Customer Reviews for

A Song Flung Up to Heaven

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Enlightening! Great read.

    Enlightening! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Very well written,holds your interest all through to the end.

    The book revealed the true character of Maya Angelou
    She exposed areas o her life that were truly amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read...

    Wish the book was longer, I really felt as if I was there with Maya during all the events she endured. Strange that I'm reading it at the time of election because I had just read her chapter on loosing Martin the day before election day.

    Maya is a colorful writer and it took me some time to adapt to her style but I absolutely love this book it was inspiring. After reading I want to get out and be sure to be a part of the world and what's going on around me...she was a part of so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Great!

    I can not believe anyone criticises anyone who would take a thirty year time period to examine the quality of human spirit! That not only gives Maya Angelou the right to her wide acclaim, but also the acclaim for this final installment in the 6 book journey she has taken us on. People who criticise Maya for her endever obviosuly are the reason why the quakity of humans continues to decline. Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    Excellent

    Maya Angelou's writings have never been a disappointment -- and this book is no different!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    HER JOURNEY THROUGH LIFE

    Ms Angelou¿s A Song Flung Up To Heaven is a collection of her memoirs collaborated together to form this book of great historical events and how they effected her life. I was surprised at some of the events that have taken place in her life and how she chose to handle them. I was also baffled at the lifestyle she was living while networking with some of the black elite entertainers and leaders, which demonstrates it is not what you know but who you know. Ms Angelou hits hardest on her relationships with James Baldwin and the African, whom she never names. Although I thought she should have gone into more detail about her son Guy, she did express her love for him as well as her brother who had a profound affect on her stability as a woman. Ms. Angelou highlighted the Watts riots that took place in the 60¿s and all though she went into great detail about the riots, I think I may have missed the effects it had on her, nonetheless the actual events were well written and educational. I would definitely recommend this book. Stacy Campbell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Satisfied...

    I don't know what's the deal with these other raters but this book was superb from beginning to end. Are you sure you rated the right book, people? Like I already predicted, the book was excellent, a page-turner, and fascinating word-play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Outstanding, an understatement

    This book is incredible. These cruel other reviewers have either mistaken this book for 35- Baby Names, or they are all just drop out potheads with nothing better to do than tear apart a piece of art like this one that they could not construct in one or maybe two lifetimes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    not a good book

    I was very disappointed in this book. I'm sorry that i can't get my money back. our book club of about 20 member ,gave this book a 1 star. book rule is start a book finish it . this is one book i did not want to finish but I did. glad i don't have to pass it on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    A Woman Of Strength

    Maya Angelou is not afraid to express what she feels and lifes experiences.She is a very strong willed woman.Very talented and gifted. Cassandra Dillon Author of "Reality Poems".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Can't you smell hack?

    It's terrifying that someone with so little talent can be so widely acclaimed. Maya Angelou's prose are almost as poorly written as her verse.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Maya Sisterspeak

    It is not often that I buy a book, go home and read it through in one sitting. In the middle of the afternoon. In the midst of too much. Too much work. Too little sleep. Serious project deadlines. Yet, Maya Angelou¿s A Song Flung Up to Heaven was there at the store where I went only¿I thought¿to buy water. But, my spirit beckoned. I bought the autobiography, hoping that it would nourish me for the afternoon, provide an oasis of calm and comfort before the rush to be productive assailed me. The first few lines of the book¿so clear, concise and conversational¿were intoxicating. I settled down to journey one more time through Angelou territory. A Song Flung Up to Heaven is a deliberation, a refreshing, resonatingly rich personal history that is a community¿s history that is a national history that is human history. Angelou invites us to reflect again on several departed giants in the African diaspora: Kwame Nkrumah, W. E. B. DuBois, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, James Baldwin, Betty Shabazz. All of a time, determined to sweep into the social fabric of nations policy and practice that honors the humanity in all of us. In Angelou¿s sixth and [she says] last autobiography, her traveling shoes take us readers from Ghana to New York to San Francisco to Hawaii to Los Angeles. Family and friends gather to support her, to steady her in the midst of successive experiences of personal grief, sorrow and pain when close friends, first Malcolm X and then Martin Luther Kings, are gunned down days before Maya is to work with them on historic nation-building, nation-changing activities. Maya would have buckled but for the extensive network of people who responded instinctively and unstintingly to her need. A Song Flung Up to Heaven is a celebration of a woman phenomenally. Phenomenal woman: Maya Angelou.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2002

    Classic Maya

    This was great. I also read 'Cascade' by Dennis Klett and found it to be wonderful. Very real, emotional poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    Great BOOK

    I was at the Festival of books and she was discussing her book. She is the best speaker, everyone should see her. I bought the book and went home to read it and i is captivating and has real good scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    Sweet Read

    I always enjoy Maya Angelou's beautiful writing. I especially continue to look forward to any words written about her mother. She seemed so together, and would I have loved to have had her for a sounding board about'anything.' The book is a sweet read and perfect for a rainy afternoon sojourn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1