Customer Reviews for

Sons of Destiny (Cirque Du Freak Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I recommend this book hihly

This book is one of the best I have read Darren Shan added so much details and surprises in this book that it will keep you begging for more but some parts are sketchy most part it's the ending it is confusing and hard to follow but the book was overall one of my favori...
This book is one of the best I have read Darren Shan added so much details and surprises in this book that it will keep you begging for more but some parts are sketchy most part it's the ending it is confusing and hard to follow but the book was overall one of my favorite books by Darren Shan. I would recommend this book for readers who love suspense and surprises but I would skip the last few chapters if you like the series as much as I did. I would also suggest that you read other series by Darren Shan.

posted by bulldogs1133 on September 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sons of Destiny was terrible

This book was a big let down to me I loved the beggining but the ending was so weak.The rest of the series were great though I highly recomend them.

posted by Sandtalon on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    I recommend this book hihly

    This book is one of the best I have read Darren Shan added so much details and surprises in this book that it will keep you begging for more but some parts are sketchy most part it's the ending it is confusing and hard to follow but the book was overall one of my favorite books by Darren Shan. I would recommend this book for readers who love suspense and surprises but I would skip the last few chapters if you like the series as much as I did. I would also suggest that you read other series by Darren Shan.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Great, but could have been better

    SPOILER ALERT!!!
    This is a great book in a great series, but i have got to say, the ending was a bit too far outside the box. The concept of the rules that cant be broken is incomplete, and I can think of a dozen ways that darren could have broken his destiny that were better than COMITTING SUICIDE!!! For example, he could have just DECIDED NOT TO KILL ANYONE!!! I MEAN, HOW HARD IS IT TO DO THAT? Also, who doesn't agree that it would have been nice to see darren as a full-fledged vampire? I know i did. But other than the ending, the book and the rest of the series is truly wonderful

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    The ending sucked, I was crying for an hour. It was bittersweet sad and happy.I dont like how Darren was turned into a little person and so on... not Darrens best work(the other 11 are AMAZING)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Amazing!

    If u r thinking about reading this series than i am here tp put ur fears to rest... it is INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!!! although it is a little freaky it is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I am mad( not at the book it was really good)

    It was mostly a good book dont know how it ended because even though i bought the book it said( and i quote)" Book Period has expired" when i tried t read it this morning. Book so far though.... 45 Vampires out of 46 Vampires ( some places it could of used more work on grammar, but im just one of those people)( meaning im a type a its how i get things done)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    great series!!!

    i loved the entire series and you learn a lot in this book about darren but the endinng just didnt satisfy me it sounded like a quick way out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Good book but disappointed with the ending

    Overall very goo book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    It' not THAT bad.

    sure it left unanswered questions, but the simple lines 'I'm going. .... im going....im gone' were just beutiful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I still don't know if i like it...

    i just finished reading the book, and i must tell you, it got me a bit depressed...it was so sad, but it's supposed to be somewhat happy. bittersweeet? anyways, the first 11 books were wonderful and thrilling and had me on the edge of my seat in anticipation. i recomend reading the books, thought i'm still not sure about this book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Grandma Bev for TeensReadToo.com

    With this book, we come to the end of the CIRQUE DU FREAK series by Darren Shan, the one we have been waiting for and dreading. <BR/><BR/>Now the Vampire Prince must face his archenemy, Steve Leopard. It is a complex and difficult problem -- He will be dead if he loses and damned if he wins. One of them will die -- the other will become the Lord of the Shadows and destroy the world. Vampire or Vampaneze; who will win? Can Darren cheat destiny? The action is fast and non-stop The complex plot will keep you guessing until the very last page. The story is full of violence with blood and gore. Some of the characters are human, but most are not, and some are very frightening, but most are loyal, and fierce. <BR/><BR/>Kids can't seem to get enough of Shan's brand of compelling, scary stories, but they also address some serious issues, and show the importance of friendship and sticking to your moral and ethical standards. It seems to me to be a bit too frightening for kids ten years old and under, but maybe just the thing for older teens that are reluctant readers. It's an ongoing story that you might want to start reading with volume one and work your way through the series, but this one has enough background information that you can enjoy it by itself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    a book that never to be compete with in horror

    this book shows very deep in detail with grotesque features that match to more than beyond it is suppose to say it is,but in the end, it brings all the ties from the other books we read loose becomes into a knot and we understand how was set up clearly from a point of view,but question is,that still leaves hanging at the end of this book,will there be a new story to add on to the end?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    A MUST READ

    It was cool how darren trick destinym alot alot of questions were answerd but it waz messed up da darren had 2 die after eveythig that happend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Well. I was disapointed with this book. It was not Shan's best work, but it was good. I did love the battle scene for the whole first half of the book. Mr. Shan tied in almost everything you needed to know, but the end was not satisfying. I wish he had gone with the original plan of 24 books, as I would have read them all! I give it a 4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    Pretty Good

    It was good but it could have done a better. It kept me reading it and I really liked how darren tricks Des Tiny but it leaves a lot of unanswered questions and I don't like that. Oh well all in all it was a pretty good book so I give it a 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Ending of the Vampiric Aura

    The whole plot of the series Cirque Du Freak was outstanding and hard to beat. Although the ending of the final book may seem dissapointing. It leaves the readers wondering, ' What happened to Harkat and March?' The ending also made me dissapointed since Darren died and went to Paradise...but what happened there? Did he meet Mr. Crepsley? Did he meet all his other vampire friends who died? Who knows.... It's all a mystery now..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Kinda Disappointing, but...

    The last book in the 'Cirque Du Freak' series was generally good, with all it's twists and turns. But the ending was kinda boring, and not as action-packed as the rest of the series was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    not bad

    I have read all the cirque du freak books and all of them were great including this one however the ending was a little disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Sons of Destiny

    In the conclusion of the cirque du freak series, we catch up with the cliffhanger in the lord of the shadows where as it all comes down to the shocking battle between long time ex best friends darren and steve. A good approach and ending to a wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2