Customer Reviews for

Song of Solomon

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a Must-Read!

The language in this book is absolutely breathtaking. Toni Morrison literally draws you into the story until you completely believe you are a witness to the passionate (and sometimes magical) situations in Milkman's life. Though you may feel like Morrison has left y...
The language in this book is absolutely breathtaking. Toni Morrison literally draws you into the story until you completely believe you are a witness to the passionate (and sometimes magical) situations in Milkman's life. Though you may feel like Morrison has left you hanging at some parts, lacking all the informtion, just wait it out--situations are resolved and your curiosity will be satisfied. Some of the topics that are included in the book are quite interesting and make you sit back and think about their application to real life, and to your life. The relationships between the characters in this book are so full of life, especially Milkman and Hagar's realationship. The characters feel like real people--they have flaws, they have weaknesses--they are people you feel that you know as well as yourself, because it is so easy to identify with their emotions. Overall, I greatly enjoyed this book because it was beautifully written and showed a part of love that I'd never thought about before. Also, Milkman's story is absolutely captivating and inspiring. I highly recommend this book!

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but Strange

Macon Dead the III was given the nickname ¿Milkman¿ when his mother was caught breastfeeding him well into his toddler years. Milkman is a self-absorbed arrogant man living off his fathers money and his grandfathers name. Completely oblivious to his surroundings, Milkma...
Macon Dead the III was given the nickname ¿Milkman¿ when his mother was caught breastfeeding him well into his toddler years. Milkman is a self-absorbed arrogant man living off his fathers money and his grandfathers name. Completely oblivious to his surroundings, Milkman treats the women in his family like strangers. It wasn¿t until he meets his Aunt Pilate that he shows emotion and gratitude towards a family member. After hearing Pilate¿s stories of a family long lost, Milkman sparks a greedy interest to the family inheritance. In turn, he is spun into a journey that would teach him about family ties, commitment and love. The Story of family connections when we are well past the halfway point and the reader may struggle through the sub-plots. It is not until the very end that the reader can tie the beginning to the overall story. But stick with it, the stories and lessons they teach are well worth the read.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Unusual.

    The revelation that I derived from this work is how we can fail to discover ourselves. Sometimes, an individual in a quest (oftentimes lifelong)to attain riches and wealth may lose sight of one's true self. In reality, as far as this story is concerned, one's true self is the ultimate treasure. Unfortunately, there were some elements in the novel that were unnecessary. Thus, the plot seemed crowded. Also, this piece was hard to follow. In Morrison's defense, she does make an attempt to explain all that is included in the book. However, the closure was abrupt, and it was not done neatly. I do think it is a good book. Some items are unusual enough to keep your interest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    song of solomon

    not a fan, but very good if you like Morrison's style. I find some of her work difficult to read and understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    Song of Solomon

    I've read plenty of books, but this is by far my favorite novel that I have ever read. It's highly original, interesting, heart breaking, and completely innovative. I have never read a book that stuck with me as much as this one has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    beyond wonderful!!!!

    This book made me fall in love with Toni Morrison. Every now and then i wonder what the Dead family is doing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2002

    TM At her very best...

    Simply pure wonderful Toni. History my boy...if you are black and living in the late 1800's early 1900's you have no identity. With a little exploration (or a lot) you could go back in time to discover your roots. How powerful would that be if you had a "history" ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    Meaning is inherent

    Truely Morrison's best work. While many state that the book is complex, I think that one must actually delve into the psyche of the characters and also take into consideration the lesson that Morrison has in store for us. As Milkman seeks to find himself, the reader has no choice but to embark upon that quest and seek a better understanding of the fictional society and history of the novel AND the realistic society and history of the world around us NOW. Knowledge and understanding of one's history are separate issues and Morrison points this out in the disparate stories of Pilate and Macon II. Milkman's father is aware of his history, but it is Pilate who understands that 'heritage' and as an extension of Pilate, Milkman later understands the 'birthright' Pilate has clung to for so many years. Lastly, because we are not linear beings, we must put ourselves in the position to think in a non-linear fashion. Our minds constantly drift between present and past, and sometimes it wanders to the future; in order to fully grasp what Morrison tries to do, here, we must read and comprehend this novel in that same non-linear fashion (in which our minds travel).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Didn't get into it

    I read this book 4 years ago and didnot under stand what the big deal was. So I tryed to read it again now but I still get the same meaning I did back then. Although Toni Morrison Is a wonderful Writer this book was not what I call her best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    An essential for any reader!

