Customer Reviews for

Songs of the Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Great story line.  It took a bit of time for me to read, althoug

    Great story line.  It took a bit of time for me to read, although, that is no fault of the book.  Not a fast read, and requires some concentration.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Fairly good story, if slow, but the world building is not origin

    Fairly good story, if slow, but the world building is not original. The volumes so far are pieces of a larger plot, so you have to be patient. Stereotypes abound -- drunken "Nordmen" raiders, Arab-analog religious fanatics, an intolerant established church. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    I regretfully purchased this book and its sequel without being a

    I regretfully purchased this book and its sequel without being aware both contained passages of crude porn, the sequel worse than this book. If you are a woman who does not respect yourself or other women, or a man who demeans women, then this is the book for you. Nowhere in the BN presentation, the editorial review or customer reviews did it indicate such material was present.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Good first book in what seems to be a long series

    Songs of the Earth is a pretty good first book of a series. I'm currently on the second, which is even better so if you enjoy the first or can get through its slower and more tedious moments, you will not regret it. As I said, it does drag on a bit in the first book--it mostly follows Gair's adventures, whereas the second book is from other's points of view and even overlaps with the time in the first book. It has an interesting magic system and promises to have great adventures throughout the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Excellent series.  The story gets better and better the more you

    Excellent series.  The story gets better and better the more you read. By the end of the book I couldn't wait to get the sequel, Trinity Rising., which I couldn't put down.  Highly recommended for any fans of Patrick Rothfuss or George R.R. Martin.  I love this series and am eagerly awaiting book 3.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    Excellent story. Well written. Good plot development. Yes, it i

    Excellent story. Well written. Good plot development. Yes, it is a bit longer than I normally read but not the longest I've ever read. Gair is 'in training' to become a Knight but he is discovered to be able to 'hear the music of the earth' (which enables him to perform certain tasks that are 'magical'). Since the "Book of Eador" declares that "You shall not suffer a witch to live" he is arrested, and questioned and it appears that he is to be 'buned at the stake' to 'clense his soul'. At the last minute through the kind interference of someone, he is instead, banished. He is 'branded and awakens from the branding to find that someone has taken him and cleaned him up after 3 months in the prison and numerous beatings and near starvation and is leading him away from those who pursue him still...The end is worth the effort to continue on to the book's conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cooper's Songs of the Earth is a flat and slow start to a new fa

    Cooper's Songs of the Earth is a flat and slow start to a new fantasy series. The characters are interesting enough, but -- after the first one hundred pages or so -- the story bogs down badly. Once Gair arrives at Chapterhouse for magical training, virtually *nothing* happens. I found the secondary narrative featuring Masen *much* more interesting. I finally gave up around page 800.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Worth the read

    The story started out a little slow, but developed steadily. I'll read the next one so I can see how the charcaters develop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Elspeth Cooper: The Wild Hunt

    Stay with the story it gets much better after Gair is away from the religious fanatics. I almost put the book down. Well worth my patience. Looking forward to book two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    What a fantastic read, just cant wait for the next book "Tr

    What a fantastic read, just cant wait for the next book "Trinity Moon".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great series!

    Wonderful characters and the story draws you in and doesn't let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Loved it

    A great new fantasy read. I cannot wait for the next!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2