿vending machine business¿. Vince always says he doesn¿t want to be involved in the business but as life goes on he gets caught and tangled in a tricky situation. When I say tricky I mean a little mess in the business and handling with a girl who is now his girlfriend and who also is the daughter of and FBI agent. Her father has heard of his father and is one of the FBI agents who want¿s to put him in jail. Throughout this book I thought it just kept on going on and on. When I heard it was funny I thought it would be for my kind or age to understand. I could realize some of the jokes but didn¿t so get them. Otherwise this book somewhat romantic in a way between Vince and Kendra it made me want to read more. I wouldn¿t so advise ages near my age and under my age to read this book id think this book is more for young adults. I would have to say this book tells me to never lie to someone you really like or you will end up sad for a while. I would advise that this book is ok not that good and not that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    great plot overall story okay

    This book definitely had the potentail of being a great book. The plot was great, the execution wasn't . I won't say that it was a conplete waste of reading,but I am not compelled to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    A romantic book

    The book the Son of the Mob is a great book to read. This book is full of action it will keep you on your toes. Not to mention is so funny. So read this book you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Maffia ActioN GonE WILDDD-- ROmeo & Juliet StylE

    I did not really like this book. It was not the kind of book that i enjoy to read. it did not capture me, which made it hard for me to get into. There was nothing too exciting or suspenseful that was really there to be interested in. I did not hate the book It was a good book. i just personally did not like it. It did not have that 'one thing' that captures me in books. I would reccommend this book to basically anybody. It overall is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    Bad Money Goes a Long Way

    I enjoyed reading ¿Son of the Mob¿. It wasn¿t like any gangster book I¿ve read or any movie I¿ve seen. But without that grimy feeling of a true mob story, I still was able to read the book thoroughly. It had many surprising twists and you never knew who was the rat that was working for the FBI. Plus you have the son dating an FBI agent¿s daughter. Wouldn¿t you want to see what happens? I did, and now I am about to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1