    I loved this book! The very first paragraph the story grabs you and sends you on story that leaves you awe-struck, teary-eyed, disgusted, and exhilarated. When I finished reading the book I felt like I had witnessed to some grand testament. From the opening image of Robert atop the hospital with his blue wings and the people prancing on the white snow collecting the petals of velvet this book grabs your attention. This book is absolutely wonderful because it feels like you are reading the story of all stories, almost like the Bible. Her language is so flexible, spanning from rich and dense to light and mystical. Just one note: I've noticed that many students have posted that it this work is hard to follow, but that is Morrison's style and if you find the message you will see how wonderfully her style complements it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    Riveting book!

    This was a wonderful book. I tried to imagine myself in the main character's position, then I realized what a precious gift life was. I had a totally different take on life, I am now taking no things in life that have been worked for so that I can have it for granted. I cannot explain the feeling of relief and catharsis that I felt after reading this book. After I cried, I felt relieved, not sad. Everyone who gets a chance should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    wonderful & thought-provoking

    this is a must-read book!!! although the plot may seem complicated at first...stick with it! i read this book, along with 6 other morrison novels, for a 25 page english thesis paper. i loved all of toni morrison's books but this one was definitely my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    Compelling... from beginning to end!

    Morrison's style makes you feel like you actually know the characters. I couldn't put it down. Althought the beginning is somewhat confusing at first, it helps build for a great plot, and superb ending. Milkman's plight for self-discovery is heartwarming right up to the very end!! A must read for the serious book connoisseur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    a must read book

    Toni Morrison did a wonderful job writing this compelling story. Each page brought you a deeper meaning. She described Milkmans jurney to find his family with such passion you cant help but fall in love with her. No one should go without having read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    A must read!

    What an incredible book...read it several years ago and have not forgotten a single bit... Morrison is one of the most creative, knowlegeable and fascinating writers I've read. Few books will make you think the way this one does :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    A Good Read, A little hard to follow.

    I read this book for my English class, and I thought it was a pretty good book. It was a little weird and hard to follow at times, but I thought the story was somewhat believable. It didn't move me, but it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Good Book

    Some incest in the begining, but get through the first couple of chapters and it becomes a great book. A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2000

    A Faint Glimmer of Hope

    Even though, it was Beloved that Ms. Morrison won the Pulitzer for, it is this book that is her Life Song. The characters dance within an odd world of dispare, betrayal and hopelessness. The lyric/poetry/prose of each word, from the beginning, invade one's senses like a blitzkreg. But all is not lost as A Faint Glimmer of Hope illuminates the ending and shows us that even in the most viseral of circumstances that glimmer is there. It is up to us to see it and levitate towards it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon

    'There's five or six kinds of black,' Toni Morrison's gypsiesque character, Pilate, tells young Milkman Dead, 'Some silky, some woolly. Some just empty. Some like fingers. And it don't stay still. It moves and changes from one kind of black to another.' This book portrays all of them, skillfully woven together as Macon 'Milkman' Dead goes through his life. Betrayal, rape, incest, suicide and more are all shadows surrounding the almost terrifyingly narrow string of hope threading through the labrinth of Milkman's life. The book, one of the best written this century, is very depressing, the sort of book one finishes with a tear for life and idealism, hope and humanity, the sort of book Dorian Gray was poisoned by, the sort of book one almost wishes one had never read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    luminous...

    Such a book deserves praise not able to be communicated in words...read it and be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    It touched me, it moved me, it helped me...

    This is the best book I've read so far. I may not have the most experience, but this one was just magic. For me, a sentimental guy, it was wonderful reading. I found it easy to read, despite the fact that English is not my first language. The reader should definately discuss it with others because he/she can explore even more aspects of life that are related in this novel. However, Toni Morrison covers much. What else can I say? I loved it. Thank you Ms. Morrison, I'll never forget this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    Morrison's Finest Work

    Out of all the Toni Morrison books that I have personally read, I must say that this one is the most moving. It's highly descriptive and has an extremely well written, and surprising ending. The entire book is captivating, and I'm sure that whoever reads this book, won't be able to put it down. It is a must read for all book lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6