Customer Reviews for

Song of the Silk Road

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    I have never before submitted a review, but this book was such a

    I have never before submitted a review, but this book was such a dissappointment I felt the need to save the next person who may be thinking to purchase this book. The overview and ratings that I read sounded so wonderful I couldn't wait to read it. I found the book dry, boring, and poorly written. The book centered on her relationships (of which there were many) instead of the journey. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    takes you on a journey 

    takes you on a journey 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I have been leading a monthly book club for 9+ years. Likewise,

    I have been leading a monthly book club for 9+ years. Likewise, I have never submitted a review before. This book is one of a small handful of books we have read over the years that I can't recommend. It was poorly written, superficial, the story was not believable, the dialogue stilted, and there was no depth to the main character let alone any of the others. Don't buy it. If you want to read it, check it out of the library like I did. You won't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I read many books because they help me deal with life, anyways when I picked up this book I had no idea how the book was going to go. Once I started reading it I fell in love with the book and Lily. This is my favorite book and I think anyone who loves to read this would be a good one.

    Mingmei Yip has two book already out and another one n the way and I will make it my job to get them all, because I love the way she writes. ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Lyrical read!

    Sensual read through the complexities of family,love and spirituality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Monica Sheffo for TeensReadToo

    Lady Luck hasn't always smiled down on Lily Lin. At just 28, she has lost both of her parents and is working at a dead end job in a Chinese restaurant. But that all changes when a letter from a mysterious distant relative names her as the sole heiress of a 3 million dollar fortune. All she has to do is retrace the steps this relative took along the famed Silk Road and complete a series of tasks. So she packs up her life and leaves for an adventure that will bring her more fortune and heartbreak than she had ever imagined. Mingmei Yip weaves a story as intriguing as the Silk Road itself, filled with passion and self-discovery. The interesting story concept ties together the old ways of China with its bright future. Readers and history buffs alike will find themselves immersed in this captivating novel with rich cultural roots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Loved this book !

    This book makes you want to go off and just find yourself in a place unfamiliar to you. To meet people you don't know and form friendships that last a life time. To follow a calling you know is there but you've never had time to go after it. I would love to go on my own adventure and see what new experiences I can have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    SONG OF SILK ROAD is a breath-taking read that is one of the best I have read so far this year. Lily is a deep character who has the ability to make her way into your heart. This is a fantastic book that goes beyond entertaining the reader. I highly recommend that you pick up a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Traveling the silk road was a little dry for me

    I don't think that I have read a book set in China before. I really liked the story line as it was peppered with descriptions of beautiful locations and much cultural history. It moved along pretty quickly, changing locales and "tasks" and keeping me interested in to where Lily would have to go next and who she might meet along the way. There were many colorful characters from monks to fortune tellers to other travelers.

    After starting it, I was not readily invested in the character of Lily Lin. She seemed very shallow and self-centered and sometimes the dialogue seemed a little stilted. I think that Lily comes full circle though and even though the ending contained an unforeseen twist, it had a very satisfactory conclusion.

    Yip has two previous novels out, Peach Blossom Pavilion and Petals from the Sky that I think I will adding to my TBR list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Requesting NOOKCOLOR format please!

    Please make this great book available in the NOOK COLOR format!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an intriguing coming of age romantic adventure

    Growing up in Hong King, Lily Lin, an orphan at twenty-eight, lives in New York. There she is writing her Chinese-American family biography, attending graduate school at NYU, waiting tables at Shun Lee Palace, and in a nowhere relationship with her married Professor Chris Adams.

    Mills and Mann law firm contacts Lily to inform her that she inherited a fortune from a late maternal aunt Mindy Madison who she never knew existed. However, Aunt Mindy placed several stipulations that were placed on the three million. Although she has doubts, Lily, knowing she risks little as her assessment is that she has little decides to take up the gauntlet her aunt placed on her. Lily must perform specific tasks while traveling the Silk Road of the Taklamakan Desert.

    This is an intriguing coming of age romantic adventure as the heroine finds her groove and love in the Chinese desert. Lily is a fascinating lead who keeps the story line focused even when her male counterpart seems more like the star of the Perils of Paul. Although the ending is too neatly tied up after such a harrowing trek, readers will enjoy accompanying Lily as she traverses the Silk Road.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1