Customer Reviews for

Song of Redemption (Chronicles of the Kings Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Historical fiction

    Excellent historical fiction series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Very good, easy read

    This book is the second book in the series and the author continues to show how the Judean people suffered and prospered through the reigns of King Ahaz and his sone Hezechiah. The author has made the main characters very likable. I enjoyed the historical content of the book, the author merges the fact and fiction effortlessly. My only complaint with this book is the typographical and spelling errors. I have noticed this issue on several of the Nook books that I have purchased and am beginning to wonder if it is just the carelessness of those putting the information into Nook form, or if the authors themselves are making the errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great read, but get the hard copy

    I loved the book, but the Nook version was lacking some of its functionality. For example, it always reset to page 1. I finally caught on and set bookmarks, then found my place from there, but what a pain! I couldn't post reading statuses to my friends because it always said I had 0% read. I'm now in the 3rd book of the series, and it has the same problem. (I didn't have this problem with the first book.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I don't often read read religious fiction, but the first of this

    I don't often read read religious fiction, but the first of this series was a free Fridays selection and I grabbed it for my Nook. After reading it, I felt it held together for my reading style better than a lot of contemporary religious fiction, so I bought the entire series. These are my thoughts on the series as a whole: The first, fourth, and fifth of the series hold together quite well as interesting fictionalized stories. I would rate them a "3" (meaning to me that I liked them but wasn't obsessed by them as I might have been by other popular fiction like Hunger Games). The second and third (the story of Hezekiah) was interesting, but the characters were more or less "flat." I would have rated them "2" (meaning to me that the author could have spent more time on these, and she probably wasn't any more pleased with them than I was). But the overall series had an added value which causes me to rate the series as somewhere between a 3 and a 4. (Can't do that, can you? Have to settle for one or the other.) The added value was that the stories, as a whole, stuck to the Bible script so tightly that I was encouraged to follow through many times to read the Biblical accounts and to do other research about the times via the internet. (Easy to do on a Nook tablet!) Thus, the series turned into its own Bible study for me. A big point to this historical Biblical account is to show what happened when Israel turned to God and when Israel turned away from God in the Old Testament times. Because of Austin's tight script leading me back to the Biblical account all along the way, I saw the Bible message in a much deeper way than I previously remembered. Plus, 3 out of 5 of the books were quite entertaining in their own right.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Ms Austin continues her excellent stories, combining the old Biblical stories and legends and intertwining the plots the meanings into our present day problems and tribulations. Bringing good historical fiction makes for a very interesting book and series to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2