BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Song of Scarabaeus

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A terrific outer space science fiction romance

The ultra top secret government agency the Crib deploys a "biocyph" technology to terraform the planet Scarabaeus. However, something goes terribly wrong and the planet is dying. Leadership of the Crib has no idea why and besides deploying the cover-up seeks explanati...
The ultra top secret government agency the Crib deploys a "biocyph" technology to terraform the planet Scarabaeus. However, something goes terribly wrong and the planet is dying. Leadership of the Crib has no idea why and besides deploying the cover-up seeks explanations. The Crib raised orphan Edie Sha'nim because she possesses the innate talent and augmented with appropriate training and brainwashing to program biocyph seeds. Edie knows what caused the genocidal snafu.

The Rebel Fringe colonies seek their freedom from the iron fist of the Crib's clutches know of her. Agents kidnap Edie and link her "telepathically" to Finn even as they want her to help them prevent the biocyph seeds annual deactivation. Edie fears telling Finn and the Rebels what she knows as she inadvertently played a key role in the destruction of Scarabaeus.

Song of Scarabaeus is a terrific outer space science fiction romance with the emphasis on the science extrapolated from current trends. The planets add to that feeling of being out in deep space with their strange extraterrestrial surfaces while the lead coupling leashed together mentally is attracted to one another but each has to find a way to separate what their leaders programmed from what their hearts demand. Sara Creasy provides a winner with the lamenting haunting Song of Scarabaeus.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Price is more than the paperback

I want to read this but won't buy it as long as the ebook costs more than the paperback. I don't understand why publishers do that. Very frustrating.

posted by Geek_Girl on June 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific outer space science fiction romance

    The ultra top secret government agency the Crib deploys a "biocyph" technology to terraform the planet Scarabaeus. However, something goes terribly wrong and the planet is dying. Leadership of the Crib has no idea why and besides deploying the cover-up seeks explanations. The Crib raised orphan Edie Sha'nim because she possesses the innate talent and augmented with appropriate training and brainwashing to program biocyph seeds. Edie knows what caused the genocidal snafu.

    The Rebel Fringe colonies seek their freedom from the iron fist of the Crib's clutches know of her. Agents kidnap Edie and link her "telepathically" to Finn even as they want her to help them prevent the biocyph seeds annual deactivation. Edie fears telling Finn and the Rebels what she knows as she inadvertently played a key role in the destruction of Scarabaeus.

    Song of Scarabaeus is a terrific outer space science fiction romance with the emphasis on the science extrapolated from current trends. The planets add to that feeling of being out in deep space with their strange extraterrestrial surfaces while the lead coupling leashed together mentally is attracted to one another but each has to find a way to separate what their leaders programmed from what their hearts demand. Sara Creasy provides a winner with the lamenting haunting Song of Scarabaeus.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    fast-paced, action packed adventure

    Sara Creasy has tackled the Science Fiction community with her debut SONG OF SCARABAEUS. I love the chance to enter into a new world with a new author and I loved Ms. Creasy's new creation. I felt that she did a phenomenal job building her new worlds and characters. SONG OF SCARABAEUS is a fast-paced, action packed adventure, mixing in a lot of sci-fi technology, with an emotional backdrop that keeps the pages turning.
    Edie is a very strong woman, she never really had a chance to bond with people, and is very tech oriented, as that is all the Crib really let her be. While her interactions with others was limited, she didn't lack people skills nor compassion.
    Finn has been dealt a really bad hand in life. He was a commanding officer in war, then became a slave to the Crib's, who tried to break him, but never succeeded. Now he's expected to watch over Edie, but what he didn't expect was the emotions that would threaten to break through. 
    Honestly, I'm a sucker for any romantic elements, and I grew very attached to Edie and Finn and their budding relationship, I can't wait to see where future books take them. There is a strong chemistry between him and Edie, though they barely touched upon their emotions in this book. Edie was rightfully leery of any attachments, but slowly began opening up. I also want to see what is in store for Cat, Gia, Corky and Yasuo, to see what direction they will all go, and to see if the Crib empire will become diminished or if the revolutionaries will begin to gain power.  There are so many questions left unanswered that leave me hoping that a second book comes out soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    This book is very enjoyable

    To call it a "romance" is stretching the definition, but it's an excellent read.

    A female cyber-techie physically hooks into the programming in just everything around her to try to set things back on track, but instead it keeps running further and further amok.

    There's lots of excitement as the multitudinous bad guys, bad gals and bad critters chase her around. She's stuck with the male hero nearby for the entire time or else he's going to blow up (not my idea of a romance, but it takes all types).

    The characters are developed a bit further than they usually are in this sort of action-packed story, but not far enough that it becomes a "girl story".

    I liked it and will read it again, eventually.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sara Creasy-Song of Scarabaeus

    I have always preferred to read my dark urban fantasy and watch my SciFi (i.g. SG1, SGA, SGU, Farscape, BSG, etc.). While I am a huge scifi fan, I would consider this my first official scifi book.

    Besides my favorite selected authors, I feel like urban fantasy is spiraling down into a bit of a repetitive rut. Needing something new and inspiring, I decided to give this book a chance. I am so glad I did because this book was spectacular! It was exciting, imaginative, full of action and completely exceeded my expectations.

    For those fellow dark urban fantasy readers wondering how exactly to categorize this book; I would categorize it as a SciFi book dark urban fantasy style. Meaning the flow of the writing and lack of romance is similar to dark urban fantasy but instead of dealing with demons, vamps and fae, it focuses on planets, space and time instead. Also, for those who don't fancy romance and are wondering if they should take a chance with this book, contrary to this books description there wasn't one lick of romance; so don't let that false classification influence your decision.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers who are looking for something different and I anxiously await the next book Children of Scarabaeus.

    In addition to my other recommendations, I would also like to recommend: J.A. Saare Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between, for some reason this book isn't listed on bn.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Enthralling Cyberpunk Romance

    As a lover of SF Romance, I can't believe I never read this book before now! I fell in love with the characters and the world. So much so, I went out and bought CHILDREN OF SCARABAEUS immediately--and I'm seldom excited enough about a story to do that. The cyberpunk and biopunk blended nicely with the romance between Edie and Finn. This is s smart book with an intriguing concept. Dear, dear Finn. I am such a sucker for an emotionally wounded man who refuses to show he's hurting and still manages to step up and take control when he's needed. Plus, Creasy puts him in the role of reluctant protector from the very beginning. His hardened strength and realism complements Edie's sheltered view of her world. She is one of the most likeable female characters I've read in a while. I just wanted her to give into her desire for Finn at least once. I believe the sexual tension could have still been maintained even if they had consummated the relationship. The constant threat of separation, which went beyond the metaphorical distancing of a lover to be an actual life and death struggle, kept the stakes high. Adding a physical element to their relationship would only make those stakes higher. I can think of several great opportunities for this, like the skiff, the shower, the shared quarters. Come on, Edie, give Finn a little love--he hasn't been laid in the four years he was in prison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    love this book

    I really love this book i didn't think i would enjoy it as much as i did. I would recommend it to everyone. Can not wait to find out what happens next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1