Customer Reviews for

Song of Redemption (Chronicles of the Kings Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Well written

    Following the blasphemy of his father, Hezekiah sits on David¿s throne. He wants to do the right thing for his people starting with a renewed belief in Yahweh and a cleansing of the Temple. However, adhering to the laws of Yahweh is complex and dangerous. The young monarch has enemies who make demands on him....................... Making matters worse the Assyrians are demanding tribute that his country can ill afford though prosperity has begun to return. More critical to Hezekiah, he believes God will protect the Jews though his closest advisors counsel him to pray. When he meets Jerusha, a Jew who fled from Assyrian captivity; he knows he has found his queen. As the Assyrians march closer to Jerusalem, pressure on Hezekiah to abandon the Lord grows, but though he has doubts shared by his frightened spouse, he stays the course........................ SONG OF REDEMPTION continues the fascinating biographical fictionalized account of King Hezekiah (see GOD AND KINGS) trying to return his people to the one God while struggling with his council recommending bowing to the Assyrians instead of Yahweh. Readers will feel they have been transplanted to biblical times as Lynn Austin brings to life Hezekiah trying to stay what he believes is the proper course that Yahweh would expect him to lead his people down. This is an insightful well written biblical biographical fiction that readers will treasure............... Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    great book

    This is a wonderful series about king Hekaziah, who for me, is not just a anonymous king in the bible anymore, but a real person who loved and lived for God. Thanks to the author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Thought provoking read

    Great series so far. This is book 2 in the series and I have done a lot of self-reflection b/c of this book. I am looking at my own faith & relationship w/God. Btw, I admit I was scared at some parts of the story...you will figure out why when you read the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Song of Redemption by Lynn Austin

    What a glorious account of the continuing serious , book two of God's and King's. King Zecchariah must decide if God's instructions and laws governing King's allows for multiple wives . The Assyrians are capturing prisoners and enslaving them and worse. This story introduces us to a new family. Poor people who are flocking into Jerusalem to finally celebrate God's holidays. Mainly Passover. There are also immigrants flocking from everywhere to hide from the Assyrians. Alliances are severed. Will King Zecchariah leave all to God ? Or will he pay tribute. Jerusalem is growing. The problem of water is becoming an issue and new walls need to be added as the city grows and prospers. Will the King get an heir as God has promised the many generations of the House of David ? King Zecchariah 's faith is tested.
    This is a five star book in a ten star history. The cruel Assyrian military cruelty is very informative in this book. War, romance, and Biblical history combine in these books. I can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    History came to life

    I throughly enjoyed this book. It was extremely well written and I felt I had been transported to another time. I could almost taste the wine!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    K

    Don't like the fact that they use NIV.... I would rather them use KJV to support the story. Otherwise great book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Lynn Austin

    Best series ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I really liked this book, along with the whole series. Couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Historical fiction

    Excellent historical fiction series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Loved this second novel in the Chronicles of Kings series. Such

    Loved this second novel in the Chronicles of Kings series. Such an amazing story of God's people and their stories of redemption. You don't want to miss this series - great historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Great book

    I loved this book. Very good reading material. If you like reading\studying read this book,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Awesome read!

    Awesome read! This book is just a good as the first one. Continues the story of King Hezekiah as he re-establishes God's laws in Jerusalem. Well written, it will make you examine yourself where your relationship with God is concerned. Just started the 3rd book and am loving it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Can't wait to read them all!

    I am thoroughly enjoying this 2nd installment of the Chronicles of the Kings series. Both 1 and 2 were very hard to put down. Total page turners. It's wonderful to read stories of the Bible written in a way which is readable for this century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    highly recommended

    a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Love the series so far

    Love the series so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Loved the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Very good, easy read

    This book is the second book in the series and the author continues to show how the Judean people suffered and prospered through the reigns of King Ahaz and his sone Hezechiah. The author has made the main characters very likable. I enjoyed the historical content of the book, the author merges the fact and fiction effortlessly. My only complaint with this book is the typographical and spelling errors. I have noticed this issue on several of the Nook books that I have purchased and am beginning to wonder if it is just the carelessness of those putting the information into Nook form, or if the authors themselves are making the errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Inspiring

    Seriously inspiring! If this does not help you see the old testament in a new light, I don't know what will!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Great book!!!!

    Great book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed the entire series. Well written, thoughtful, and accurate where the fiction intersects with Biblical history. It's a great story. Lynn Austin has a God-given talent and is obviously using it for His glory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6