Customer Reviews for

Song of Dragons: The Complete Trilogy

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good read

This was a good read. The only reason I gave it a four star is because the plot line was exactly the same for all three books. Same bad guy, same overwhelming odds, same struggles until the climax, then the victory to end it up. The characters were well developed and I ...
This was a good read. The only reason I gave it a four star is because the plot line was exactly the same for all three books. Same bad guy, same overwhelming odds, same struggles until the climax, then the victory to end it up. The characters were well developed and I really liked the idea of the book. The Vir Reqius was very creative.

I believe this book would be great for teens.

posted by thedarkone on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time

Except for the rape scenes I would say this was written for kids.
How many times must something be described before you become sick of it. Repetition seems to be at least a third of book.
While I’m at it, how stupid can the protagonist be before you give up on them? ...
Except for the rape scenes I would say this was written for kids.
How many times must something be described before you become sick of it. Repetition seems to be at least a third of book.
While I’m at it, how stupid can the protagonist be before you give up on them?
Reading this book is like going to a bad movie that you only discover after you paid to get in.
If you’re over 12 years old I don’t think you will like it. If you’re under 12 you should not read this for other reasons.

posted by mudgger on August 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Good read

    This was a good read. The only reason I gave it a four star is because the plot line was exactly the same for all three books. Same bad guy, same overwhelming odds, same struggles until the climax, then the victory to end it up. The characters were well developed and I really liked the idea of the book. The Vir Reqius was very creative.

    I believe this book would be great for teens.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Don't waste your time

    Except for the rape scenes I would say this was written for kids.
    How many times must something be described before you become sick of it. Repetition seems to be at least a third of book.
    While I’m at it, how stupid can the protagonist be before you give up on them?
    Reading this book is like going to a bad movie that you only discover after you paid to get in.
    If you’re over 12 years old I don’t think you will like it. If you’re under 12 you should not read this for other reasons.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great read

    This book was written very well, great use of dialogue and it is narrarated beutifully. I would strongly reccomend this series for people who like books like Eragon and the Lord of the rings trilogy.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Execlent

    This book was amazing I rarely read books and i read the entire series and will be coming back to read them again many times more. Great story, great plot, and the three books flowed together perfectly!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    It had lots of potential...but it killed it badly.

    It's a good thing I bought this trilogy all in one 'cover', or I wouldn't have read past the first 'book'. A world of shape-shifting dragons vs non-shape-shifting humans had potential, but the author filled his pages with tears, rage, insane hatred, mercurial (border-line manic-depressive) mood-changes, impossible odds that were beatable only with a particular magical item. My recommendation is to leave this book on the shelf, walk away...and pick something else to read. Pretty cover, but a serious, frustrating waste of time inside it. I would NOT read any other books in this series, and would look at any other offers by this author with a jaundiced eye.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Good :D

    This is a great, well written story. As the whole series is only $2:99, I ask you reader, what do you have to lose? Buy it!

    In all seriousness though, this is a pretty good series. While I am only about half way through the first novel, I enjoy it a lot and would recommend this series to teens or adults interested in fantasy. It is original and a good read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Regretful Purchase

    Bought the trilogy because of good reviews, but was barely able to make it through the first book. I will not read the final two. This is one of those poorly written fantasies where everything comes easy to the hero. Poorly developed and barely edited. Only bother with these books if you get them for free - I really wish that I could get my money back.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great

    Amazing trilogy and action packed

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    I really enjoyed this Trilogy it was thrilling in places and ke

    I really enjoyed this Trilogy it was thrilling in places and kept me reading to find out what was going to happen
    I read this book really fast 1st one took me 3 days the 2nd took me a day the last book took me a little longer 4 days.
    The characters in this book gave you lots of twists and turns.
    I am looking forward to the other books coming after this to complete the story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    A kick-ass book for anyone who loves dragons!

    A kick-ass book for anyone who loves dragons!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Song of Dragons Trilogy (Blood of Requiem, Tears of Requiem, Lig

    Song of Dragons Trilogy (Blood of Requiem, Tears of Requiem, Light of Requiem) - Daniel Arenson

    The beginning of the description on Amazon states,"Song of Dragons, an epic fantasy trilogy, tells the story of Requiem -- a fallen, ancient land whose people could become dragons... and whose last survivors dream of flying again."

    Since I read this trilogy as a 'single' book, that is how I shall review it. An entertaining series, this epic tale covers a span of decades, yet is mostly set within just a few consecutive years. Yet these few years are filled with a lifetime's worth of living.

