Customer Reviews for

Song of Kali

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Superb, Riveting

If you enjoy a thriller/mystery with a touch of supernatural horror (the sort where the supernatural element may be explainable via more scientific methods) then this book is for you.

I picked it up after seeing a glowing review from Harlan Ellison, and his review wa...
If you enjoy a thriller/mystery with a touch of supernatural horror (the sort where the supernatural element may be explainable via more scientific methods) then this book is for you.

I picked it up after seeing a glowing review from Harlan Ellison, and his review was spot on.

Oh...you're probably going to want to read the last quarter or so of the book in one sitting. Plan accordingly. I was up until three AM reading it on a day where I otherwise would have been asleep by 23:00. :)

posted by 6074984 on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not that scary.

This book was a disappointment. I gave it three stars because there are some parts that are really disturbing, but I can't say that it was really scary. So much could've been done with Kali, but instead, Simmons resorts to the living dead and killing infants. The p...
This book was a disappointment. I gave it three stars because there are some parts that are really disturbing, but I can't say that it was really scary. So much could've been done with Kali, but instead, Simmons resorts to the living dead and killing infants. The parts featuring Kali were the creepiest, but they are few and far between. The plot is pretty aimless, and the reader is left with too many unanswered questions -- maybe that was the whole point, but it left this reader pretty unsatisfied. Borrow it from a friend, but don't waste your money.

posted by Anonymous on December 19, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Superb, Riveting

    If you enjoy a thriller/mystery with a touch of supernatural horror (the sort where the supernatural element may be explainable via more scientific methods) then this book is for you.

    I picked it up after seeing a glowing review from Harlan Ellison, and his review was spot on.

    Oh...you're probably going to want to read the last quarter or so of the book in one sitting. Plan accordingly. I was up until three AM reading it on a day where I otherwise would have been asleep by 23:00. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Top-notch horror

    This book stuck with me for a long time. It was not specifically terrifying while reading, but the overall gloom of despair and hopelessness whether the action took place in India or back in States is undenyable. Dan simmons is a master of storytelling and this is one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant, but subtle and haunting.

    This book stuck with me for a long time after I put it down. An earlier review said that it wasn't scary and left too many unanswered questions - I am fairly certain that person didn't understand it, or maybe just picked up the wrong sort of book. Song of Kali wasn't written to give you a cheap thrill. Rather, it sits inside your head and keeps you awake at night. Sure, there is a scary scene with the monster Kali, but her most terrifying quality isn't what she can do to a person physically - it's what she unleashes on the world and humanity. A very good read for anyone interested in the darker side of humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Not that scary.

    This book was a disappointment. I gave it three stars because there are some parts that are really disturbing, but I can't say that it was really scary. So much could've been done with Kali, but instead, Simmons resorts to the living dead and killing infants. The parts featuring Kali were the creepiest, but they are few and far between. The plot is pretty aimless, and the reader is left with too many unanswered questions -- maybe that was the whole point, but it left this reader pretty unsatisfied. Borrow it from a friend, but don't waste your money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEWED: Song of Kali WRITTEN BY: Dan Simmons PUBLISHED: Januar

    REVIEWED: Song of Kali
    WRITTEN BY: Dan Simmons
    PUBLISHED: January, 1998

    Song of Kali is a well written novel of dark fiction, though hardly “the most frightening book ever written” as heralded across reviews and its book cover. There are actually very few scenes that seemed particularly scary at all. The plot is fair and emotionally-driven, compelling and sad, with good pacing, conflict, etc. And, man!, can this author write! The technical ability of Dan Simmons is extraordinary. However, the book just felt barely “above-average,” rather than fantastic, after closing the final page. The ending is anticlimactic, i.e. dreadful (in terms of boredom)... this story had so much potential to have been greater. The backdrop and circumstances Simmons established could have led to many, many more frightening scenes than he used. All-in-all, a fine read, especially as this is the first novel he ever wrote. Note to reader: His books get much better.

    Four out of Five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great author

    Love his books this one was very spooky the Terror was marvellous as well Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Good book

    Scary but slow at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Boring beyond belief

    I do not understand why anyone would consider this a horror novel. At best it is a fictional account of Calcutta in the late 70's. After 80 pages I gave up. What a waste of time. I have enjoyed many of Simmons' books, but this one was a huge disappointment.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    One of the most terrifying novels of satanic sects I ever read

    Song of Kali is a nightmarish novel, truly frightening and engrrossing, its about an American poet and editor from New York, propossed to go to Calcutta, India, along with his Indian wife and baby daughter (Cacutta may stand as one of the most despicing, gut wrenching, nasty and evil places ever descripted so masterfully and detailed in human behavior in modern literature)to pick a poet froma missing, world famous Indian poet. This novel, first slow paced in narrative, transforms into an alarming, paranoic, claustrophobic and chilling novel, which evil can be anywhere, from the first moment when the American poet steps his foot in evil land to the horrific passages that are described, as well as Indian cults, rituals, traditions and manners of life. Its also a satanic sect novel that reminded more 'Rosemary's Baby'. Nightmares of the cult goddess are disturbing, violence erupts along the songs of that totally nut vampire-like goddess. Totally fantastic and chilling, this first novel won the 1985 World Fantasy Award as the Best Novel, superior to Anne Rice's 'The vampire Lestat.' This novel is a must-read for horror fan and I can't wait for the motion picture that is now announced in every web-site por beginning production. Enjoy this gem, folks. 'Violence is power, but there are songs that sung.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2