Customer Reviews for

Song of Solomon

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a Must-Read!

The language in this book is absolutely breathtaking. Toni Morrison literally draws you into the story until you completely believe you are a witness to the passionate (and sometimes magical) situations in Milkman's life. Though you may feel like Morrison has left y...
The language in this book is absolutely breathtaking. Toni Morrison literally draws you into the story until you completely believe you are a witness to the passionate (and sometimes magical) situations in Milkman's life. Though you may feel like Morrison has left you hanging at some parts, lacking all the informtion, just wait it out--situations are resolved and your curiosity will be satisfied. Some of the topics that are included in the book are quite interesting and make you sit back and think about their application to real life, and to your life. The relationships between the characters in this book are so full of life, especially Milkman and Hagar's realationship. The characters feel like real people--they have flaws, they have weaknesses--they are people you feel that you know as well as yourself, because it is so easy to identify with their emotions. Overall, I greatly enjoyed this book because it was beautifully written and showed a part of love that I'd never thought about before. Also, Milkman's story is absolutely captivating and inspiring. I highly recommend this book!

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wishclan's territory READ DO NOT POST

Wishclan's territory with descriptions.
Result one: Territory descriptions.
Result two: Main clearing. The camp is protected by scissor grass and bramble. The fresh-kill pile is located here and cats can eat, talk, gossip, and share tongues here. This is also where cats...
Wishclan's territory with descriptions.
Result one: Territory descriptions.
Result two: Main clearing. The camp is protected by scissor grass and bramble. The fresh-kill pile is located here and cats can eat, talk, gossip, and share tongues here. This is also where cats ask to join Wishclan..
Result three: Leader's den. The entrance is blocked off by a curtain of moss. There is a hole in the top of the cave and under that hole is the leader's nest.
Result four: Medicine den. There is an area for the medicine cat and his/her apprentice to sleep. There are cracks for the herbs and a tiny pond for cats to drink from.
Result five: Highrock. If the leader ever calls for a meeting or ceremony, come here under highrock.
Result six: Warriors den. Large open cave with brambles around the entrance. The nest material is in a corner too.
Result seven: Apprentice den. Semi-big cave with a moss ball in the corner for apprentices to use as nests.
Result eight: Nursery. This den is closed off from the weathers and is protected by brambles.
Result nine: Elder den. This den is very well made. It is well shaded and protected from the weathers.
Result ten: Dirtplace. Every clan needs one! It has a secret tunnel that leads to mist mountains, result three.
Result eleven: Herb-ridden forest. A very good place for medicine cats to gather herbs!
Result twelve: The crystal clear lake. It is not a very big lake, but it is teeming with fish. It is also nice to drink.
Result thirteen: An old Two-leg nest. It seems to be abandoned. Maybe a medicine cat can find something there?
Result fifteen: Very busy and large Thunderpath. A cat must be careful when crossing!

posted by 17413030 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    Definitely a Must-Read!

    The language in this book is absolutely breathtaking. Toni Morrison literally draws you into the story until you completely believe you are a witness to the passionate (and sometimes magical) situations in Milkman's life. Though you may feel like Morrison has left you hanging at some parts, lacking all the informtion, just wait it out--situations are resolved and your curiosity will be satisfied. Some of the topics that are included in the book are quite interesting and make you sit back and think about their application to real life, and to your life. The relationships between the characters in this book are so full of life, especially Milkman and Hagar's realationship. The characters feel like real people--they have flaws, they have weaknesses--they are people you feel that you know as well as yourself, because it is so easy to identify with their emotions. Overall, I greatly enjoyed this book because it was beautifully written and showed a part of love that I'd never thought about before. Also, Milkman's story is absolutely captivating and inspiring. I highly recommend this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I think that this is an amazing book, besides the sex and violence, which I understand are necessary in the book. This book is a true journey through a young man's life. Not only does he try to find himself,but he discovers much more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    must read

    i just got finished reading this book for my AP lit class and its awesome! i didnt know what to expect from Toni Morrison but i figured it would be good if she had won a nobel prize but i was really suprised in the book and i felt like i personally knew each character at the end and i recommend the book to any one even if they dont like to read you'll find you end up a better person after reading this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Song of Solomon

    Milkman's graveyard love affair with Pilate's daughter was a lesson for me. I don't ever want to love someone that much where it drives me to...all I can say is read it for yourself. A sensual love story about a young man's discovery of life itself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    A Skeptic at First

    I was assigned Toni Morrison as an author for a novel study I was in and was skeptical at first, but Toni Morrison proved me wrong! This book was amazing! From the moment I picked up the book I couldn¿t set it down. She draws you in and makes you never want to put her book down. Dramatic, intense, romantic, captivating and exhilarating are just a few words that describe this novel. I loved how she described the characters and made you a part of their life so much so that you insert yourself in their situations and vice versa them into yours and question how they would react. In my mind when I see how people respond to certain situations I title them as a character from Song of Solomon 'for example he just pulled a milkman or she is so much like Hagar'. This is most definitely not a children¿s book or a bed time story. This book is written at a mature level that is still enjoyable for high schooler and up. As a high schooler my self I enjoyed many of the qualities of this book. Like many things I am sure it would be just as enjoyable as an adult if not more so. I feel that this point of view chose of third person was both captivating and impressive. It allowed greater Character development to occur. Guitars development left me amazed at how little he trusted his friend. It was just so captivating. Not only the characters but also the settings become real and vivid she left me feeling as though I had walked on Not Doctor Street, and visited all of the places throughout the novel. I just can not sing enough praises for this novel. I am ready to read it over and over to draw more conclusions, and catch things from this novel that I missed the first time through. Toni Morrison¿s novel impressed me so much that I can¿t wait to get another one. The storyline is spectacular and the language is simply stunning, and I would have to call this novel breathtaking. I give Song of Solomon two thumbs up. I would recommend it to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    This book should be in classrooms everywhere!

