Customer Reviews for

Songs in A Minor

Average Rating 5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Substance

    A keys has sketched out her own path on talent alone in a music industry where everyone use,s a gimmick rather its taking off your clothes or losing weight see beyonce and ashanti,she,s a cut above the rest>>>>the best modern day bill holiday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible!!!!!

    The first time I heard the song "Fallen" on the radio I just had to know who sang this and I went out and bought the cd. She is truly an incredible performer. Her voice is awesome, the music in her soul truly comes through. I just love the whole cd. And now I have #2 The Diary of Alicia Keys. I bought it the day of release and I'll tell you it was worth the wait. She has done it again!!! Another great cd! Thanks Alicia! Love ya!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I finlay found some one i like and can sing like!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS GIRL IS AMAZING!!!!!

    Track 16 "Lovin U" is my husband and I's song. It is so beautiful. Ms. Keys is so full of soul; she blows me away every time I hear this album. This is definitely not one to pass up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    profound artist

    I wonder if she knows the impact she could potentially have on music generally. She is a talented individual. Her music is beautifully arranged and a blend of old and new perfectly melting togther. I only hope she will read what i am writing and allow it sink into who she is. She must continue to allow the old to be blended into her music meaning classical,jazz with her modern take. Few artists do this. She is like wine u keep drinking and are waiting for more!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Song Bird in the Key of Life

    I went to an Alicia Keys concert in the summer of 2001. Alicia Keys is truly the definitive artist, the queen of magnificent rhythm and beat in the key of life, and truly, the unique and original artists that has her own stage to soar and fly in the music industry. Unlike the over annoying and desperate-attention-booty swinging-whiney spitting blondes like Britney Spears, who whiplashes beauty but no talent or rhythm in her music, and Christina, who is quite a singer but too provacative and over driven in trying to get attention as a rebel, this songbird has more than beauty, but she has a mind, a gift that rarely comes in the face of the music industry. Her lyrics lets the piano in her voice and at her fingertips speak places of life, broken love, the affairs of a heart made of glass, powerful soul, and magnificent power and hip hop beats in the key of harmony. This woman is a preacher, a songstress that chants in her own key, following no other attention getting artists that works more for the media than for the music and the fans. She's just Ms. Alicia Keys, on her way to do great things for the people by the light of her love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great album!

    this album blew me away the first time i listened to it.she has such a beautiful voice and she is a great songwriter.there are so many great songs on the album i can't choose a favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing!

    Songs in A Minor is great. It's my favorite CD and she deserves kudos for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If possibe, give it 10 stars!!!!

    Hey, this album is off the hook!It mixes acoustic soul with some off the wall piano playin' and a dab of slammin' voice and you get a great musician. This one is definetly here to stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hello

    hi its great song for alicia keys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Cd Alicia

    Alicia I love this title because you are writing songs in a minor. I especially Love Goodbye. So Keep up the Good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    she plays music

    any good lover of music, either pop,r&b, pure soul or jazz lovers, will actually appreciate the gift this beautiful young star is endowed with. The way she plays the piano,the mix of the instruments and the blends of her voice which is extremely unique is captulating that you lose yourself in the word music. You will appreciate what I am saying if you would just listen to that track 'I wanna rock with you'. Other of tracks most beautiful to hear are Fallin and A woman's worth. I am already a fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Music from an Angel

    I think that when Alicia plays her piano, that's what really gets her music going and it makes her sing incredibly and her voice is impossible to try to imitate. This album may be one of the best in the new millenium.She has an extrodinary voice and it's good she is not letting it go to waste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An awesome debut

    This is a great debut CD that really showcases Alicia's natural talents. There is nothing fake in the music, it's all pure sound. Every track is beautifully done, some mellow and others taking on a more hip-hop rhythm. I would recommend this CD to anyone who appreciates true talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alicia Keys - Ultimate Diva!!

    This is one of the best CD's I've ever heard. It is filled with some serious soul music. I would recommend this CD to anyone. Alicia Keys is a wonderful singer, songwriter, and pianist. Buy this CD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    #1 Fan

    Alisha Keys has been my #1 fan since I first herd her. She has a great voice and a great attitude. I just love Alisha Keys!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ALBUM IS HOT

    I THINK ALICIA KEYS ALBUM SONGS IN A MINOR IS HOT TO DEAF. SHE COMES WITH SOME BANGIN' LYRICS AND IT'S REAL. I CAN'T WAIT FOR HER NEXT ALBUM.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT SINGER!! GREAT MATERIAL!!

    She has the over all spirit when she sings and you can feel that when listening. The music is GREAT! AND her voice is just TERRIFIC it has power that Britney could never acheive. Fav tracks: Girlfriend, Fallin,A womans worth, How come you don't call me anymore, Goodbye, and Butterflyz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Luv It!!

    LOVE IT! its my favorite cd!!!!!! I listen to it almost everyday! go alicia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Damn good!

    This cd's been stuck in ma playa since x-mas! i love it with a passion. this girl can sing man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4