    There are several protagonists that appear throughout the story, but only one main antagonist. And like any good family, the original protagonist and antagonist are brothers. Not just any brothers, they are royalty. However the elder brother, Dies Irae, becomes the antagonist when he is passed over in favor of his younger brother, Prince Benedictus, to inherit the crown. The King considers Dies Irae to be his shame, simply because he does not have the requisite magic of the Vir Requis to shift and become a dragon - thus he can't possibly be considered as the next in line for king. This one decision eventually leads to patricide and ignites a war. Intended to be genocide of his own people, Dies Irae goes on to be the ultimate cause of the destruction of entire species.

    The war is considered over as all the Vir Requis, or weredragons as Dies Irae names them, are supposed dead. Yet there is a rumor that King Benedictus the Black (due to his being a black dragon) lives on. And that rumor is what keeps one young Vir Requis from losing all hope, particularly when his home is no longer safe for him and he is on the run from Dies Irae himself.

    A small band of surviving Vir Requis, including Benedictus, are chased from place to pace by Dies Irae and whatever army he builds. Somehow these four dragons manage to do what over a hundred thousand couldn't - they not only survive the armies of Dies Irea, but they go on to destroy them. Yet Dies Irae's insanity spurs him to continue to creates ever worse armies to throw at these dragons. Clearly much of the story is about battles and fighting, running and hiding - enough that Arenson manages to create a trilogy. One would think that all the warring and running would becoming boring well before the third book, yet he manages to infuse them with enough creativity to keep it from feel to repetitive.

    He has created completely believable characters that are emotionally relatable. And they grow at the right pace, matching the action of the plot. You want to cheer for the good guys while still being able to see their flaws and, at times, want to hit them over the head with a golf club. And he makes the antagonist so repulsive that it can be difficult to read about him at times, yet you forget that tiny spark buried inside him that is the root of all his cruelty.

    The world that Arenson has created is similar to others that are found in epic fantasies, yet has added his own distinctive mark. Never was there a time where the story was interrupted by a discrepancy in the world he crafted, or by a character stepping out of their role.

    I enjoyed this trilogy enough that I was excited to learn that Mr. Arenson has more plans for to continue on in this world - but far enough into the future to hopefully avoid any redundancy in his storyline.

    On a side note: I find myself compelled to comment on the names of the main characters, as there is a theme that is both intriguing and also slightly entertaining, as if he is testing the reader. For example, there is King Benedictus, Kyrie Eleison, Dies Irae, Gloriae, Agnus Dei, and Lacrimosa. And of course their relation to their homeland, Requiem. It seems clear that Arenson is specifically using the religious aspect of each name to tell another, more basic tale. The simplified version of good versus evil. It would seem that he is testing the reader's knowledge of the Requiem Mass. Either that or he is hugely inspired by it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Dragon clan

    Im draco!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Recommend for a good easy read

    Good plots and twists for all three, definitely worth reading. Written with short chapters that keep you reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Love fantasy stories and this filled my expectations. Fun and engrossing read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I wish I had the time back I spent reading this.

    Possibly one of the worst trilogies I've ever read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    So-So trilogy.  As far as a fantasy story goes, it was a good pr

    So-So trilogy.
     As far as a fantasy story goes, it was a good premise. However, the short, choppy sentence writing style and many grammatical errors distracted from the plot.  The same plot through the three books and shallow development of  the characters made it easy to put the book down. Many scenes were recycled throughout the three books and there was little development of the story. The author had many opportunities to add plot twists, but failed to do so.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Daniel arenson

    Song of requim lore of requim war of requim each set has 3 books worth reading excelent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Stormdust Bio 2.0

    Name: Ok really!?, Age: Young, Gender: Girl, Looks: Pure black, Eye color: Blue, Type: Princess and a Night Fury, Type: Two are only know that exsist, Personality: Nice and caring, Loves: to fly, Mate: No, Crush: Meh, History: Rather not talk about it, Siblings: Toothless, Mother: unknown, Father: Unknown, Others: Leader of the Night Furys/Princess, Dislikes: The Mudwings, and Snowwings, Rather do: Fly in peace(both), and be on a nice island, Sig: Stormdust

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Lyra

    Wish i could help but the last time i helped dragons i was sold as a s*x slave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great series

    One of the best that i have read, i will definitely read his other series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4