    After reading this book, you will feel as if you have just inherited a great wisdom that you must share with everyone around you. This is my all-time favorite book. I've read it 3 times. Toni Morrison's writing embodies what every author can only dream to accomplish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Morrison wakes the Dead but then some of them may go back to sleep.

    In Song Of Solomon Toni Morrison, better known for her novel Beloved, creates a world where believable characters exist in a surreal environment where oddities are the norm and the Dead walk. Weather they are butchering vagrants in caves or stealing a sack of human bones the characters in the story go about strange and often disconcerting tasks with an altered and demented moral perspective. My reasoning behind a three out of five rating for this particular work stems not from these sometimes disturbing images, the issues in history and present the book means to address are disturbing, but in the method in which they are presented. For the first half of the story no discernable plot shows through and all Morrison provided to hold the readers attention exists purely in her abilities as a very descriptive writer. About half way through the book the major characters become apparent and I was able to form valid opinions on their validity to the work as a whole and understand their internal conflicts. This epiphany comes to late in the story and when it does show through the plot is not powerful enough to compensate for what was often a tired read. Do not think that because I say the book lacks structure I am discrediting Morrison¿s ability to delve deep into the underlying as well as the obvious evils of racism and human discrepancy. She does so with a prowess equal to that of the greats on the subject but needs to evolve the ways in which she conveys her message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Good but Strange

    Macon Dead the III was given the nickname ¿Milkman¿ when his mother was caught breastfeeding him well into his toddler years. Milkman is a self-absorbed arrogant man living off his fathers money and his grandfathers name. Completely oblivious to his surroundings, Milkman treats the women in his family like strangers. It wasn¿t until he meets his Aunt Pilate that he shows emotion and gratitude towards a family member. After hearing Pilate¿s stories of a family long lost, Milkman sparks a greedy interest to the family inheritance. In turn, he is spun into a journey that would teach him about family ties, commitment and love. The Story of family connections when we are well past the halfway point and the reader may struggle through the sub-plots. It is not until the very end that the reader can tie the beginning to the overall story. But stick with it, the stories and lessons they teach are well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Love love love

    Very good read indeed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    not recommended

    tough to follow...never really understood the point she was trying to get across.
    very strange....not even sure if I'll try to re-read, to see what or how I missed whatever I was suppose to get.
    was looking forward to it after being on my book club reading list for month of February.
    ??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    highly reccomended

    this book was wonderful, highly recommended. it was delivered promptly and in perfect condition; i could not ask for anything better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Essential reading!

    A bold and empathetic story written by an splendid writer. A beautifully imagined, fully realized and poetically written small-scale epic about multiple generations of a single African-American family and its relationship to a small community. Primarily focused on the young adulthood of a characer nicknamed Milkman, but equally sensitive to the perspectives of numerous other characters (family, friends, members of his community), Song of Solomon is about so many things at once. I had a very profound emotional reaction to this story. I think that most people probably have a good estimation of the theme and content of this story, especially those who have read Toni Morrison before. I think the parts I really loved most were the ones that revealed the conflicting ways in which the pressures of the American dream, the uncertainty of the future and the ghosts of our pasts influence how people react to the injustices and fears in our life. I would give the work itself 5-stars, but would rate the quality of the e-book edition less so and inferior do to typos and formatting errors that were distracting. Song of Solomon is a masterpiece.
    Spence Horner 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    unbelievable prose. breathtaking and heart wrenching story.

    unbelievable prose. breathtaking and heart wrenching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    All of the characters are wonderful and horrible at the same time! This is a great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Cherished novel

    Morrison is amazing. This novel requires discipline and attention to detail but well worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Starstar

    Oh, ok. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    So good, I read it twice!

    I read this book for the first time in 1997.... a senior in high school for my english research paper! I was captivated by it then and again when i read it 2 weeks ago.. i was wondering if i would have a different viewpoint. I understood the book more fully and the characters personalities hit a little closer to home with the reality of life that i have now....but one thing remains...i was completely drawn in now as i was then

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long, Dramatic...but in a bad way!

    Waste of time....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The end

    I had to read this book for my english class and I was not excited about it (having attempted to read and not enjoyed Beloved). The beginning was okay and I found a lot of the more racy part really unnecessary, but the end is what really saved it. The ending was absolutely amazing, and I guess it's because it tied everything together so nicely. It was so beautiful and well written and its what saves it from being lower than 3 stars. If you liked her other works, its porbably a good book to pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    One of the most interesting, creative books I have ever read!

    I absolutely fell in love with the characters! Toni Morrison captured the fact that each person is truly a world themself. I will never forget Milkman, Guitar & Pilate. This is a must read for anyone who enjoys a good book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6