Customer Reviews for

Sons of Destiny (Cirque Du Freak Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I recommend this book hihly

This book is one of the best I have read Darren Shan added so much details and surprises in this book that it will keep you begging for more but some parts are sketchy most part it's the ending it is confusing and hard to follow but the book was overall one of my favori...
This book is one of the best I have read Darren Shan added so much details and surprises in this book that it will keep you begging for more but some parts are sketchy most part it's the ending it is confusing and hard to follow but the book was overall one of my favorite books by Darren Shan. I would recommend this book for readers who love suspense and surprises but I would skip the last few chapters if you like the series as much as I did. I would also suggest that you read other series by Darren Shan.

posted by bulldogs1133 on September 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sons of Destiny was terrible

This book was a big let down to me I loved the beggining but the ending was so weak.The rest of the series were great though I highly recomend them.

posted by Sandtalon on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    I highly recommend this series! SPOILER ALERT!!!

    The finale is extremely good! But you must understand that it would have been unrealistic and common to end it with Darren triumphing over all his problems and having a completely "happy" ending. But even if Darren did defeat Steve (which he did) and lived to tell the tale (which, again, he sort of did, but then sacrificed himself for the greater good) then he would have become the destroyer of the world. Darren Shan wrote a happy ending though. In the end, Darren saves his soul and Mr. Tiny's plans to destroy the universe are thwarted. That is not to say that the world will not one day eventually fall to ruin, just to say that Darren didn't allow himself or Steve to be the cause of it as Mr. Tiny planned. In the end, Darren did all he could do and his soul got the piece he deserved after a life filled with horror and hardship. I wrote this review in response to the reviews I read because I disagree with the other's posts. So here is my input, and please have a mind open enough to value this ending for all it's worth.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    READ THE SERIES WITH YOUR TEEN - you will have lots to talk about!

    My 14-year old daughter recommended the series to me and let me tell you - what a ride! once you get over the somewhat childish, slow first 2 books in the series, each one is better than the last! my daughter and I have spent many moments talking about the books. I am starting the Saga of Larten Crepsley series next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Odessa

    Best series ever! Darren Shan is the best author Ive ever read. LOVED IT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cirque Du Freak-Sons of Destiny the last book in the Cirque Du Freak Series

    This book is the final book in my favorite series I have ever read. The Cirque Du Freak series, written by Darren Shan is an amazing series that grips you from the very start. It is about a boy who goes to a freak show and he loves what he see's. Over the course of the series Darren Shan (also the name of the main character) is converted by one of the members of the freak show into a half vampire. Throughout the series the Vampires are fighting a war against an evil species of Vampire called the Vampieneze. All of the books always have a new twist or an action packed ending that have you begging for more. Every time i finished one of these books i made sure i bought the next one as soon as possible. I am not such an avid reader, but this series of books was able to draw my attention for a long time. This is by far my favorite book from my favorite series of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Ending to seriess!

    I was thrilled but sad at the end of this amazing series. This was one of the first series i truly found absorbing, suspenseful, Steve vs Darren? He swore to kill him in the first! all people must read this amazing seires! but if you start at this point, you will be dazzled at the things happening you know nothing about, so start with A Living Nightmare, the st in CDF series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    the end

    I was sad that the cirque du freak series ended so soon i just finished the series and im disapointed. the ending was the worst series ending ever........ but im not going to tell you what happend lol you find out

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Issa's thought

    I read the whole series and may i just say it was so amazing. Darren shan knew how to keep you at the edge of your seat. I also have to share some of my thoughts on the ending. I have to say it was really sad becase darren dd after all he went through. Yet he also went in a peaceful way which is what he deserves after what he went through. He also got to change he's past/future. This left me wondering what is it like between steve and darren now? Well i guess we will never know. Yet darren shan made a wonderful series and world for us to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    :)

    I read all the books and at the end I was like, " OMG!" I started crying at the end Now I just want to kill Steve! :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    yessssssss

    I finished

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Good book

    Darren shan turns into a little person and scares his past self

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Cirque du freak series

    Amazing series but im on the last book so don't spoil it for me please :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Loved it

    Not realy a girls book but i love it. It was amazing. Im thinking about rereading this series. The ending was amazing. I just hope everyone else lobed this seires as much as i did. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Darren Shan is a BAD ASS

    Long live the Cirque Du Freak:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Kj

    THIS is the end most coolist ending ever. It makes you think darren dies........what if he dose........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    The series of Cirque Du Freak will blow your mind with its fasci

    The series of Cirque Du Freak will blow your mind with its fascinating touches and heart pounding action. Darren Shan a young Vampire Prince has to cope with the loss of his friends and his archenemy, who used to be his dearest friend. Loyalty is key in the series, Darren stays loyal to his friends and the vampires. The main character and the author Darren Shan writes incredible fiction novels. The Cirque Du Freak series closely compares to the Demonata and fortunately Demonata is written by Darren Shan also. Sons of Destiny  features page turning action that will fantasize the reader in many aspects. On a one to five star rating I think the book would reach a five definitely.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    The Cirque Du Freak is by far the best series i have ever read,

    The Cirque Du Freak is by far the best series i have ever read, it has action which keeps wanting to keep reading, but it also has moments whe you think you just can't keep reading ( There is one of those moments in book 11, but im not telling what moment) but if you keep reading you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!

    I love how it ends,it makes it seem more real.
    I lobe the steve character,simce hes not actually bad,just
    Confused. Ahh,steve<3.uhh,anyway,its a great book.
    I love it so much that my username on most stuff is fanofshan.
    Ive read the whole series and im now on the demonata series,which may i add,is just as good. In case you people also dont know,theres a series by darren shan called the saga of larten crepsley. That all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Phaser

    One of the best!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Best series ever.

    Yall complain about no having a happy ending but look at all of Shan's books, there never is a happy ending! That's what sets him apart from other writers and why I love him so much. Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    U

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8