Customer Reviews for

Songs for a Teenage Nomad

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Good/Fast Read

    This was a good read. Loved the way the author incorporated song titles within the storyline in correlation to what was happening to Calle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Great Teen Read

    Songs for a Teenage Nomad is a must read for any teen. The characters seem as if they are plucked out of any US high school. This book is intelligent, emotional, and real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Great Read

    Originally posted at: www.aurorareviews.blogspot.com ***** Why won't her mother talk about her natural father? She was a baby when he left, so she can understand hard feelings. But why would she refuse totally?

    Ms. Culbertson does an excellent job of depicting what teenage life is like. Some have strange hair, some wear certain types of clothing, some talk a lot, some say nothing, and Calle is in the "some say nothing" group.

    She has been moving around her whole life and she's learned to just be a wallflower and hang out in the background rather than get involved, because as soon as her Mom breaks up with her latest new man, they'll be on the move again.

    Whether they are popular or not, several of these students are carrying family secrets with them. Ms. Culbertson's words show you how conflicted some of the students are and how becoming friends can be a challenge. It's also hard for them to know who to trust.

    My first year at high school was my first time in public school; I had gone to a parochial school and wore uniforms for the first eight years. I know just how Calle felt when she entered this new high school. The author expresses the feelings very well, but doesn't make you feel sorry for her character.

    The story has a very ironic ending; one I never saw coming. This is an excellent read for young adults who may be experiencing their own problems fitting in at a new school or who could use some guidance on why a student may be acting in a certain way. It's not just what's happening in school, there are also outside influences.

    This story is a compelling read with a fairly complex plot that flowed well and kept my attention, so I have rated four suns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I was intrigued by this book and how it includes music. I consider myself pretty diverse in my music tastes, so wanted to see how this book fit with that. I was surprised at how easily this novel flowed. And, it doesn't feel you at all even though the lead character is only 14 (or is it 15?).

    Calle was smart and funny. She's got a lot on her plate for someone so young, but she takes it all into stride. She knows this all makes her who she is. I was surprised at her mother. I didn't like how she evaded Calle's questions. For some reason that whole mindset of "I'm your mother and I know best" really drives me crazy. I think Calle was more than old enough to know the truth. The ending was a little more than I bargained for. I wanted them to stop running, but felt the circumstances could have been a bit different. It seemed way too drastic.

    I loved that Calle finally found a place to fit in. She had friends that really cared for her. Plus, she was able to truly open up to some one (and in turn he opened up to her). I don't think she every felt comfortable enough to do that. I'm sure it was a heavy burden to bear. The cast of characters are quirky and each had something to offer to the story. I'm really glad I picked this one and will be looking forward to the author's future works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Absolutely breathtaking and wonderful

    SONGS FOR A TEENAGE NOMAD, by Kim Culbertson, is a marvelous story of a girl finally finding a place to fit in and learning the truth of her past. Culbertson created a fantastic world that focused on music and what it is like to be different and not caring if you fit in. Calle was used to moving around California with her mother and was okay with that until she found people that she truly cared about and wanted anything but to lose them. She finally was able to have a "normal" high school life until she fell in love and discovered family secrets that threatened her relationship with her mother.

    I am the type of music-lover that knows when I like a song but have no idea who it is by or when it was done (or re-done for that matter). Culbertson showed me how music can really affect and dictate a person's life. For Calle, music reminded her of her mother's past relationships and she kept them in a diary like a photo-album of her life. It was fascinating how Calle did not shy away from her feelings of her mother's past husbands/boyfriends, but saw them as events in her life that were stepping stones. I enjoyed getting into Calle's mind. She is a great character that is so strong and full of love. I loved her sass and sarcasm even when she found it embarrassing when talking to Sam.

    There were so many dimensions in this book that were unexpected and kept me glued to the book. I actually finished it in one sitting! Just when I thought I knew what was going on, I was pushed into another direction completely. Nothing was what it seemed and I think that was the point. In high school (and anywhere else for that matter), rumors can blow up out of proportion and family/relationship secrets are wrongfully spread. I was very surprised after peeling the layers of each of the characters down to the core that everyone had issues and no one was perfect. I think, especially in YA books, that this is a great concept to comprehend because that popular boy that you think you have no chance with, may just need someone like you in his life.

    Overall, this was a great romantic and musical read and I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1