Customer Reviews for

Songs for a Teenage Nomad

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everything from the characters to plot was successfully executed...

    Have you ever moved around so many times you never had a chance to make friends? Calle, a down to earth girl, knew firsthand how that felt. Her mother moved them around the country ever since she could remember. Boyfriend after boyfriend, they'd start a new life and once it was over they would find a different, random location. Calle's constant love was her music and writing. I loved the fact that she listened to old school music on a walkman. Every chapter would begin with a quote from her lyrical writing. It helped me as a reader understand Calle's previous experiences. I was engrossed by the story and continually thrived off her believable personality. The greatest traits found in Kim's protagonist was her ability to stay true to herself. Not only did she assimilate well but, she always remained grounded and loyal to her mother. Kim's character development was spot on; each secondary person brought something eccentric to the table.

    I enjoyed seeing Calle interact with the drama kids. Eli (one of my favorite characters), Alexa and the rest of the gang were welcoming and quite entertaining. The sense of stability and friendship was good for her. Also, Cass, an outsider who was considered a freak was a unique, tough cookie. Peeling back her layers piqued my interest in her secretive background. Of course there were also two people I disliked - Amber and Sam. Amber was Sam's girlfriend, her stuck up demeanor made me cringe. On the other hand, Sam at first was a jerk to Calle, he liked her one minute and the next he ignored her. I couldn't stand his hot and cold behavior until the reason behind his actions was revealed. Throughout the novel, there was a mystery behind all the moving around especially, when Calle's father was brought up. I was kept in the dark until about the last sixty pages. The build up was thrilling and reeled me into a state of non-stop page turning. In conclusion, this teenage nomad won me over. Everything from the characters to plot was successfully executed with a balance of family issues, friendship and love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Selena

    The result before this one is my room sorry

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    hehe

    I can relate to this girl (sorta) kept me moving tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great

    One of the best book i have read read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Kiley and jenn like this book very mujch

    Well it is okay well i would realy know how good it is if it would freaking down load

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Suckkkzz

    This book is sadddddd!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Loved it!

    I really related to the characters in this book. Its really great i recomend you read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    I am a teenager and i love this book. I can totally relate to Calle about how i have moved alot because of my moms jobs. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Good/Fast Read

    This was a good read. Loved the way the author incorporated song titles within the storyline in correlation to what was happening to Calle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Great Teen Read

    Songs for a Teenage Nomad is a must read for any teen. The characters seem as if they are plucked out of any US high school. This book is intelligent, emotional, and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Easy Read

    This book was an easy read and I read it in about a day; however, the relationships in this novel seem rushed and not fully developed. If you're looking for a mindless read, it's great. But it's not an altogether wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    memories woven with music

    I'm not sure the music thing worked for me. It just sounded pretentious. I do like the song journal though, and I loved getting to know Calle's history through her memories. It was wonderfully woven together.

    Calle's mom is a bit of a bad influence, hooking up with all those men... and running away when things get hard. It's no surprise when Calle finds the letter from her father and her mother refuses to be honest. It all felt contrived for the sake of plot. Who really does this kind of thing to their kids?

    Calle's relationship with football player Sam is kinda icky too. After the third or fourth time he ignores her or treats her like trash, I started to wonder why on earth Calle bothered talking to him again. I understand that he has his own problems, but that doesn't excuse his behavior, especially since he never really apologizes, or tries to make it right. Calle lets herself be pushed around and it's just sad. Someone who moves as often as she does and has no home stability should be harder than this. On the other hand, she shares an awful lot of personal information with strangers. If the oversharing was a plot sake, it came at the expense of the character.

    Tambourine Man, the song linked to her father, would maybe have had more impact on me had I ever heard of it before.

    In all, not a bad story. It's not one of my favorites, but worth a read. Maybe you'll like it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Great Read

    Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com ***** Why won't her mother talk about her natural father? She was a baby when he left, so she can understand hard feelings. But why would she refuse totally?

    Ms. Culbertson does an excellent job of depicting what teenage life is like. Some have strange hair, some wear certain types of clothing, some talk a lot, some say nothing, and Calle is in the "some say nothing" group.

    She has been moving around her whole life and she's learned to just be a wallflower and hang out in the background rather than get involved, because as soon as her Mom breaks up with her latest new man, they'll be on the move again.

    Whether they are popular or not, several of these students are carrying family secrets with them. Ms. Culbertson's words show you how conflicted some of the students are and how becoming friends can be a challenge. It's also hard for them to know who to trust.

    My first year at high school was my first time in public school; I had gone to a parochial school and wore uniforms for the first eight years. I know just how Calle felt when she entered this new high school. The author expresses the feelings very well, but doesn't make you feel sorry for her character.

    The story has a very ironic ending; one I never saw coming. This is an excellent read for young adults who may be experiencing their own problems fitting in at a new school or who could use some guidance on why a student may be acting in a certain way. It's not just what's happening in school, there are also outside influences.

    This story is a compelling read with a fairly complex plot that flowed well and kept my attention, so I have rated four suns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I was intrigued by this book and how it includes music. I consider myself pretty diverse in my music tastes, so wanted to see how this book fit with that. I was surprised at how easily this novel flowed. And, it doesn't feel you at all even though the lead character is only 14 (or is it 15?).

    Calle was smart and funny. She's got a lot on her plate for someone so young, but she takes it all into stride. She knows this all makes her who she is. I was surprised at her mother. I didn't like how she evaded Calle's questions. For some reason that whole mindset of "I'm your mother and I know best" really drives me crazy. I think Calle was more than old enough to know the truth. The ending was a little more than I bargained for. I wanted them to stop running, but felt the circumstances could have been a bit different. It seemed way too drastic.

    I loved that Calle finally found a place to fit in. She had friends that really cared for her. Plus, she was able to truly open up to some one (and in turn he opened up to her). I don't think she every felt comfortable enough to do that. I'm sure it was a heavy burden to bear. The cast of characters are quirky and each had something to offer to the story. I'm really glad I picked this one and will be looking forward to the author's future works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Absolutely breathtaking and wonderful

    SONGS FOR A TEENAGE NOMAD, by Kim Culbertson, is a marvelous story of a girl finally finding a place to fit in and learning the truth of her past. Culbertson created a fantastic world that focused on music and what it is like to be different and not caring if you fit in. Calle was used to moving around California with her mother and was okay with that until she found people that she truly cared about and wanted anything but to lose them. She finally was able to have a "normal" high school life until she fell in love and discovered family secrets that threatened her relationship with her mother.

    I am the type of music-lover that knows when I like a song but have no idea who it is by or when it was done (or re-done for that matter). Culbertson showed me how music can really affect and dictate a person's life. For Calle, music reminded her of her mother's past relationships and she kept them in a diary like a photo-album of her life. It was fascinating how Calle did not shy away from her feelings of her mother's past husbands/boyfriends, but saw them as events in her life that were stepping stones. I enjoyed getting into Calle's mind. She is a great character that is so strong and full of love. I loved her sass and sarcasm even when she found it embarrassing when talking to Sam.

    There were so many dimensions in this book that were unexpected and kept me glued to the book. I actually finished it in one sitting! Just when I thought I knew what was going on, I was pushed into another direction completely. Nothing was what it seemed and I think that was the point. In high school (and anywhere else for that matter), rumors can blow up out of proportion and family/relationship secrets are wrongfully spread. I was very surprised after peeling the layers of each of the characters down to the core that everyone had issues and no one was perfect. I think, especially in YA books, that this is a great concept to comprehend because that popular boy that you think you have no chance with, may just need someone like you in his life.

    Overall, this was a great romantic and musical read and I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3